Bukhari calls stir anti-Islam, tells Muslims to stay away

Muslim bodies come outin support of Team Anna

PATNA: Muslims who have largely stayed away from Anna Hazare's movement so far, are now likely to take part in it following the celebrated Islamic seminary, Darul Uloom, Deoband, coming out in its support and Imarat Shariah, a highly respected religious body of Bihar, also supporting the issues raised by the Gandhian leader.

Pasmanda Muslim Mahaz, a socio-political organization of backward class Muslims, also extended its unequivocal support to Anna and his cause on Monday.

This was in sharp contrast to the call of Shahi Imam of Delhi's Jama Masjid, Syed Ahmad Bukhari, to Muslims to keep away from the movement as the agitators were raising slogans of 'Vande Matram' and 'Bharat Mata Ki Jai', which, he said, was against the Islamic tenets.

Imarat Shariah said the issue of corruption taken up by Anna Hazare was very positive. Its general secretary, Maulana Anisur Rahma Qasmi, told TOI that he also supported the inclusion of Prime Minister and judiciary in the ambit of Lokpal. "In the Islamic Shariat laws, nobody is above law and can be tried irrespective of his post," he said.

Pasmanda Muslim Mahaz's national president and Rajya Sabha member Ali Anwar Ansari said in a statement that a meeting would be held at his New Delhi residence on Tuesday, after which he and his supporters would march to Ramlila Maidan. Arrangements were being made for Iftar and 'magrib' namaz at the Maidan.

He asked the Shahi Imam not to nurse the idea of being the leader of Muslims. "Vote-abadi hamari, fatwa tumhara" won't work, he said.

The Mahaz would take out a rally from Gandhi statue in Gandhi Maidan in Patna to Kargil Chowk at 3pm on Tuesday, where it would culminate into a meeting.

In another important development, RJD's lone MLA in Delhi assembly Asif Mohammad Khan on Monday resigned from the party in protest against the party supremo Lalu Prasad's stand vis a vis Anna. He also condemned Syed Bukhari.

Taking a plunge in the agitation spearheaded by Anna Hazare, the MLA from Okhla told TOI on phone from Delhi, "I have appealed to all the MPs and legislators in the country to break the barrier of party affiliation and join the public movement. This movement has been launched by people, and as we had been elected by people we should join this agitation."

Lalu had rejected Anna's agitation saying he was acting as an unconstitutional authority undermining the supremacy of parliament.

Khan said, "If Bukhari has a problem with chanting of 'Vande Matram', Muslims should reject his advice and join the agitation with the slogan of 'Allah-O-Akbar' without any fear." In Islam there is no place for corruption and those involved in corruption would go to hell, the maverick RJD MLA said.

Imarat Shariah's Qasmi also said 'Vande Matram' was not an issue, as it was not mandatory for the people joining the movement to chant it.

Muslim bodies come outin support of Team Anna - The Times of India

---------- Post added at 07:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:06 AM ----------

Vande Mataram not an issue for Muslims

Delhis’ Shahi Imam may have appealed to Muslims to stay away from Anna Hazare and his anti corruption brigade, but they are not deterred by his views.

The Shahi Imam, Ahmed Bukhari, had said that Hazare and his supporters have isolated Muslims through their movement and that the war cry of Vande Mataram and Bharat Matha Ki Jai are against the tenets of Islam.

“We respect the Imam, but he is not an authority that we have to strictly adhere to,” said Ahmed Danish, a lead supporter of the movement at Freedom Park in Bangalore. “It is my choice whether or not to say Vande Mataram while protesting. I choose not to say it. Just because you say Vande Mataram or you are in a crowd of people who say it does not make you an RSS activist,” he said.

Meanwhile, prominent maulanas and Islamic scholars of UP also reacted strongly to Bukhari’s statement. Leading Sunni cleric Maulana Abul Irfan Mian Firangi Mahli and well known Shia scholar and cleric Maulana Kalbe Jawaad said that since Hazare was not forcing Vande Mataram on anyone, there was nothing wrong if Muslims joined the campaign launched by the social activist.

