Cow slaughter to be punishable by life sentence in Indian state

These idiots need to stop mixing religion with governance. Keep this shit out. No human should get a life sentence for slaughtering for the consumption of meat.

We are here talking about the state of Gujarat which has the highest % of vegetarians in India at 70%.

A secular country, with liberal values and supports English education (instead of Hindi/Hindutva) as well as gives the freedom to it's citizen to eat cow, pork, buffalo, rabbit, python, frog or even grass and does not interfere in ANYWAYS.

It shows how unconcerned one can be for the sensitivities of the others.

A Muslim or Christian eating cow meat is not to hurt the religious sentiments of a Cow belt Hindu and vice versa. This hatred for cow meat can disappear if a well cooked Beef tenderloin steak is served to you. (I hope so). Cow meat consumption is not the parametre to be a Hindu. It is the Gobar Sanghis who're using Holy cow for Hindutva terrorism.
I can consume Pork Vindaloo without offending my Muslim friends. There is no Pork vigilante's here. You must grow up and learn that what RSS teaches as Hindu Swabhimaan and anti-Abrahamic rhetoric is harming this country. If not for the Holy cow propaganda (invented and promoted by RSS terrorist MS Golwalkar), these Chaddis will find other reason to spread anti-Muslim, anti-Christian feeling in Hindus.

“Give me votes, I will start good slaughterhouses here” – This is the winning slogan for N.Sriprakash, the BJP candidate for the byelection to the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency in Kerala. His stand on beef, which is diametrically opposite to that of his party leaders in North India, was revealed during a meet-the-press event held here on Saturday. When asked about the BJP’s stand regarding beef, especially the Gujarat Government’s bill to award life-term for cow slaughter, he said that his party is not against the consumption of “good beef”.

“What is the problem in choosing a food of our liking? Beef has not been banned. This is part of a misinformation campaign. Life imprisonment is being awarded only for cow slaughter. Beef has not been banned. I will try my best to start good slaughterhouses here, which provide quality beef, if you vote me to power. It was during the Congress rule that beef ban was imposed in many states. In some states, even the meat of dead cattles become food, which is unfortunate. Please don’t mistake me as someone who stands for beef ban,” he said.

Sreeprakash certainly knows that supporting the views of his parent party regarding beef is a recipe to be unpopular in Kerala, and especially in Malappuram, which is a Muslim majority district. This latest stand of a BJP candidate, further exposes the hypocrisy of the party’s stand regarding beef. Two days back, the party’s leaders in the North East had said that they would never think of banning beef in the region. This came on the same day when the BJP Government in Gujarat passed the bill to award life imprisonment for anyone caught slaughtering cow. The Chattisgarh BJP CM Raman Singh today said that his Government will hang those who kill cows.

The by-election in the Malappuram constituency was necessitated by the passing away of Muslim League leader E.Ahamed. He had collapsed inside the Parliament a day before the Union budget was to be presented. There was a huge controversy surrounding his death, with the Modi Government facing criticism for the way in which the death of the former Union minister was handled. The news of his death was apparently suppressed for several hours to prevent the budget presentation from being postponed. Ahamed’s family was not allowed to see him at the hospital. Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and other Congress leaders also went to the hospital to see Ahamed, but were not permitted to meet him. Ahamed’s son-in-law Dr Babu was heard saying that he and his wife were doctors and did not understand why they were not allowed to meet his father.
https://www.altnews.in/give-votes-ill-give-beef-says-kerala-bjp-leader/

11001921_1559732724301175_5350396112473538248_n.jpg

I wholeheartedly support such laws because begging others to respect hindus sentiments ran its course.

A Muslim or Christian eating cow meat is not to hurt the religious sentiments of a Cow belt Hindu and vice versa. This hatred for cow meat can disappear if a well cooked Beef tenderloin steak is served to you. (I hope so). Cow meat consumption is not the parametre to be a Hindu. It is the Gobar Sanghis who're using Holy cow for Hindutva terrorism.
I can consume Pork Vindaloo without offending my Muslim friends. There is no Pork vigilante's here. You must grow up and learn that what RSS teaches as Hindu Swabhimaan and anti-Abrahamic rhetoric is harming this country. If not for the Holy cow propaganda (invented and promoted by RSS terrorist MS Golwalkar), these Chaddis will find other reason to spread anti-Muslim, anti-Christian feeling in Hindus.

https://www.altnews.in/give-votes-ill-give-beef-says-kerala-bjp-leader/

11001921_1559732724301175_5350396112473538248_n.jpg

Yeah you can eat pork but could also be killed for Blasphemy should you not behave as per Sharia.

A Muslim or Christian eating cow meat is not to hurt the religious sentiments of a Cow belt Hindu and vice versa.

What do you mean by vice-versa? Are you saying Muslims are okay with banning of cow slaughter and beef?

Yeah you can eat pork but could also be killed for Blasphemy should you not behave as per Sharia.
No. Kerala and southern states are not as primitive as in Haryana or Rajasthan when it comes to religious obsession and hyper Hindutva. I can eat Beef. A Pork farm is right next to the house of a Mu'amin. He does not complain. Yes, there is an India truly secular and democratic unlike holy cow north.

