Asad Umar Exclusive Interview with PTI Social Media Team

Rofl this pathetic loser Asad Umar is now using PTI social media and its govt. channel to reply. Whatta moron!!! This joker infuses more confusion and instability than anyone. This beggar has already taken the easy option, his party never had the guts to do structural reforms and put house in order. Now the IMF director will call the shots and this ch***** will only be a rubber stamp. The poor will suffer. Already everything is more expensive. The inflation is likely to hit 14% and go overboard. Like Shaukat Tareen he will exit the govt. within 1 year after screwing Imran Khan and PTI forever. He has sold the country and now we all will bear the consequences. This govt. would be out of breath once the food inflation jumps and people start protesting.

Hold on. Do you even know the power of social media? Today PTI is in power only because of social media and we the supporters of PTI who’ve been fighting for PTI absolutely deserve to know each and everything they are about to do. And yes that too through the social media.
And to add to your views on Asad Umar, would you like to shed the light on all the achievements of Ishaq Dar? PML-N enjoyed the power for like 30 years and what they have done for Pakistan? 30 years and we are still asking IMF for the loans?
The record is online so please take few minutes out and do give it a look & then tell me where’d all this money given by IMF has gone?
London apartments?
Just couple more years to go and all of you would be crying because PMLn is going to be history after not all but most of the promised would be fulfilled.

Pakistan Zindabad. :pakistan:

When you have finished with personal attacks could you please tell us more about the Malaysian model?

PTI have not offered me any plot of government role, so I am genuinely interested in learning about alternatives. You are the only person who's mentioned one, everyone else has just been angry.[/QU
I think it can work but malaysia had a semi dictator govt whose leader was honest
There's no doubt that, it's because of our ruling class we went to imf in the past, but to say that imf stabilized our economy is ignorance.

https://fp.brecorder.com/2018/07/20180727394052/

IMF again, what for?

The issue in Pakistan is not that of lack of revenue resources as wrongly portrayed by IMF and World Bank, but documentation of economy-ending the culture of tax evasion and fiscal frauds. The forces representing bazaar [different associations of traders], unscrupulous industrialists, absentee landlords and corrupt civil-military bureaucrats are the impediments. These segments are not ready to pay personal taxes on their colossal wealth and income-in most cases created from undeclared sources.

The prescriptions given by the IMF and/or World Bank will not solve our problems rather further compound them. The rich and mighty segments, identified above, will pass on the burden of sales tax and withholding taxes on the less-privileged and will avoid personal taxation. In 1990s, the IMF and World Bank caused a crushing death blow to our industry when on their advice we introduced exorbitant sales tax rate of 21 per cent-within a short span of 2 years we had hundreds of sick industrial units. Later on, the rate was reduced to 18%, then 15% -again raised to 16% in 2009 and then to 17%- but the fact remains that heavy indirect taxation has pushed 60 million Pakistanis below the poverty line. We have been warning about the devastating effects of high indirect taxation and excessive burden of withholding taxes. Yet the IMF and the government insisted on these even on low income levels and the result is now before us, there is decrease in voluntary tax compliance as evident from increase in withholding tax regime.

The successive governments have been emphasising the importance of increasing tax revenues, mainly on the dictates of the IMF, but flawed and irrational tax policy has destroyed our economy. In Pakistan, the financial system is for the rich or to lend money to the government, thus, small-and medium-size enterprises (SMEs) do not get credit for growth. In such circumstances, demanding the businesses to pay huge taxes in advance through various withholding provisions, ahead of time, before they even know what their income is going to be, is a sure recipe for economic disaster and this is what is going to be prescribed by the IMF, if the new government decides to go for yet another bailout. What is the alternate?

Pakistan’s IMF Problem
Jul 31, 2018 NADEEM UL HAQUE
In exchange for bailouts over the past three decades, Pakistani governments have repeatedly agreed to draconian spending cuts and arbitrary taxes in pursuit of fiscal targets. As a result, the country's economy is as weak as ever, and its state capacity has been hollowed out.

ISLAMABAD – After Pakistan’s recent election, Imran Khan and his Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party are now forming a new government. As usual, it will be greeted by an economic crisis. A trip, cap in hand, to the International Monetary Fund seems inevitable.

Pakistan, after all, is an IMF addict. The country has already spent 22 of the past 30 years in a dozen different IMFbailout programs. As the former IMF advisers Ehtisham Ahmad and Azizali Mohammed explained in a 2012 working paper for the Asia Research Center, no American, IMF, or Pakistani official has any incentive to reform Pakistan’s structural economic problems, and so the cycle of bailouts continues.

