Cinemas to lift ban on Indian films from Monday

Syed Noor slams lift of Bollywood ban, calls it 'unpatriotic'

According to film circles, the cinema owners across Pakistan have suffered about Rs 150 million loss and some 100 employees lost their jobs since the non-screening of Indian movies.

Film director Shehzad Rafique was of the opinion that Indian films should be exhibited. He regretted that the recently released Pakistani movies, including his own Salute, didn’t elicit a good response from the public. “In my opinion the box office should not close down.”

Rafique said it seemed the Pakistani film audience had decided that they would not watch local movies.

Blind Love was a commercial movie; Salute depicted patriotism; there were films on social subjects too but the public’s response was disappointing.”

http://images.dawn.com/news/1176773/syed-noor-slams-lift-of-bollywood-ban-calls-it-unpatriotic

@Morse_Code @ashok321 @Braith @Game.Invade @Narendra Trump @H!TchHiker @Imran Khan @CriticalThought @Darth Vader @Moonlight @khanmubashir @Dazzler

Syed Noor slams lift of Bollywood ban, calls it 'unpatriotic'

According to film circles, the cinema owners across Pakistan have suffered about Rs 150 million loss and some 100 employees lost their jobs since the non-screening of Indian movies.

Film director Shehzad Rafique was of the opinion that Indian films should be exhibited. He regretted that the recently released Pakistani movies, including his own Salute, didn’t elicit a good response from the public. “In my opinion the box office should not close down.”

Rafique said it seemed the Pakistani film audience had decided that they would not watch local movies.

Blind Love was a commercial movie; Salute depicted patriotism; there were films on social subjects too but the public’s response was disappointing.”

http://images.dawn.com/news/1176773/syed-noor-slams-lift-of-bollywood-ban-calls-it-unpatriotic

@Morse_Code @ashok321 @Braith @Game.Invade @Narendra Trump @H!TchHiker @Imran Khan @CriticalThought @Darth Vader @Moonlight @khanmubashir @Dazzler
Without Indian films no pakistAni I will go to cinemas this is proved

Pakistani cinemas cannot survive on Pakistani films alone.

He gives us the breakdown: "There are 52 weeks in a year, the lifespan of any film is 1 week, a blockbuster, 2 weeks. There were a total of 15 Pakistani films released last year, this year so far there have been 6, of which only 3 worked, the others flopped. Even if you double the amount of each film's run-time with the few films released, you're still left with 40-42 weeks of empty screens. What will cinemas do for those weeks?" Gultasab adds

http://images.dawn.com/news/1176359...l-only-bolster-piracy-say-local-cinema-owners

@Power.pack @ranjeet @GiannKall @mr42O @maroofz2000 @Asgard @Jzaib @DHARMICACE @BATMAN @dsr478 @nadeemkhan110 @sajidkhan608 @SecularNationalist

As stated the process to revive Movie Industry in Pakistan is multi step process

Step 1: Aim for 250-300 movies (TV channels , Independent movie makers, Producers with own money)
Step 2: Marketing on News papers, TV channels , Media
Step 3: Get renounced music bands and music producers to make quality music for movies

Aim for 10 Year goal to make 250-300 movies yearly for 10 years.
Cultural Subsidies for Movie making 10 year Goal

• Have regional dubs done in 4 languages of Pakistan for increased audience, main launch in national language.
  • Example do release in Urdu , and then on Adjacent cinema run a dubbed language version if some people would like to watch the release in regional language

The trend is not solved by 1-2 movies a year or 4-5 movies and then folks determine ok well the system is not working etc

For Added boost , launch major Music Album release (Music video) on movie release day and its songs in movie

After 10 years and 3,000 Movies , we can see what works or not and make adjustments

Should come under the responsibilities of Cultural Minister & Media, movie & media is a major representative of awareness of society

Abbe roz to pitai khate ho loc pe phir bhi akad barkarar hai. "G*nd me dum nahi aur ham kisi se kam nahi":lol:
72880415.jpg

Mr Altaf said the decision to not show Indian movies has affected business and fewer shows are put on each day

He said Cineplex had five movie screens in the mall, including a VIP theatre with 12 seats, two larger halls of 175 seats each and two small halls with 72 seats each.

There is a lot of demand for Indian movies and till two months ago, when Indian movies were still screened, we used to have full house at all the screenings. We would put five shows a day and six on the weekends, because we would get requests for an additional show,” he said.

“But because we are only showing western and Pakistani movies, we only put on four shows a day and only have a full house on some weekends. People only come to the cinema now when a popular Pakistani or a western movie is playing. If a Pakistani movie flops, we do not have another movie to replace it with now because a limited number of Pakistani films are released each year,” he explained.

CD shop owners see boost in Indian film sales

Cinema owners in Rawalpindi are also starting to build pressure on the association to lift the ban on Indian movies.

