Breaking News: Peace agreement between Government of India and NSCN.

Unless Kaphlang and his cronies are wiped out, things won't change much.

Doval now needs to set the IM faction against the K faction. :agree: :azn:

Indian government has had a ceasefire agreement with Myanmarese Naga rebel leader S S Khaplang since 2001 which was broken very recently in early 2015.

In 2001 when the ceasefire was concluded the NSCN (K) had agreed not to assist any North-Eastern insurgent groups to set up base camps in Myanmar, but on-ground research reveals that in NSCN (K)-dominated areas of Myanmar such as Lahe, Leshi and Nanyun in Sagaing administrative region, the United Liberation Front of Asom-Paresh Barua faction and the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB (Songbijit faction)) set up camps to carry out attacks in Assam.

In fact, a study of the ceasefire from 2001 shows that there has been no let-up in NSCN (K)’s militant activities and active support to insurgent groups from India.

North-Eastern insurgent groups also have access to training and regrouping camps in Myanmar’s Naga Self-Administered Zone, where NSCN (K) has been granted autonomy by the Myanmar government. NSCN (K) cadres are allowed to remain fully armed in the three townships in the Zone, which is geographically contiguous to Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh.

There were massacres in the aftermath of the Shillong Accord in 1975 and when the NSCN was divided in 1988.

If the government is serious about bringing lasting peace in the North-East, the first step is to hold ceasefire signatory groups accountable to ceasefire ground rules.

It is better to be prepared and deter violence than be caught unawares and react.

I don't trust these bloody insurgents - they never follow the ceasefire agreements.

Nobody can trust those various Tribal groups. Hell.... they don't even trust each other. :D

But neutralising them will be a progressive and phased process. There are no quick fixes. Not even this one; though it is a big one.

Unless Kaphlang and his cronies are wiped out, things won't change much.

Doval now needs to set the IM faction against the K faction. ;)

That process is already on..... they hate each others guts..... and powers.

bhaya hamaray matters ap boltay hain wo bhi betuka hum nay to patay ki baat ki ha phir bhi
jana ji mera bhiyya wala kaan kharaab hai per aap aisa mante ho to apki marzi :D :sarcastic:

rahi baat apke matters me bolne ki to wo to hum tabhi bolte hain jab aapke honhaar aziz hamwatan bewajah hindustan ko beech me late hain apne her masle per apni incompetnce aur corruption chuppanne ko :haha:

Great achievement :tup:
Now we should conduct some strikes against Khaplang faction if they dont agree.

Indian government has had a ceasefire agreement with Myanmarese Naga rebel leader S S Khaplang since 2001 which was broken very recently in early 2015.

In 2001 when the ceasefire was concluded the NSCN (K) had agreed not to assist any North-Eastern insurgent groups to set up base camps in Myanmar, but on-ground research reveals that in NSCN (K)-dominated areas of Myanmar such as Lahe, Leshi and Nanyun in Sagaing administrative region, the United Liberation Front of Asom-Paresh Barua faction and the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB (Songbijit faction)) set up camps to carry out attacks in Assam.

In fact, a study of the ceasefire from 2001 shows that there has been no let-up in NSCN (K)’s militant activities and active support to insurgent groups from India.

North-Eastern insurgent groups also have access to training and regrouping camps in Myanmar’s Naga Self-Administered Zone, where NSCN (K) has been granted autonomy by the Myanmar government. NSCN (K) cadres are allowed to remain fully armed in the three townships in the Zone, which is geographically contiguous to Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh.

There were massacres in the aftermath of the Shillong Accord in 1975 and when the NSCN was divided in 1988.

If the government is serious about bringing lasting peace in the North-East, the first step is to hold ceasefire signatory groups accountable to ceasefire ground rules.

It is better to be prepared and deter violence than be caught unawares and react.

I don't trust these bloody insurgents - they never follow the ceasefire agreements.
The ceasefire with IM faction was maintained more or less consistently. Now that it is formalized into a treaty, it gives a legitimacy to GOI while taking punitive actions against other factions including K. A lot keeps happening on the border. Apparently we get to know very little, according to army sources(they were quoted during last month strike). We can assume there will be ruthless actions coming up, but silent this time, provided our simpleton ministers keep quite and wait for results.

So trusting them or not is only one angle. The legitimacy is key.

Its just to get temporary relief. Somebody else will form some other groups in few months.

NSCN-IM have a very self-contradictory ideology.

Mix of Maoism and Christianity.

The outfit aims to establish a ‘Greater Nagaland’ (‘Nagalim’ or the People’s Republic of Nagaland) based on Mao Tse Tung’s ideology. Its manifesto is based on the principle of Socialism for economic development and a spiritual outlook – ‘Nagaland for Christ’.

I'm quite confident that Myanmar will cooperate.

That they most likely will, what I was referring to was the ability of the Indian government to deal with Khaplang faction because there is not much that they can offer him & his group. Politically, only the NSCN(IM) can be accommodated not NSCN(K).

This is not a ceasefire agreement, it's a peace treaty. Big difference.

:D India following in Pakistani footsteps

Nope. India has been doing this for ages. What did you think happened in the NE for all these years? Many former militants went on to even become CM's.

:)))))))))))))))))))))) if India had been doing it for ages then why You Indians always blabbered that Pakistan is dealing with terrorists when we enter into such an accord ?

Difference was that we were dealing with regional insurgencies for which a political solution was possible. A similar solution could be found to the issue in Baluchistan but TTP was & is not an organisation which had limited regional goals.They would be similar to the Naxalites/Maoists. They are looking to overthrow the whole system. You can offer them amnesty but a political solution would be a joke.