Life sentence is too harsh. Deterrence can be achieved by having something more reasonable and better enforcement of it.

People in prison just costs more tax payer money.

Although I don't support cow slaughter or fir tgat matter meat eating at a personal level I also don't support ban on cow slaughter at a country level. But given the tension in society, a compromise needs too be reached. May i propose that cow which are pure local breeds be spared of slaughter. However mixed breeds (local-foreign, not local - local), pure foreign breeds and buffalos can be permitted. Isse doodh la doodh aur ghost ka ghost hi jayega. Bole to bidu ??

No. Kerala and southern states are not as primitive as in Haryana or Rajasthan when it comes to religious obsession and hyper Hindutva. I can eat Beef. A Pork farm is right next to the house of a Mu'amin. He does not complain. Yes, there is an India truly secular and democratic unlike holy cow north.

It varies state to state.

Telangana at 98.7% is the highest meat eating state in the country but Slaughter of cows, calves is prohibited.

You keep saying your meat eating habits do not impact other is incorrect.

You can only speak for yourself not for others.

Beef row: Where it is illegal and what the law says
In light of a sudden spurt of cow vigilantism in India, we take a look at states where cow slaughter is either allowed or banned.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 27, 2016 5:40 pm
beef-759.jpg

The issue of cow vigilantes targeting civilians belonging to minority groups has found mention in the Parliament during a discussion on the ‘atrocities against Dalits’, with JD(U) leader Sharad Yadav questioning the government why gau rakshaks aren’t banned.

“Who created this Gau Rakshaks, why doesn’t the government ban it? What is this tamasha?” said Sharad Yadav.

Earlier this month, the flogging of seven members belonging to a Dalit family by gau rakshaks in Gujarat led to widespread protests in the state, with many activists attempting to commit suicide. The Dalit family was attacked by cow vigilantes for allegedly slaughtering a cow. An investigation by the Gujarat CID revealed that the cow was, in fact, killed by a lion. The Dalits were merely skinning the dead cow to sell its hide.

Within days, two Muslim women were thrashed by members of a right-wing group on the suspicion of carrying beef at a railway station in Madhya Pradesh. Home Minister Bhupendra Singh, however, clarified that meat seized from the two Muslim women is that of a buffalo and not a cow.

In light of this sudden spurt of cow vigilantism in India, we take a look at states where cow slaughter is either allowed or banned.

NORTH:

In northern India, cow slaughter is illegal in all the states, with Jammu & Kashmir and Jharkhand leading the list in the terms of severity of punishment. A person found guilty of cow slaughter can be sent to 10 years imprisonment in these two states.

In Uttar Pradesh, where a Muslim man was lynched in Dadri for allegedly consuming beef, slaughter of cow, bullock, ox is banned. The law prohibits one to store or eat beef. It carries a punishment of 7 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine. There is a caveat, however. One can import beef in sealed containers, to be served to foreigners. And Buffaloes can be killed.

Haryana was also in the news this year where two men were force fed cow dung and urine by cow vigilantes. In a video shot by the perpetrators, the vigilantes were seen forcing down the victims’ throats a cocktail of cow dung, urine, milk, curd and ghee. The victims were allegedly transporting beef. The law in Haryana states that a a person can be sent to 3-10 years jail and fined up to Rs 1 lakh for cow slaughter. The law also prohibits killing of disabled/diseased/barren cows. The ban also extends to the sale of canned beef and beef products, and export of cows for slaughter.

In Delhi, the Kerala House row saw police raiding a canteen on its premises for allegedly serving beef. The police acted on the complaint filed by a Hindu Sena leader who alleged that beef was available on the canteen’s menu. The canteen refuted the allegations saying that the meat being served was not beef but that of a buffalo. However, buffaloes do not come under the ambit of the state law. The law only prohibits slaughter of “agricultural cattle” — cow, calf, bull, bullock — and “possession of [their] flesh”, even if they are killed outside Delhi.

Madhya Pradesh amended their law against cow slaughter in 2012, raising the maximum punishment to seven years jail. The law bans the practice of killing cow and progeny. If arrested, the burden of proof lies on accused. However, buffaloes can be killed, which means the two Muslim women thrashed at a railway station by members of a right-wing group are not guilty.

Other states

Bihar: Slaughter of cows, calves banned; of bulls, bullocks older than 15 years allowed. Violators face 6 months’ jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine.

Chandigarh: Killing a cow, storing/serving/eating beef banned; eating meat of buffalo, bullock, ox also banned.

Chhattisgarh: Slaughter of cow, buffalo, bull, bullock, calf, and possession of their meat banned. Transport, export to other states for slaughter also banned; attracts same punishment of 7 years’ jail, fine up to Rs 50,000.

Himachal Pradesh: Slaughter of all bovines punishable by 5 years’ jail. Killing allowed in the interest of research, or if animal has contagious disease.