Our business has been affected as we only screen western and Pakistani films, the audience for which is not that large,” said Mohammad Kaleem, operations manager at Cine Gold in Bahria Town.

We screen western and Pakistani films as well as cartoons, but are only able to put on two shows a day,” he added.

One of the oldest cinemas in Rawalpindi, Ciros Cinema has also reduced the number of shows from four to two and has had to cancel shows because there were not that many people attending.

The owner of the cinema, Manzar Sheikh, told Dawn that business had dropped 80pc since the ban had been imposed.

“We also had to cancel shows on the weekends because only four or five people turned up in a hall meant for 500 people,” he said.

Ordinary people want to watch Indian movies and the viewership for western movies is very limited

A resident of Chaklala Scheme III, Iqbal Hussein, disagreed with the ban on Indian content and said people should have the right to chose what they want to watch.

“The ban cannot really be effective because viewers can still access Indian content via the Internet. People love watching Indian movies and dramas and Pakistani movies are usually copies of Indian films,” said Mohsin Malik, a resident of Westridge.

http://images.dawn.com/news/1176770/decision-to-screen-new-indian-films-will-be-taken-on-wednesday

@Khanate @Chauvinist @Quibbler @JOEY TRIBIANI @Great Sachin @OguzSenturk @Foxtrot @Foxtrot-Bravo @sweetgrape @PakSword @Zain Malik @A.P. Richelieu @LA se Karachi

I can't blame Pakistanis when movies like these are being produced there locally

I mean, seriously? Is this the mainstream cinema of Pakistan!

Even our regional movies are miles ahead

Mr Altaf said the decision to not show Indian movies has affected business and fewer shows are put on each day

He said Cineplex had five movie screens in the mall, including a VIP theatre with 12 seats, two larger halls of 175 seats each and two small halls with 72 seats each.

There is a lot of demand for Indian movies and till two months ago, when Indian movies were still screened, we used to have full house at all the screenings. We would put five shows a day and six on the weekends, because we would get requests for an additional show,” he said.

“But because we are only showing western and Pakistani movies, we only put on four shows a day and only have a full house on some weekends. People only come to the cinema now when a popular Pakistani or a western movie is playing. If a Pakistani movie flops, we do not have another movie to replace it with now because a limited number of Pakistani films are released each year,” he explained.

CD shop owners see boost in Indian film sales

Cinema owners in Rawalpindi are also starting to build pressure on the association to lift the ban on Indian movies.

Our business has been affected as we only screen western and Pakistani films, the audience for which is not that large,” said Mohammad Kaleem, operations manager at Cine Gold in Bahria Town.

We screen western and Pakistani films as well as cartoons, but are only able to put on two shows a day,” he added.

One of the oldest cinemas in Rawalpindi, Ciros Cinema has also reduced the number of shows from four to two and has had to cancel shows because there were not that many people attending.

The owner of the cinema, Manzar Sheikh, told Dawn that business had dropped 80pc since the ban had been imposed.

“We also had to cancel shows on the weekends because only four or five people turned up in a hall meant for 500 people,” he said.

Ordinary people want to watch Indian movies and the viewership for western movies is very limited

A resident of Chaklala Scheme III, Iqbal Hussein, disagreed with the ban on Indian content and said people should have the right to chose what they want to watch.

“The ban cannot really be effective because viewers can still access Indian content via the Internet. People love watching Indian movies and dramas and Pakistani movies are usually copies of Indian films,” said Mohsin Malik, a resident of Westridge.

http://images.dawn.com/news/1176770/decision-to-screen-new-indian-films-will-be-taken-on-wednesday

@Khanate @Chauvinist @Quibbler @JOEY TRIBIANI @Great Sachin @OguzSenturk @Foxtrot @Foxtrot-Bravo @sweetgrape re @PakSword @Zain Malik @A.P. Richelieu @LA se Karachi

The quoted cinema row can be analysed from two directions.

If we for a minute, let the glasses of nationalism down, any kind of barrier between geographical locations be it cultural or economical has a negative effect on the potential of the globe as a whole.

But when we see this from the confrontation perspective , like the one India and Pakistan are involved in since inception. More that economical aspect that the above posters seem to focus on, a mush stronger effect is that of Cultural Domination. In fear of that being a very heavy term, lets use a more politically correct and modern term "Soft Power".

In the era of nuclear deterrence, soft power is much more of a strategic weapon than a cruise missile.

To end this in a dramatic tone.
The supreme art of war is to subdue the enemy without fighting. - Sun Tzu

Thank You @Mr.Nair for quoting me. This was the fist time someone quoted me and i was very elated that someone held my views in consideration.

I heard that Amir Khan's new movie 'Dangal' will not be released in Pakistan.