Bajwa urges govt to expand tax base in order to break 'begging bowl'

Because our elected politicians are so corrupt, incompetent and worthless

Yes they are but tell me how much they are saint. And please leave this bullshit. Let them to work. They will perform otherwise system will flush them out like PPPP.
Army ka kaam ik chokidaar ka hai woh hi karai

PMLN is the puppet of establishment has always been

PMLN policies of quashing other political parties like MQM, PPP and politicians of balochistan and enacting anti terror laws, NAP, enacting anti terror courts has led to army interfering in civil governance

when ever PMLN comes to power, the establishment comes to power

one cannot also simply trust establishment that in the garb of zarb e azb operation, karachi operation, falan dhanka operations, it doesnt try to overtake the governance in pakistan, more thn half of country karachi, balochistan, FATA are under army rule effectively where civilians are only puppets of establishment.

all these operations are because civilians failed and this was big opportunity for establishment to take the lead and take over

all operations have failed including zarb e azb, karachi ops, terrorists are free and being included in politics but establishment has effectively taken control of civilian rule

its about time, nawaz flees to jaddah or london like last time
That doesn’t take away from the fact that MQM & PPP have been playing dirty turf wars in Karachi, ruining the potential of the city and its population

The army should look into it's own matters and curb corruption within the institution.
The establishment is paving way for civil war by making contradictory statements during this period of civil military tensions. The economy is failing because the stupid 11 people sitting in the GHQ don't get along with NS. What would have happened if NS stayed in the office for another 9 months till election? What have we achieved so far by ousting him from the office?
they wanted to show who is the boss

Better catch big fishes rather than smaller ones like Dr Asim and Capt safder
I think army has enough evidance proof to catch zardari to Sharif neck and crock
wo to sab thek hai lakin us awam ka kia ho ja jin ka shair aik vari fir aa jaye ga aur bhutto phr zinda ho jaye ga.. we have pathetic mentally slave people.. unless we get a new educated generation or we change our election system limiting it only for educated people.. only then things can change... before that u c an't catch zardari or Sharif...

mashallah, COAS didnt even bother to mention anything about corruption,,,,which is eating like a cancer to pakistan,,, hes talking about badhazmi after eating all the loans the govt took.. and woooah the chinies slavery time is comming
Maybe we should look at this differently. Taxation is an issue of fiscal space. Corruption is an issue of siphoning off some of the resources/taxation. So these issues are not ones to be tackled serially. They have to be tackled simultaneously. I can state, without a shadow of doubt, that even if pilfer from the tax kitty is around 30-40%, it still isn't a case for pause or not paying till corruption is handled. Corruption will go on unless there is absolute transparency. As such taxation has to increase at the same time as corruption is tackled.

Seriously wtf did we achieve by this dick measuring contest between the politicians and the army. Its obvious the army won , everyone knows army holds the power. But these things will have dire consequences and we are already seeing the aftershocks. 1. Economy is failing
2. Security situtaion in balochistan is deteriorating irrespective of what the army tell us because they always lie.
3. Remittances are drying out
4. Foreign investment is decreasing
5. Ik is going nuts again with dharna bullshit when the stock exchange is crashing.
6. The army chief who is no one to comment on economy is indirectly hitting at the government. People who say it was a seminar that is why he spoke of economy, should undertsand that the chief should refrain from these kind of statements when instability is at its peak and politicians are trying to stir shit up.
6. Political instability is a real reality and civil war is a reality too.
The army and the politicians have to sit down and sort out their shit. Pakistan is before corruption. In all this power struggle and stupid corruption claims we may not have a country in the future. Everyone has their own agenda wether it is the army or polictians but they need to calm the fook down and do their own work.

Relax. As long as the Army holds power, nothing will happen to Pakistan. That is a good thing. However, it also means that nothing else will change, either.

The only reason chief commented on economy was caz seminar was on economy... u guys do realise that?

Pakistan should be collecting double the amount of tax than collected this year... no doubt about it.. but govt has already doubted tax collection since 13

Maybe we should look at this differently. Taxation is an issue of fiscal space. Corruption is an issue of siphoning off some of the resources/taxation. So these issues are not ones to be tackled serially. They have to be tackled simultaneously. I can state, without a shadow of doubt, that even if pilfer from the tax kitty is around 30-40%, it still isn't a case for pause or not paying till corruption is handled. Corruption will go on unless there is absolute transparency. As such taxation has to increase at the same time as corruption is tackled.

So was the Army ever able to tackle corruption during long periods of Martial Law, or not? If not, for whatever reasons, how can we expect the politicians to be able to do it either?

tax run economy will never be business friendly and always discourage foreign investment industrial growth and employment generation .it is only short term benefit but for long term we should provide tax rebates to attract foreign investment and industrial growth.these generals have no knowledge of economy and they only look on achieving short term goals which are damaging for nation in long run.zia and musharaf are examples

Thats not correct, in Australia all business have a fixed 30% tax rate, and the tax rate on individuals can go upto 47% plus a medicare levy of 2% (for people that don't have private health insurance). I am sure the tax rate in US and UK would be similar and business prefer these countries.

For businesses to prosper, you need to provide them with a few things.

1. Resources which includes skilled labour and uninterupted energy supplies.
2. Proper infrastructure which includes physical structures as buildings and airports/shipyards but also service based infrastructure like banks, hotels and communication (mobile/internet)
3. Easy of doing business meaning no unnecessary red tape and corruption
4. Security

Having low taxes is a bonus but not a guarantee for attracting businesses.

Thats not correct, in Australia all business have a fixed 30% tax rate, and the tax rate on individuals can go upto 47% plus a medicare levy of 2% (for people that don't have private health insurance). I am sure the tax rate in US and UK would be similar and business prefer these countries.

For businesses to prosper, you need to provide them with a few things.

1. Resources which includes skilled labour and uninterupted energy supplies.
2. Proper infrastructure which includes physical structures as buildings and airports/shipyards but also service based infrastructure like banks, hotels and communication (mobile/internet)
3. Easy of doing business meaning no unnecessary red tape and corruption
4. Security

Having low taxes is a bonus but not a guarantee for attracting businesses.
the high tax rate in the underdeveloped country like Pakistan will not benefit .the countries you mentioned are developed and have industrial structure available and high employment rate than ours .first we should reach that level then compare tax rate with them.in initial phase of their development these countries have given tax rebates to attract investment.after industry become profitable enough to bear high tax then they increase taxes.one reason of industrial shift from u.s and europe to china is high tax in these countyries that is why trump has recently made high reduction in corporate tax

Well you just indirectly accepted that what i said was correct. Pakistan income tax rates are still quite marginal but the reality is that you can make Pakistan a tax haven but that will still not bring you businesses, because of all the things i mentioned in my previous post. The most you will get is fraudulent companies that are used hide wealth just like Cayman islands and Panama.

So if you want a thriving economy, you need to provide the main things that i mentioned previously and i will list them again below

1. Educated and Skilled Labour force
2. Proper Infrastructure which include physical and service based.
3. Ease of Business and removal of Red Tapes.
4. Security.

I will add another thing here that also has an impact on the decision of a business choosing which country to invest in, and that is "Image". Other countries spend alot on trying to improve their image so as to attract business to invest there. Why would anyone want to invest in a country that all you hear about is negative things. This is where Korea and Singapore have done splendidly.