Cochin Shipyard to Develop 20 Fast Patrol Vessels for Coast Guard

sudhir007

Cochin Shipyard to Develop 20 Fast Patrol Vessels for Coast Guard | India Defence

Cochin Shipyard Limited was awarded an order worth Rs.1,500 crore to build twenty fast patrol vessels (FPV) for the Coast Guard, the company said here on Thursday. According to the shipyard, this is the single biggest contract executed by Coast Guard and would go a long way to beef up the coastal security of the country.

"This order has been secured under very severe competition from defence and private yards and has taken the present order book position of the company to 36 ships valued at Rs.6,000 crore," said the release. The order book consists of 15 offshore support ships for various international owners and the Coast Guard order for 20 FPVs.

Besides, the yard is executing the indigenous aircraft carrier project for the Indian Navy. Cochin Shipyard is one of the leading ship building and repair firms in the country. The FPVs have a speed of 35 knots and length of 50 metres. These are used for patrolling coastal areas.

Under the contract, the first ship is to be delivered within 20 months and one every three months thereafter.

i saw an ad in a malayalam newspaper,i think the first of the boat was launched today,not sure though!

I also saw that ......So what about IAC1 .

Are they going to build both of them together ??? Does CS have the facility for that ??

I also saw that ......So what about IAC1 .

Are they going to build both of them together ??? Does CS have the facility for that ??

CS is building other ships too along with the IAC1.. So I guess they have the facility..

IIRC they towed it out of the yard for construction of some other vessel .

"M Jithendran, chairman, CSL, said the proposal to have a division exclusively for small ships was under consideration. "

It is a 2007 news..

Cochin Shipyard to build 21 vessels

The below link, you can see how many ships launched every year.. I am sure that it wont happen if they manufacture one ship at a time.

welcome to cochin shipyard : iso 9001 certified shipyard of the millenium

So any idea why they towed the IAC1 out ???

Here is the pic of the FPV

Indian-fast-patrol-vessel.jpg

I am not an expert in military things yaar.. Just a fan..
@sancho, @Abingdonboy @SpArK @arp2041 can shed some lights into it..

The Vessels have length of 50 m and can attain speed of 35 Knots. Each vessel is powered by three Tognum supplied 16V 4000 M90 engines with an output of 2,720 kW (3,648 bhp) each in combination with three Rolls-Royce Kamewa 71S3np water jets to enable them to operate in shallow waters and offer higher speeds and better manoeuvrability than conventional propellers. The navigation package is being supplied by Northrop Grumman's Sperry Marine business unit which includes VisionMaster™ Total Watch™ multifunction displays, electronic chart display and information system (ECDIS), autopilot, magnetic compass and the NAVIGAT 3000™ fibre optic gyrocompass.
The vessels roles include coastal patrolling, anti-smuggling missions, fisheries protection, as well as search and rescue duties. As per contract worth INR 1500 crore, signed in Delhi on 20 October 2010 between Preethi Sudan, joint secretary in the Defence Ministry and Bejoy Bhaskar, Deputy General Manager, Cochin Shipyard Limited, the first ship is to be delivered in 20 months time and one every three months thereafter.

You have to give it to the ICG- they seem to be inducting a new craft every few days!

I am not an expert in military things yaar.. Just a fan..
@sancho, @Abingdonboy @SpArK @arp2041 can shed some lights into it..

Oh bhai, maine bhi koi P.hD nahi ki hai military affairs me :D

I think the IAC-1 was put on back-burner because there were issues faced in construction of the Gear Boxes for a carrier, the company that was entrusted with it had made gear boxes for P-17s but AC is a different ball game. They took help of Germans & the issue is settled now & 2 gear boxes are already delivered to CSL. There were recent reports also that construction is going to begin soon.

IIRC they towed it out of the yard for construction of some other vessel .

It was for offshore support vessel whihc was previous commitment. IAC was delayed mostly due to non availability of steel initially, some genrator accident while transferiung and then gearbox issues. most of which where not in the hands of CSL. they took out the vessel to respect their other commitments and since nothing much could be done in IAC without Gearbox and they did not want the ship to wait in ship yard. Even though ship was out of shipyard works were continuing with plumbing and electrical works inside ship whihw takes longer time.

CSL wont be able to build any ship in shipyard is IAC is inside the ship yard. They dont have that facility. May be they can wait for an year and move IAC to drydock and meanwhile start with modular blocks for FPV's. Else move IAC to dry dock right now and start all works their.

Oh bhai, maine bhi koi P.hD nahi ki hai military affairs me :D

I think the IAC-1 was put on back-burner because there were issues faced in construction of the Gear Boxes for a carrier, the company that was entrusted with it had made gear boxes for P-17s but AC is a different ball game. They took help of Germans & the issue is settled now & 2 gear boxes are already delivered to CSL. There were recent reports also that construction is going to begin soon.
IIRC the issue wrt the gear boxes had been that 1 or both had been damaged beyond repair on route to CSL setting back the entire project 1-2 years atleast.

If i am not wrong that there were in all 4 Gear Boxes to be constructed for IAC-1.

The good thing is that the issue is now resolved & since the construction is going on with modular concept, we can expect a faster delivery than the normal construction period.