Chill Bangladesh Thread

bhai na...'uncle'.

He's a retiree.

Na na. Retiree ra boyoshko lok hoy. Tara facebook chara internet use korte pare na.
do-not-feed-the-trolls-md copy.png

Keep calm & don't feed the trolls.jpg

Quarter to three in the morning and it's still 30 degrees here. Air Cons working overtime :suicide2:

Bangladeshi surfers dream of winning world titles

Surfers on the Kolatoli point of Cox's Bazar beach

Abdul Aziz/Dhaka Tribune

Surfing is a passion for these people, but they need the government's support to reach the international arena

The fledgling surfing scene in Bangladesh is gaining momentum, and young Bangladeshi surfers say with proper funding and time, they will be ready to take on the world.

In Cox’s Bazar, surfers from around the country took part in a two-day national competition on April 28-29, with 70 contenders from 10 surfing clubs. Of them, 12 were teenage girls.

There were also about 200 other surfers who did not take part in the competition but came to take part in the fun anyway.

Cox-Surfing-pic-06.jpg

A woman surfs a wave in Cox’s Bazar Abdul Aziz/Dhaka Tribune

Beginning with a handful of enthusiasts, among them several courageous young local girls from low-income backgrounds who fought down many a frown from their conservative families, the surfing scene in Bangladesh is now thriving. The sandy bottom and warm water of Cox’s Bazar provides for good surfing waves throughout the year.

Now that surfing has been approved as a sport for Olympics and will be launched in the 2020 Tokyo Games, Bangladeshi surfers say they want to make a name for their nation in the global arena and are training hard to achieve that goal.

In between surfing on the world’s longest unbroken beach, the athletes talked about their passion for surfing, their dreams and the challenges they face.

Riding the waves is addictive, said Kamal, Sumi and Mehraz, who took part in the competition.

The endless water draws them constantly, they said. During the early morning and late afternoon high tides, the surfers gather at many points on the beach to practice and play.

Cox-Surfing-pic-05-1024x567.jpg

Surfing as a hobby began in earnest with local girls, many from lower income families Abdul Aziz/Dhaka Tribune

However, the families and the society are unsupportive of this sport, they say. None of them are from wealthy families, and the surfing community needs state sponsorship for survival.

“It will be hard for anyone to be a professional surfer without sponsorship. Many are involved because of their passion but without training and practice, many potential talents will be lost,” said surfer Ramzan, who has competed in many international events.

Bangladesh Surfing Association General Secretary Moazzem Hossain Chowdhury said the country’s surfers had been training since a very young age and with proper training they would easily be able to compete internationally.

State Minister for Youth and Sports Biren Shikder said surfing could help promote tourism in Cox’s Bazar.

“The government is taking several initiatives in support of surfing, including recognition of the surfing association,” he said.

libraries 1.jpg

l 2.jpg

May 07, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 03:04 AM, May 07, 2017
Double trouble for parents
Screen addiction, vanishing playground make parenting difficult in Dhaka

double_trouble.jpg

Porimol Palma
Namira's parents couldn't be happier when she started to go to bed early.
It used to be difficult to put the 13-year-old to bed as she would spend hours on the internet and play video games.
But the parents' relief was replaced with worries in less than a week. The eighth grader, pretending to be asleep under her blanket, was found playing on a tablet.
Like Namira, thousands of teenagers in Dhaka city who spend more time on screens but less on physical activities are on higher risks of depression and other health problems, a new research suggests.

Nearly 80 percent teenagers of Dhaka have more than two hours of screen time a day, while one-third of them spend less than an hour on physical activities, found the study titled “Is physical inactivity associated with depressive symptoms among adolescents with high screen time? Evidence from a developing country”.
Screen time includes watching TV and videos, playing video games, using computers and smartphones.
"My daughter used to be an outgoing kid. But in the last few years she apparently lost her interpersonal skills and became grumpy. Doctors say it's because she doesn't interact with other children much. She wouldn't let go of the computer and other smart devices and go out to play in the yard," the teenager's mother Shaila complained.
The kid was taken to an eye specialist and a paediatrician last year. Both strongly recommended that she should be limited to one hour of screen time a day. They also stressed that she should increase her outdoor activities to remain cheerful.
“The double burden of prolonged screen time and low physical activity is a major public health concern for many developing countries… presenting a variety of health and psychosocial problems,” said Asaduzzaman Khan, senior lecturer at the University of Queensland's School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, Australia.
He is one of the two researchers of the study published in the Amsterdam based medical journal Mental Health and Physical Activity on March 1.
Asaduzzaman's co-researcher was Nicola W Burton of the School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences at the same university.