“The issue is not about Vande Mataram but corruption. I see absolutely no reason why Muslims should be dissuaded from joining this campaign when we all know how corruption is eating into our system,” Maulana Firangi Mahli said.

Vande Mataram not an issue for Muslims - India - DNA

Anti-Anna Hazare cleric cuts lonely figure

MUMBAI/NEW DELHI: Delhi's Jamia Masjid chief cleric Syed Ahmed Bukhari has drawn flak from community leaders for asking Muslims to stay away from Anna Hazare's movement.

Bukhari described Anna's slogans as "anti-Islam" and accused him of working at Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh and BJP's behest a day earlier.

All India Ulema Council general secretary Maulana Mehmood Daryabadi described Bukhari's appeal as his "personal view". He sarcastically described Bukhari as a royal imam of a mosque that an emperor had built and implied that he did not reflect a common Muslim's view.

Bukhari did not find many supporters even outside Delhi's Jama Masjid. Hawker Mohammad Irfan said he supports Anna wholeheartedly. "At least someone is standing up for the country," he said.

But another hawker Mohammad Rehman dismissed Anna's movement as a drama. "He wants BJP to rule."

In Mumbai, Muslim NGO representatives and clerics said they would take out a rally from Crawford Market to Azad Maidan on Tuesday. The Maharashtra Urdu Writer's Guild too condemned Bukhari for his "misleading statement."

It said Vande Matram and Bharat Mata Ki Jai slogans are ways of expressing love for the country. "Muslims may not worship the motherland but their love for it is second to none. Bukhari is needlessly communalizing the movement against corruption," said Guild president Salam Bin Razzak.

Anti-Anna Hazare cleric cuts lonely figure - The Times of India

Opinion of one idiot mullah can not be termed as Indian Muslim opinion.. Indian Muslims are joining the movement against corruption because corruption impacts life of all. Corruption and corrupt eats away all the booty that is intended for the upliftment of poors no matter what religion the person is following.

If they hear such BS today and not go out than they probably will loose the chance for better future.

And all this BS talk about "Vande Matram" chanting and all, we have heard it a lot and explained it a lot but still if some does not want to say it who's really forcing him. If you don't like it don't say it why make a big deal out of a non-issue?

Baaki Bukhaari sahab ko lagta hai chinta lag gayi hai ki ub Congress ke din zyada nahi reh gaye aur janab ki ub koshish hai ki kisi tarah communal sentiment failaya jaaye taaki NDA is ka benefit na utha le.. It's all politics that's going on.. He does not even slightly care about Muslim well being.. It's all about money, power and stupid talk..

Anti-Anna Hazare cleric cuts lonely figure:

TH-15-MOSQUE_GC8231_357811e.jpg

He sarcastically described Bukhari as a royal imam of a mosque that an emperor had built and implied that he did not reflect a common Muslim's view.

Fat cat? sitting in his palace telling people what they can do and can't do sums him up

This Gent has always suffered from ' foot - in - mouth ' disease.

Did any one ask him for his views ? Will what the masses want not be of help to him ?

No one carries any flag except the Indian Flag on all meetings, everyone wants to keep religion out of the movement.

The Congress made an attempt to sabotage -wont work.

Congress tried every dirty trick in the book but it all failed now what will they do?

That is the fundamental problem, just because there is a technical objection you're assuming there's anything objectionable about the goals of the movement.

I hope to see the same sparked in Pakistan and all folds of immunity in the case of the crime of corruption are removed. No matter who it is, should become answerable for corrupt practices.

Anna's Lokpal formula if applied to Pakistan's NAB can be a nation building move for us.

The issue here is one and one only. Use the right words.

Your insistence ke nahi, main toh hindu slogans hi maaroongi, is quite telling what cadre has taken over this movement.

