Begging in Beijing? Pakistan sacks state TV chief after broadcast gaffe

Champion_Usmani

ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - Pakistan has removed the acting chief of state-run television after a caption read “Begging” instead “Beijing” during a broadcast of Prime Minister Imran Khan’s visit to China, which has promised economic aid to the impoverished South Asian country.

Khan was in Beijing seeking financial aid to help end a spiraling balance of payments crisis after securing $6 billion in support from Saudi Arabia and before Pakistan sat down to talks with the IMF.

An official Ministry of Information order seen by Reuters said the ministry had withdrawn the services of Hasan Immad Mohammadi, who had served as acting managing director of Pakistan Television for just a matter of weeks.

PTV apologized after “Begging” ran on screens for 20-25 seconds on Monday while Khan was making a speech, kicking off a debate on social media as to whether the misspelling was deliberate.

Khan has criticized Pakistan’s many international bailouts and decried previous leaders as roaming the world with a begging bowl.

An information ministry spokesman said the misspelling had nothing to do with Mohammadi’s removal, saying it was a “routine affair”.

Finance Minister Asad Umar said on Tuesday that “Pakistan’s immediate balance of payment crisis is over”, adding that the combined Saudi support plus as-yet-unspecified aid promised by China had shored up foreign currency reserves.

Umar spoke a day before the arrival on Wednesday of an IMF team for a two-week visit to Islamabad to negotiate Pakistan’s request for a 13th IMF bailout since the 1980s.

He has previously said the country needs $12 billion in immediate relief.

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-...-tv-chief-after-broadcast-gaffe-idUSKCN1NC1Q7

@Maarkhoor @CIS-TRANS @Canuck786 @Jinn Baba @BATMAN @SmartGeek @volatile @Tameem @xyxmt @Proudpakistaniguy

Come on you brainless idiot...! you already posted a thread on this topic. Same news from different media houses deserves different thread? I am sick of your obsession. How far a person' hatred can go? I promise I will vote for NS in 2050 but for now, please let us have some peace.

I think this was a parting gift from Noon League appointed PTV officials.
Noon got the laughs , Indians got the laughs

job done
you can think what you want, you can say what you want, but the fact remains the same, at each and every failure/gaffe blaming PMLN or past govts is not going to work for very long, You (PTI) are in the govt now, act like it.... If something goes wrong you are responsible, your obedient fans or paid lot will always defend you, but the real vote bank, ordinary people and those who have invested a lot in you and want results from you are not fools, understand this...

get your act together..., past govts pe keechar uchalnay aur har achay kam chahay us may aap ka koi qasoor na ho, us ka credit lainay ki strategy achi zaroor ha but buhat dair tak chalnay wali nahi...

you can think what you want, you can say what you want, but the fact remains the same, at each and every failure/gaffe blaming PMLN or past govts is not going to work for very long, You (PTI) are in the govt now, act like it.... If something goes wrong you are responsible, your obedient fans or paid lot will always defend you, but the real vote bank, ordinary people and those who have invested a lot in you and want results from you are not fools, understand this...

get your act together..., past govts pe sara gand dalanay aur har achay kam chahay us may aap ka koi qasoor na ho, us ka credit lainay ki strategy achi zaroor ha but buhat dair tak chalnay wali nahi...
what more can be expected from you. You and ur kind destroyed whole economy of Pakistan. Hamza start blaming PTI just after 10 days of pti govt ruling. You think others are idiot who cant see or will say what u say because u having salary? U are not a country lover nor u care so keep posting what you paid for while nawaZ and maryam going to jail

get your act together..., past govts pe keechar uchalnay aur har achay kam chahay us may aap ka koi qasoor na ho, us ka credit lainay ki strategy achi zaroor ha but buhat dair tak chalnay wali nahi...

Merium aunty added 50 rupees in your account for your above comment. Good job

I am not PTI
I am not in government

s a fellow Pakistani, I must remind you that joining Indians to mock Pakistani state, its government and specially the army (which unfortunately has become a habit of some so called left wing and Noon League) is actually an own goal.
I dont mean to say it to you personally

You couldn't make this stuff up even if you tried :rofl:
Anyway, I feel bad if this was an honest mistake.

Merium aunty added 50 rupees in your account for your above comment. Good job
Maryam bibi has gone vicious and doesnt like veteran Noon leagers who have a softer view about Pakistan army.
her dedicated web cell that produces memes can be confused with Indian work for the amount of hatred they dish out at Pakistan army and the state.
that woman has no concept of taking any prisoners and has even hurt her uncle politically

Sacking him is not going to help. Just gave another dose of life to this news. This meme will stick with Imran .

Well, walad-uz-zina like him must be purged and flogged publicly.