The study was conducted among 898 students of eight secondary schools in Dhaka, aged between 13 and 17 years, from November 2012 to January 2013.
It found 25 percent of the adolescents with longer screen time and less than an hour of physical activities reporting depressive symptoms. The symptoms were more prevalent in females (29 percent) than in males (20 percent).
“Adolescents with high screen time who did not meet MVPA [moderate-to-vigorous physical activity] recommendations had more than twice the odds of reporting depressive symptoms than their counterparts who met MVPA recommendations,” reads the study.
The findings seem particularly grim when seen in the context of the densely populated capital. According to Population and Housing Census 2011, nearly 14 percent of Dhaka's population of 70 lakh are teenagers. While recent data is not available, it is highly likely that the numbers have increased.
The study suggests that shrinking open spaces in the densely populated city is one of the reasons behind teens spending increasing time on screens.
Children in urban areas of many other countries get to play in open spaces. But that is not an option for many children in Dhaka.

This newspaper in an investigation in 2015 found that at least 10 parks out of the 54 surviving ones in the entire Dhaka city were replaced with a community centre, kitchen market, mosque, rickshaw garage or truck parking lot, mostly by the city corporation itself, while many others were being occupied fast.
According to urban expert Prof Nazrul Islam, every 10,000 city residents need an open space of four acres for healthy growth of children and prevention of diseases related to lack of physical activities.
Asaduzzaman and Nicola's study observes that screen time among young people in many developing nations has increased considerably in the last few years due to socio-economic transition and the advancement of technology.

Bangladesh has quite a high concentration of mobile phones with over 13.37 crore connections. At least 5.41 crore subscribers had active internet connections until 2015, according to Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission.
“There has also been an increase in the number of adolescents not meeting physical activity recommendations due to rapid urbanisation, issues of population density, increased traffic, and a lack of open space,” Asaduzzaman said in an email to The Daily Star.

It is important to balance between screen time and physical activities in order to minimise the risks of depressive symptoms and optimise wellbeing, he added.
Different other studies have linked sedentary lifestyle to multiple chronic health conditions, including cardiovascular diseases and obesity, he said.
“Parents and teachers can help them [teens] become responsible screen users,” he said.
Sadia Sharmin Urmee, a consultant of child psychology at 360 Degree Total Solutions in Dhaka, said adolescents in the city are caught in a vicious cycle. "Their social life is shrinking, while technology-based one-way communication is rising. It's not good for their physical and mental growth."
The main factors are limited scope for outdoor sports, study pressures and security concerns, especially for girls, Sadia told The Daily Star.

Policymakers and parents need to seriously think about allowing the teenagers to have time for social interaction and outdoor activities alongside studies.
"We won't have a healthy generation otherwise," Sadia Sharmin said.
Asaduzzaman said they were planning on developing a culturally appropriate intervention to help Bangladeshi adolescents shun their sedentary lifestyle and remain physically active.

solution.... dont buy kids phones, computers and tablets.... i got my first phone at 18, first tablet at 16 and first computer which was piece of crap at 12.... when i was 14... it broke down and i got a laptop from parents which i have since upgraded and am using still, because environment and also because i dont intend to buy laptops anymore.

I got my first computer when I was 13, first cell phone at 14(Nokia N70,Still have it,running smoothly), First Tab at 17. I was little more gadget savvy than my age group.

Never failed in exams (teachers pet some might say), more well read than almost my entire school (I say that cuz my high school literature teacher,was more well read than I am, even these days). Got started almost since the age I learned reading, never stopped. By the time I graduated 12th, I had already finished all the major Classic Indian Literature & major Bengali literary works from middle age to 1990, got hooked into English & Latin literature.