@ Asim and other Pak. members. With these same slogans and tactics we achieved our independence and current position in the world. Regarding use of Words. WE have no problem if Muslims and other religious group(s) came out with their own slogans against Corruption. Neither Anna nor common man is forcing anyone to recite "Vande Matram". We just wants peaceful demonstration against corrution we call it "Ahinsa" u and ur brethern call it any thing. NEither Anna nor anyone is forcing ur brethern to come out for us. People Joined Anna. Anna will be there even if tommarrow everyone go to home.

This kind of mentality of urs shows typical muslim ego. May be thts the reason their is only blood, conspiracies all accross muslim world against the muslims, by the muslims even in ur holy month of ramdan.

U are saying tht u wants to see same kind of spark in ur country but here u and ur brethern are giving lecture to us regarding use of "Words". Do u think u are even eligible to say this to us. or we shd give damn to u.

GO GET LIFE.

Anti-Anna Hazare cleric cuts lonely figure

MUMBAI/NEW DELHI: Delhi's Jamia Masjid chief cleric Syed Ahmed Bukhari has drawn flak from community leaders for asking Muslims to stay away from Anna Hazare's movement.

Bukhari described Anna's slogans as "anti-Islam" and accused him of working at Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh and BJP's behest a day earlier.

All India Ulema Council general secretary Maulana Mehmood Daryabadi described Bukhari's appeal as his "personal view". He sarcastically described Bukhari as a royal imam of a mosque that an emperor had built and implied that he did not reflect a common Muslim's view.

Bukhari did not find many supporters even outside Delhi's Jama Masjid. Hawker Mohammad Irfan said he supports Anna wholeheartedly. "At least someone is standing up for the country," he said.

But another hawker Mohammad Rehman dismissed Anna's movement as a drama. "He wants BJP to rule."

In Mumbai, Muslim NGO representatives and clerics said they would take out a rally from Crawford Market to Azad Maidan on Tuesday. The Maharashtra Urdu Writer's Guild too condemned Bukhari for his "misleading statement."

It said Vande Matram and Bharat Mata Ki Jai slogans are ways of expressing love for the country. "Muslims may not worship the motherland but their love for it is second to none. Bukhari is needlessly communalizing the movement against corruption," said Guild president Salam Bin Razzak.

Anti-Anna Hazare cleric cuts lonely figure - The Times of India

Lol @ the usage of the word Hawker, but anyway, except for its conclusion it seems like there are people on both sides. Also as I said in good conscience Muslim can sing Vande Mataram. Other pro-India secular slogans can be fine.

In my opinion the BJP has communalized the issue by sticking to the Hindu slogans instead of pro-India slogans.

---------- Post added at 09:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:19 AM ----------

@ Asim and other Pak. members. With these same slogans and tactics we achieved our independence and current position in the world. Regarding use of Words. WE have no problem if Muslims and other religious group(s) came out with their own slogans against Corruption. Neither Anna nor common man is forcing anyone to recite "Vande Matram". We just wants peaceful demonstration against corrution we call it "Ahinsa" u and ur brethern call it any thing. NEither Anna nor anyone is forcing ur brethern to come out for us. People Joined Anna. Anna will be there even if tommarrow everyone go to home.

This kind of mentality of urs shows typical muslim ego. May be thts the reason their is only blood, conspiracies all accross muslim world against the muslims, by the muslims even in ur holy month of ramdan.

U are saying tht u wants to see same kind of spark in ur country but here u and ur brethern are giving lecture to us regarding use of "Words". Do u think u are even eligible to say this to us. or we shd give damn to u.

GO GET LIFE.

Yes because I can see the deceit and in the end all that will be achieved out of Hazare's antics is the congress party losing out in elections over BJP and BJP will also never allow the Lokpal's purview of its own institutions.

The reality is that if you guys were truly fighting against corruption, you would have switched slogans.

What a freedom of speech my India has given to all her citizens.... It can't happen in any part of the world where minorities can speak like this... I respect his views and am proud of India...