Jammu & Kashmir: Slaughter of cow and its progeny punishable by up to 10 years’ jail. Possession of “flesh of any [of these] slaughtered animal(s)” punishable by a year; killing of “he or she buffalo” punishable with fine five times the animal’s price.

Jharkhand: Slaughter of cows and oxen; possession, consumption of their meat, banned. Violators face up to 10 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine.

EAST:

West Bengal: No restrictions.

Assam: Cow slaughter banned except on issue of ‘fit-for-slaughter’ certificate, at designated places.

Other Northeast states: No ban in Arunachal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura, Sikkim. In Manipur, Maharaja in 1939 decreed prosecution for cow slaughter, but beef is consumed widely.

WEST:

Gujarat: Members of a Dalit family were recently flogged by cow vigilantes for skinning a cow. The gau rakshaks allegation that the Dalit family slaughtered the cow was disproved by the Gujarat CID, when a probe found that the cow was killed by a lion. However, the state of Gujarat bans the slaughter of cow, calf, bull and bullock; transport, sale of their meat banned. It carries a punishment of Rs 50,000 fine and up to 7 years’ jail. The Ban does not cover buffaloes.

Rajasthan: Slaughter of “cow, calf, heifer, bull or bullock” prohibited; possession, transport of their flesh prohibited. 10 years’ imprisonment and/or Rs 10,000 fine.

Maharashtra:Slaughter, consumption of meat of cow, bull, bullock banned since March 2015 after revision of existing law. 5 years’ jail and/or Rs 10,000 fine. Slaughter of buffaloes allowed.

SOUTH:

Kerala is the only state in the south where there are no restrictions on the slaughter and consumption of cow meat.

Tamil Nadu: Cow, calf slaughter banned; up to 3 years’ jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine. Beef consumption and slaughter of economically worthless animals allowed.

Karnataka: Cows can be slaughtered if old or diseased. Possession not a crime. Bill proposed by BJP in 2010 made slaughter punishable by 7 years’ jail and Rs 1 lakh fine, but it did not become law.

Andhra Pradesh & Telangana: Slaughter of cows, calves prohibited. Bulls, bullocks can be killed against “fit-for-slaughter” certificate, issued if animals can no longer be used for breeding; draught/agricultural operations. Violators face 6 months jail and/or Rs 1,000 fine.

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...sh-video-cow-vigilantes-gau-rakshaks-2938751/

26b6834eb4ca46f089df56201d3891c9a0191f9615c05e4fd12afd887f146fec.jpg

Life sentence is too harsh. Deterrence can be achieved by having something more reasonable and better enforcement of it.

People in prison just costs more tax payer money.

I would say fine them 1 crore. Government could also make some money. :D

Why can't people turn to vegetarianism. We have far more advanced techniques of farming and the environment will be saved by eating lesser meat. We can use soymeal or paneer or artificial meat.

I think it's time to push artificial meat production. Alternately import beef from BD or pakistan. But you know what it's a difficult issue to resolve. In gulf countries during Ramzan food or water cannot be taken by non Muslims in public. This is ridiculous. But that's their culture. I think a mutual compromise like what I mentioned should be made.

Heard about the case of father robin vaddakumchiryil? I believe nothing demonstrate religious obsession more beautifully than this case.

Kerala or TN Hindus are not backward when it comes to religion. Their muslims are extremely backward in thought and Christians are sly and lying low to strike st the right time when Hindus become weak after fighting Islamism

I think it's time to push artificial meat production. Alternately import beef from BD or pakistan. But you know what it's a difficult issue to resolve. In gulf countries during Ramzan food or water cannot be taken by non Muslims in public. This is ridiculous. But that's their culture. I think a mutual compromise like what I mentioned should be made.
Then my question is why not eat humans or pigs??

Indian Muslims will one day agitate for a second partition. This is just starting to get serious. You aint seen nothing yet. Even the Tamils want out of the Indian Union. That is how bad it has already started to get.
This fantasy of yours is never coming true no matter how hard you try, We keep doing our thing and you keep crying over matters that are not even related to you. Shows your unhealthy obsession with India. If things get serious, People are going to run and save their behind rather than crying for beef ( i hope you remember the years ). It is what it is.

Kerala or TN Hindus are not backward when it comes to religion. Their muslims are extremely backward in thought and Christians are sly and lying low to strike st the right time when Hindus become weak after fighting Islamism

Then my question is why not eat humans or pigs??
Lol pigs.....let everyone have bacon.

So are you trying to tell me that Humans are also animals? The word human means something that has brains.
You sure you about that definition? Something that has brains.....i hope you are extremely good in whatever field you are to compensate for all this.

If God meant us to be vegetarian, He'd not have given us superfluous canines to grip and rip meat, he'd have given us huge incisors like cows and horses, and massive molars with a freely side articulating mandible to keep chewing the nasty green stuff to pulp.

Cheers.

P.S. in one way I agree with the Hindus. The cow IS sacred. It's meat is the food if the Gods.