Unfortunately, few in Pakistan have ever read Ahmad and Mohammed’s paper or debated its significance. If they had, they would know that the IMF’s approach to the country has been a failure. For decades, IMF programs have been undercutting Pakistan’s productivity and growth potential, by eroding governance and state capacity, and creating conditions for ever more rent-seeking and corruption.

Successive IMF programs have required that Pakistan adopt more withholding taxes (never to be refunded), surcharges, and levies on essential goods such as oil and electricity, even though these measures hurt employment and investment growth. And when the government misses its fiscal targets, the Fund and Pakistan’s finance ministry agree on quarterly mini-budgets, which often include new taxes on school fees, bank transactions, Internet access, and so forth.
IMF will ask you to collect tax..its upto whther you want to tax the rich or tax thw poor and industry because IMF is afterall a loan shark who wants it money back no matter what...so whay do political parties decide ..tax the industry and poor via sales tax...

Noone forces Pakistan to go to IMF. we go there to avoid default ..default will mean Pakistan rupee and assets will loose all its value

I here it all the time..IMF is bad...okay can you please list an alternative that is not defaulting

No bank is going to lend money if you are at verge of defualt..this is why we should hold accountable any govt that doesnt allow state bank independence ...had state bank been allowed to do corrective measures none of this would have happened

@ziaulislam

Just shut up and keep ur facts to urself and don't reply to me I don't need to talk to foreign agent. Pakistanis have lived thru IMF programs and the amount of suffering it has caused. This govt., has stabbed them in the back and also suffer the consequences. If u really want to get into argument with me send me your address. I'd love to translate the pain the middle class Pakistani goes thru on you at the end of the meeting you will understand the feeling.
You're a crying little boy. Who can talk all the shit he wants behind a computer but will piss his pants if put face to face. Come to Jersey City boy.

Truth is IMF is a bad trap...Asad Umar’s lack of homework and in depth analysis has taken a suicidal route for Pakistanis.

Alao terribly the culture of tax evasion and fiscal frauds. The forces representing bazaar [different associations of traders], unscrupulous industrialists, absentee landlords and corrupt civil-military bureaucrats are the impediments.

These segments are not ready to pay personal taxes on their colossal wealth and income-in most cases created from undeclared sources.

I think it can work but malaysia had a semi dictator govt whose leader was honest

IMF will ask you to collect tax..its upto whther you want to tax the rich or tax thw poor and industry because IMF is afterall a loan shark who wants it money back no matter what...so whay do political parties decide ..tax the industry and poor via sales tax...

Noone forces Pakistan to go to IMF. we go there to avoid default ..default will mean Pakistan rupee and assets will loose all its value

I here it all the time..IMF is bad...okay can you please list an alternative that is not defaulting

No bank is going to lend money if you are at verge of defualt..this is why we should hold accountable any govt that doesnt allow state bank independence ...had state bank been allowed to do corrective measures none of this would have happened

You belong to Asad Umar group, so obviously imf isn't a bad thing for you.

Regarding alternatives,
I have posted articles of experts in economics/taxes, there's no need to post the same articles again and again.

Only a revolutionary can fix Pakistan's problems, Imran Khan ain't a revolutionary, he wants to solve issues remaining within the system; good luck khan sahab.

You're a crying little boy. Who can talk all the shit he wants behind a computer but will piss his pants if put face to face. Come to Jersey City boy.

Rofl would gladly come and shove the IMF rod into wherever u like. '
Or u can come and see how we spread your legs apart.
This also sheds light to Pakistani American har**mkhor population that is cheerleading US pressure tools into Pakistan and then calls itself as Pakistani.

This idiot Finance Minister was banking on the same community as well

This is why PM Imran Khan is being called Donkey King as he believes the US_based munafiq population has good intentions towards Pakistan. This population has more or less assimilated with their second generation girls marrying into white american and hindu american families with ties to RSS. They also dislike PAkistani society and have their own agendas to change the religion and culture of Pakistan. Theye have been motivated by Pakistani media agents unsder US payroll and have been heavily funding anti-Islam and state forces here like the NGOs. Was surprised to know how that 'reformer' Jibran Nasir who wishes to transform Pakistan into an atheist state [or secular state] is beign funded from spate of US-based munafiq populations. Similar experiment done on Indian Muslims to distance them from their religious sections to discourage community building has been employed here as well.

again just talk ..no facts no figures or any anayalsis

Hahahah Looks like this US agent chacha is prescription drugs addict, what are the facts and figures of how you were born and wandered into US?

Yeah..remeber you and your brothers use to call Mr Jinnah a addict too...
You can go screw yourself

No media wing of PTI could save him. He was kicked out and was alone sitting in the press conference while saying ghabrana nahi hai.