Brace for two-front war, Indian Army told

how do you get 200 years?

i will tell you how...britishers first arrived in 1757...then there was the revolt of 1857..after which the queen took the company..and in 1947 we got independence...so 190 yrs.

Correct me if i am wrong..but i dont think so coz i never failed in history.. :)

The Pioneer > Online Edition : >> Brace for two front war Army told

Brace for two-front war, Army told

Rahul Datta | New Delhi

In an unprecedented move that has confirmed India’s concerns about China’s growing military might, the Government has for the first time given a directive in writing to the armed forces to enhance their military capabilities vis-a-vis the neighbouring country and prepare for a two-front war scenario with China and Pakistan.

Asking the armed forces to prepare themselves to fight simultaneous wars on the eastern and western fronts with China and Pakistan, Defence Minister AK Antony has directed the chiefs of Army, Navy and Air Force to rapidly modernise and upgrade their weapon systems and tone up operational preparedness.

The Services have been assured full support from the Government in this endeavour, sources said.

Explaining the significance of the directive, the sources maintained that it came against the backdrop of the armed forces’ apprehensions about the rapid modernisation programme of their Chinese counterparts. The directive will allow the armed forces to build capabilities to rapidly move troops from one theatre of war to the other by procuring more transport planes and improved rail and road network for ferrying weapons systems.

Modern warfare was all about speed, lethality and mobility and the directive would go a long way in helping the armed forces achieve this objective as soon as possible, the sources added.

The directive follows the Cabinet Committee on Security’s (CCS) nod to the Army to raise two more mountain divisions (each division has 10,000 troops) on the China front. With the focus on improving infrastructure, the Army was last year allowed to raise two mountain divisions. It means that in the next four or five years, it would have four divisions on the China front.

The Government has also removed the 10-year cap on recruitment and permitted the Army to go for fresh intakes. Coupled with this important development, the Government has cleared the proposal to acquire more than 200 Howitzer guns for these divisions through the foreign military sale route from the US.

“The Howitzer guns are light. These can be dismantled and carried on horseback or by helicopters to the remote and rugged terrain of Arunachal Pradesh and other such regions in Jammu & Kashmir where road infrastructure is non-existent,” sources said.

While the two-front war concept was in public domain and being discussed in seminars and TV debates, the political leadership had so far refrained from joining the debate. The recently-issued directive clearly indicates that the Government has finally heeded the concerns of the armed forces and given them unambiguous orders to go ahead and do the needful, sources said.

This decision would give the necessary momentum to the security establishment to improve the infrastructure, including all-weather roads right up to the Line of Actual Control (LAC) and airports and helipads in remote regions of States like Arunachal Pradesh. In fact, the armed forces are already engaged in upgrading nearly 25 airports in the North-East and the project is likely to be over within the next two years.

India and China have a 5,000-km-long disputed border and the Chinese have over the years rapidly improved their logistical lines by building roads right up to their side of the LAC. India is in a disadvantageous position as the terrain on its side is hilly and building roads there takes more time than in the plains, sources said, adding that the slopes on the Chinese side are gentler.

----

Peace..??

There is going to be NO WAR,ABSOLUTELY NO WAR against China.
China will commit suicide if it rages war against India,half of the Chinese goods are sold in India.And if a War strikes, do you think Indian govt.will allow the Chinese goods to flow in?
It will be the Chinese economy which will be affected severely through war.
You ll see, the result of the coming years will be "No WAR"

I can't tell it about Pakistan.
But India can handle Pakistan easily,no worries about that:oops:

two front war???

I think India is capable of taking on Americans, Russians and Chinese at the same time.

Or India can take on Romulans, Klingons and Borgs at the same time.
We don't need to take on amricans and russians---just the pakistanis and chinese and maybe some weirdos minor countries like you.

To read it correctly, Its not about aggressive posture of India against China or Pakistan. If suppose an all out war broke out between India and Pakistan and China comes in to help Pakistan with an aggression on the East, then the two-front war is eminent.

India needs to be prepared for this kind of scenario.

I do not think India will provoke China and Pakistan unless provoked like last time in Kargil.

The same time period that India required to gain independence from the foreigners. More than a 1000 years.
;)

:rofl::rofl:so finally u accepted that u guys are foreigners and not natual in habitants of the sub continent..So next tym we drive u away dont complain???

