Chinese mobile-maker Xiaomi may move its operations from India to Pakistan after Indian govt freezes its assets worth $676M

Sure. If they want to lose access to the entire Indian market. Plenty of phone manufacturers out there to take Xiaomi’s place.

Chinese companies ought to play by the rules in India.
"Plenty of phone manufacturers out there to take Xiamois' place".

Do you mean other Chinese brands which already dominate the Indian market?

"Estimates of online sales of smartphones show Indians primarily shopped from five brands this October, including 4 Chinese companies Xiaomi, Vivo, Realme, and Oppo." - these account for 69-73 percent of the Indian market share.

1665124790572.png

Oppo isn't affected right?

Doesn't seem to be, still the fifth most popular Chinese brand in India.

1665124935965.png

Three of the other four are also Chinese, with Samsung from Korea making it into the 2nd most popular online purchaces.

This doesn't mean that Samsung is the second most-bought brand among Indians. These are just the online purchases. Overall, Chinese brands dominate well over 70% of the Indian market.

Doesn't seem to be, still the fifth most popular Chinese brand in India.

View attachment 885260

Three of the other four are also Chinese, with Samsung from Korea making it into the 2nd most popular online purchaces.

This doesn't mean that Samsung is the second most-bought brand among Indians. These are just the online purchases. Overall, Chinese brands dominate well over 70% of the Indian market.
My phone is still an Oppo one for 7 years.
Plan to upgrade to a Samsung or another Oppo.

I like Xiaomi brand appliance but not their phone.

Manufactures keen to set up base in India have to follow law of the land, pay taxes and be accountable for trade practices.

Xiaomi or any other company starts violating the laws and then cries foul is stupidity. Xiaomi can go to courts and seek redressal if they think that they have been targeted unlawfully. If they don’t then that speaks volumes about what they were doing.

"Plenty of phone manufacturers out there to take Xiamois' place".

Do you mean other Chinese brands which already dominate the Indian market?

"Estimates of online sales of smartphones show Indians primarily shopped from five brands this October, including 4 Chinese companies Xiaomi, Vivo, Realme, and Oppo." - these account for 69-73 percent of the Indian market share.

View attachment 885258
Sure. India acceded to the WTO a long time ago. If there are other Chinese manufacturers willing to play by the rules, what possible objection would india have against them? And if they don’t as well, then I’m sure domestic and international players will have to pick up their game to cater to Indian demand. Not sure if you know, but Indian demand for cheap smartphone is massive.

Hey @etylo, Xiaomi didn’t listen to your could, should, must, would, may etc.
How stupid of them? 😈
Since you are in space and you would go even farther, why didn’t you consider taking few satellites along? A smart bloke like you should have planned it out. Maybe next time. 😀

They should do that, chinese companies should get away from indian snakes, who cares what poor slum indian consumers.
Bheek khud maangte hain aur humein gareeb kehte hain. Tumko toh aaj B'deshi bhi gareeb kehte hain!
numbers toh dekhlo yaar. Khwahmakhwah khudki beizzati na kiya karo. :p:

*In the meantime, Indians bought more than 7 million iPhones.

You can bet they won't do that. If they do that, they lose access to the Indian market. Access to a market of 1.4 billion is more important than access to a market of 250 million, that too assuming same incomes in both the places. They have been minting money in India and have cornered the market, and only become more greedy. These court cases will knock some sense into them and they will come back to their senses.
@Baba_Yaga busted bro

For some people even 1 hour of happiness and daydreaming means a lot.
Still this thread was funny while it lasted

Lol... You indian will still buy made in China xiaomi smartphone even Xiaomi shift out all the factory. You indian has no balls not to buy made in China smartphone.

Atleast GoI will get taxes on import, and it will be transparent. No point keeping tax thieving snakes in the country,