China military denounces U.S.-Australia defense upgrade

Devil Soul

Updated 6 hours ago
BEIJING: China's military denounced the United States and Australia on Wednesday for upgrading military ties, warning that such moves could erode trust and fan Cold War-era antagonism.

Chinese Defense Ministry spokesman Geng Yansheng made the warning about a plan unveiled in mid-November by U.S. President Barack Obama and Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard to form a de facto base in north Australia for up to 2,500 U.S. Marines.

Geng's comments came on the same day Australian Foreign Minister Kevin Rudd was reported as backing the formation of a security pact with India and the United States, another step that could fuel China's worries of being fenced in by wary neighbors.

"Military alliances are a product of history, but we believe any strengthening and expansion of military alliances is an expression of the Cold War mentality," Geng said in answer to a question about the U.S.-Australian announcement, according to a transcript on the ministry's website (??????????.).

"This is not in keeping with the tide of the era of peace, development and cooperation and does not help to enhance mutual trust and cooperation between countries in the region, and could ultimately harm the common interests of all concerned," he said.

"We hope that the parties concerned will do more that is beneficial to the peace and stability of the Asia-Pacific region, and not the contrary."

But the Chinese spokesman indicated that Beijing was not shunning Washington. Chinese and U.S. defense officials, led by Under Secretary of Defense Michele Flournoy, will hold talks in Beijing next Wednesday, Geng told the briefing.

Earlier this month, Obama told Asia-Pacific leaders that the United States was "here to stay," announced the plans to set up the de facto military base in north Australia and chided China for trying to prevent discussion of its South China Sea territorial disputes at regional forums.

The Chinese Ministry of Defense is the public mouthpiece of the People's Liberation Army (PLA), but foreign reporters are not allowed to attend its briefings. (Reuters)

.....warning that such moves could erode trust and fan Cold War-era antagonism.....

Arre yaar ek aur chinese fatwa!!:lol::lol:

Isko fatwa, usko fatwa, fatwa hi fatwa!!:lol::lol:

Is china the new fatwa issuing authority of the world these days??

Chinese are simply making fool of themselves these days.:disagree::disagree:

Of course you wouldn't but you will one day. Troubles is coming to the neighbourhood, let's see how well Australia can navigate.

Out of curiosity, exactly what is China doing to counter these threats?

blah blah
Australia and the US have had a military alliance since 1951

nothing new here :coffee:

Its nothing like great planning of encircling china or something like that,Its just a part India's "LOOK EAST",US's "CONTROL IN PACIFIC" and Australia's "SAVE OURSELF FROM CHINESE:woot:" policy, which is shaping up..
Why should china be worring about this as they have more allies in that area like, North Korea and ...... Hey I can't get any name can someone help me fill this blank..

i wanna know if we drop several 1Mt N-bombs in the subcontinent, killing several hundreds millions indian people, would the west condemn us for killing the darkies ..?

BEIJING: China's military denounced the United States and Australia on Wednesday for upgrading military ties, warning that such moves could erode trust and fan Cold War-era antagonism.

The Chinese seen quite unable to get it, it is because of a complete lack of trust that the Australians & the Americans (as also the Indians, the Vietnamese,Japan,South Korea, Singapore,Philippines....anyone left out?) are doing what they are doing.

i wanna know if we drop several 1Mt N-bombs in the subcontinent, killing several hundreds millions indian people, would the west condemn us for killing the darkies ..?
Hey this chinese is really getting frustrated by our one single step..
Sir before suppling nuclear tech to pakistan did your communist government realized the amount of danger it will cause..
And u will attack and we will say "Hindi-Chini bhai bhai"(indian and chinese r brother)..
This time we won't relly on any nation coz we have also got 100-110 nucs to give a "BOOTS TO YOUR A-s-s-e-s"..
So enjoy your time and don't ask this type of pathetical ques..OK..Bye and save your property from chinese government as they r coming to get it from u..:wave::wave:

Its nothing like great planning of encircling china or something like that,Its just a part India's "LOOK EAST",US's "CONTROL IN PACIFIC" and Australia's "SAVE OURSELF FROM CHINESE:woot:" policy, which is shaping up..
Why should china be worring about this as they have more allies in that area like, North Korea and ...... Hey I can't get any name can someone help me fill this blank..

india, japan, south korea, vietnam, phillippines are all lapdog slaves of the west.
they have no other option but to do what america says.
when america says do this, india better do what its master says or face the consequences.
thats what all colonies of the west do, obey its master.

china and russia are not lapdogs of the west, we run policy as independent nations that dont grovel to no one.
we have too much pride, honour and dignity in our own civilization of 5000 years to grovel to anyone.

india and its other western lapdog slaves grovel and serve their western masters at the masters request.
india was grovelling to the queen and the british empire for 200 years.
now india is grovelling to america.
india has grovelled from one western empire to another.
thats what happens to weak nations, u are forced to grovel to western empires.

india, japan, south korea, vietnam, phillippines are all lapdog slaves of the west.
when america says do this, india better do what its master says or face the consequences.

china and russia are not lapdogs of the west, we run policy as independent nations that dont grovel to no one.
we have too much pride, honour and dignity in our own civilization of 5000 years to grovel to anyone.

india and its other western lapdog slaves grovel and serve their western masters at the masters request.

u might wanna pass this message on to your pakistani allies!!!

What an IQ (Idiotic quotient)? So anyone who supports America becomes Slaves hmm? Don't tell me India was ruled by America? I didn't learn that history.