Moron..Pakistan got independence bcoz of the Hindus the one u claim 2 b zoinist ..and more over u ruled us for 1000 years??diktha to nahi hai yaar if u guys had the real quality of rulers then u ppl would not lead life like beggars...

Then for fcuks sake, dont tell us to move troops from our eastern front to fight in our tribal areas!

Accept it that you are a PIA of the entire region and 'like-and-try' to bully around despite the fact that you yourself live in a glass house.

:rofl::rofl:

1. What's ur problem??????

2. U guys always rant about India having Pakistan centric when something is proving that we are moving away from it, you cry loud.

Because of loosing ur distinction to hold a big nation like India on ransom.

3. For your kind info china is preparing religiously for a future war with India. Look at the rate of military buildup, infrastructure they are building near Indian borders.

4. We are preparing fto fight both so that when in case of war with pakistan, china can't surprise us or spoil our chances.

5. So no need to loose hope we are not gonna leave you like that.

Keep the posts as per the topic.

If India wants to prepare for 2 front war, let them, none of our business, they know well from whom they have threat and from whom not.

And we know from whom we have a threat and we will prepare for that, no one needs to tell us that.

Its their choice and we have our own choice.

So now keep the discussion as per the topic, discuss the issue, problems, consequences, rather then going for BS.

Anymore off topic, idiotic posts, and you guys would be out. Hope it is clear.

Hey howz my post supposed to be off topic???
I said that if India is talking about a two front war, it is also backing it up with

a) USD 100 BN in new weapons acquisitions
b) Six Nuke subs to be constructed
c) three Acrcraft carriers to be constructed
d) 1000+ new battle tanks
e) Almost 400+ New combat jets (IA- 200+ MRCA, 40 LCA, 40 New, Su 30s, Some 40 Mig 29K, not counting LCA Mk2, pak Fa etc. which are a bit speculative too far away)
f) New dedicaated satellites etc.

on a different note; PA is already busy on two fronts. this letter might mean learn from PA.

In my humble opinion Pakistan is in no danger from india till 2020. Only after that time IA will be in menacing position vis a vis Pakistan. Till then we have enough time to build Pak economy, defenses and diplomacy. and if we did not do that by then, That will be a bad scenario indeed.

Good going Moderators: ppl here need to be disciplined!

Fair enough Khan saab.

Now lets look at it from a realistic point of view. Can india sustain a war with 2 countries not at 2 fronts as per say but at many fronts.

china-map-location.gif

Now the indian border with China expands from Kashmir to Nepal, then between nepal and Bhutan, and then from Bhutan to Burma. Then the indian border with Pakistan is a huge one. It will be a logistical nightmare for the indian army to run across at multiple fronts with the opposition continuously bombing the supply lines.

Its the duty of any nations army to anticipate and to be prepared for any threats immediate or distant and that's what i think we r doing.Though war with china seems to be unlikely given the rapid growth rate of both economies.

Fair enough Khan saab.

Now lets look at it from a realistic point of view. Can india sustain a war with 2 countries not at 2 fronts as per say but at many fronts.

china-map-location.gif

Now the indian border with China expands from Kashmir to Nepal, then between nepal and Bhutan, and then from Bhutan to Burma. Then the indian border with Pakistan is a huge one. It will be a logistical nightmare for the indian army to run across at multiple fronts with the opposition continuously bombing the supply lines.

exactly...its isnt easy at all...whatever you said is absouloutely correct.and this is the reason why the India is upgrading its armed forces so rapidly...so that in case a war happens we can defend ourslves affectively...this is the reason why the new orders from the Govt. of preparing ourselves for multiple front wars (by two fronts they meant two enemies)....this order does not mean we are preparing to attack any one or going into a war.

Fair enough Khan saab.

china-map-location.gif

Not quite so. All the key confrontation points are being fortified with static formations, array of radars, artilleries, missile batteries.

The problems that india might face will also be faced by our enemy as they will have to deal with the logistics on their side too.

So, the cold start doctrine adapted by india deals exclusively with this. This doctrine envisages silencing the irritant within a limited time frame and then concentrating on the real enemy.