China tries to lure India with deep sea mining deal in Indian Ocean

Tresbon

China
BEIJING: China has come up with a sweetheart deal to break through India's resistance to its attempt to access the Indian Ocean. It is offering India an opportunity to participate in joint seabed mining in the ocean, which has strong potential of yielding expensive minerals.

"China and India are both developing countries and contractors with the International Seabed Authority, so we have a lot in common and plenty of opportunities for further cooperation," said He Zongyu, deputy director of the China Ocean Mineral Resource R&D Association.

The offer comes ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's three-day visit to China starting May 14. The issue is likely to figure in the official level talks.

China is looking towards India for accessing the Indian Ocean because it feels that Sri Lanka cannot be fully relied upon for this task. The new government in Sri Lanka has suspended work on two Chinese funded projects including the construction of port city of Colombo, which had been contracted by the previous government.

The offer of joint seabed exploration was made recently by Chen Lianzeng, deputy director of China's State Oceanic Administration, who visited India on April 20. He also suggested the two countries enhance cooperation on oceanic research and development.

India is an ideal partner because the two countries are almost at the same level in terms of the development of deep seabed mining, He said.

"If we cooperate, we could share the costs, the risks and the benefits," He said. Though called "association", it is really an official body enthrusted with the task of exploration and development of ocean floor and subsoil.

India may have to consider not just the risks of allowing access to the Indian Ocean but the fact that deep seabed mining is an extremely expensive business. The cost for one mining site is upwards of $1.6 billion, according to He.

Besides accessing the Indian Ocean, China wants New Delhi to give up its plans for joint exploration for oil with Vietnam in a portion of the South China Sea, which China claims as its own territory. China has been opposing this part of India-Vietnam relationship for a long time.

China won a contract from the International Seabed Authority for a polymetallic sulfides exploration area of 10,000 square kilometers in the southwest Indian Ocean in 2011. It has also signed two contracts for exploration areas in the Pacific Ocean.

"But the rich findings in the Indian Ocean make this area a focus for China's future work," the official Xinhua news agency said.

Last March, a Chinese manned deepsea submersible Jiaolong finished a 118-day expedition in the Indian Ocean. It discovered several new hydrothermal vents-deep-sea fissures that emit hot water. The findings could help research into resources and environments of seafloor sulfide deposits that contain various metals, Xinhua said.

China also sent research vessel Dayang Yihao making it the first time that two major oceanic research facilities working in the Indian Ocean at the same time.

China tries to lure India with deep sea mining deal in Indian Ocean - The Times of India

LMAO @ lure... It's a goodwill gesture by the Chinese and these Indians once again resort to pathetic behaviour. Grow up for once and try to think beyond enmities...

Dude. Nobody has commented against it as of yet.

There will be a joint statement when our PM visits China later this year.

Do u have any mental problems, jumping out of blue and commenting, this pathetic?

LMAO @ your Name..Dalit... :rofl::rofl: but so are your comments :argh::argh:

@tresbon,why did you open 2 same threads back to back??

@WebMaster ,take care of it sir..

China tries to lure India with deep sea mining deal in Indian Ocean

LMAO @ you and your Indian mentality.

Your comments aren't worthy of anything...

Dude. Nobody has commented against it as of yet.

There will be a joint statement when our PM visits China later this year.

Do u have any mental problems, jumping out of blue and commenting, this pathetic?

LMAO @ another Indian. Whatever man. I was commenting on the pathetic Indian article. You Indians are so pathetic and predictable.

Good strategy by China!

How can you comment on Behalf of India....................This is about Business...........Jab do Baniya dande ki bat kar reha hai tho beech mai tumhara kya kaam

I'll comment on anything I want whether you pathetic Indians like it or not. Kind of pathetic word selection. Like as if China is luring India. China is simply making a goodwill gesture and your pathetic media as usual has to add some curry and spice.

I really can't stand of the conceit of this article, as if China is some inadequate, lowly suitor trying to "lure" the most desirable beauty queen in the neighborhood. Stop the delusions please!

Exactly what I meant!

LMAO @ you and your Indian mentality.

Your comments aren't worthy of anything...

actually its your whining which is not worthy of anything..topic is on India-China,but here we're,an "Abdulla" Dalit is trying to do a "Dewwana" act in a begaani shaadi..I wonder,why China didn't try to make a deal with Pakistan on this??Maybe because you guys don't have anything to offer.. :whistle::whistle:

India has the technology and means to explore IOR.

Chinese can explore Pacific or International waters .... not an issue.

BTW will china accept India and China joint exploration in SCS?

I really can't stand of the conceit of this article, as if China is some inadequate, lowly suitor trying to "lure" the most desirable beauty queen in the neighborhood. Stop the delusions please!

"With quickening oceanic development and increasing mineral exploration in the Indian Ocean, China is eager to cooperate with India on deep seabed mining," the China Daily quoted China Ocean Mineral Resource R&D Association as saying.

China Lures India with Deep Sea Mining

not regular TOI sh!t..this thing has a "Chinese Flavor"..:omghaha::omghaha: :wave:

"With quickening oceanic development and increasing mineral exploration in the Indian Ocean, China is eager to cooperate with India on deep seabed mining," the China Daily quoted China Ocean Mineral Resource R&D Association as saying.

China Lures India with Deep Sea Mining

not regular TOI sh!t..this thing has a "Chinese Flavor"..:omghaha::omghaha: :wave:

So why did ToI change "eager" to "lure"? The latter word has an unwholesome connotation.

I hope Indians will share key technology with China.

its not Tech Sharing deal,merely Co-Op on exploration..on a merrier note,India-China did co-operate in energy exploration sector.we may find it agreeable..India is one of the leading nation in Deep Sea Mining in Indian Ocean.

So why did ToI change "eager" to "lure"? The latter word has an unwholesome connotation.

different source dude...

This is from Marinelink.