I wasn't good at sports though. Borned with good genes. Healthy &........ sturdy.... :p:

Anyway there's no alternative for kids to be well read & learned. And I don't mean the school curriculum. It's like mother's milk. Library is a must to build a merit centric nation. It's the merit making factory. :agree:

solution.... dont buy kids phones, computers and tablets.... i got my first phone at 18, first tablet at 16 and first computer which was piece of crap at 12.... when i was 14... it broke down and i got a laptop from parents which i have since upgraded and am using still, because environment and also because i dont intend to buy laptops anymore.
Lol I got my first computer when I was 4. A wonderful Pentium 2 computer. It was more of a family computer but I spent a lot of time playing games like Mostofa or house of the dead :lol:

Got my first Laptop in 2014...still using it. Works fine. I love it a bit less than m'lady.

Lol I got my first computer when I was 4. A wonderful Pentium 2 computer. It was more of a family computer but I spent a lot of time playing games like Mostofa or house of the dead :lol:

Got my first Laptop in 2014...still using it. Works fine. I love it a bit less than m'lady.
Speaking of lady... I scored a girl out of my league imo. Had a great first meet up... more soon to follow. :)
I played house of the dead on my cousins celeron back in 2008, first time was on a pentim 2004 era... apparently back in 2008 it was still a fan favorite in bd... I am actually shocked to hear that.

I got my first computer when I was 13, first cell phone at 14(Nokia N70,Still have it,running smoothly), First Tab at 17. I was little more gadget savvy than my age group.

Never failed in exams (teachers pet some might say), more well read than almost my entire school (I say that cuz my high school literature teacher,was more well read than I am, even these days). Got started almost since the age I learned reading, never stopped. By the time I graduated 12th, I had already finished all the major Classic Indian Literature & major Bengali literary works from middle age to 1990, got hooked into English & Latin literature.

I wasn't good at sports though. Borned with good genes. Healthy &........ sturdy.... :p:

Anyway there's no alternative for kids to be well read & learned. And I don't mean the schools only curriculum. It's like mother's milk. Library is a must to build a merit centric nation. It's the merit making factory. :agree:
N70 was a phone I can say I had a crush on... my dad's first smartphone and my favorite Nokia to date.
Failed in arts and craft class and also chem and physics in class 11& 12... no teachers at my peasant Indian school in Kuwait... went from being the best in gulf to one of the worst. Anyways got good enough marks in 12 boards to land me in a medical college without year gaps...
I used to read a lot of English literature... still do if someone gets me a good recommendation. I have ran out of English reading material and since started just reading news and blogs... reading is a big addiction for me.
Sports... well it depend if I had mood for the particular sports... most of the time I was otherwise lazy and only moved my *** if I was concerned with my health... the only reason I still move my *** is because of health and body... else I would have like to degenerate like Stephen Hawkins

Anyway there's no alternative for kids to be well read & learned. And I don't mean the school curriculum. It's like mother's milk. Library is a must to build a merit centric nation. It's the merit making factory. :agree:

My nephew 3 years old started speaking fluent english within a week after admitting to the school. We were just shocked but later found out that its the cartoon and youtube. Its not only him but his entire class. :)

BTW, talking about computers and tabs.. any gamer here?

I am a DotA fanatic. Been playing since 2006. Even today, everyday after work, I spend couple of hours chilling with it. If anyone plays, feel free to PM me with your steam ID.

Used to play CS Source back in the days a lot too. Was into Warcraft, Age of Empires, Commandos (completed the second version), FIFA and few more. Dont get the time to play all of these now.

BTW, talking about computers and tabs.. any gamer here?

I am a DotA fanatic. Been playing since 2006. Even today, everyday after work, I spend couple of hours chilling with it. If anyone plays, feel free to PM me with your steam ID.

Used to play CS Source back in the days a lot too. Was into Warcraft, Age of Empires, Commandos (completed the second version), FIFA and few more. Dont get the time to play all of these now.
I am a NFS, GTA, Age of Empires & COD fan. Don't get much time to play these days though.

I was an Age of Empires champ during school days. Started with AOE Rise of Rome and played till Mythology.

Best strategy game ever made.
with difficulty level 1 ? lol
what about Cricket 98 and Cricket 2007?