Anna movement a World Bank agenda: Arundhati

she just need attention poor gal! i pity her..
why dn't we give her to pakistan.
as a welcome gesture
hehe

Tharoor blasts ‘unelected Anna’ pressurising Parl

New Delhi: Firing a salvo at Anna Hazare, former Union Minister Shashi Tharoor has said how can a person "who never stood for elections" claim to be the voice of the people.

Asserting that laws can be made only by Parliament, Tharoor, who is a first time MP from Kerala, said, "We cannot have a small group of unelected people imposing their will on Parliament because in the long term the danger will be to you the people....

"I do not believe that we can conduct democracy either from Ramlila Ground or from television studio. Democracy must be conducted through both Houses of Parliament."

The Congress MP said there are more than 500 MPs and thousands of people's representatives in state assembles who have gone out to seek votes of people and have to preserve the support they have got.

"If such people cannot claim to represent the people of India, but somebody else, who never stood for elections but has lot of television cameras cameras around him and a few thousand people in a Maidan.... Will he be the voice of the people? Is that democracy?" he said addressing a gathering at Jawaharlal Nehru University here last night.

While stating that arresting Hazare was a "mistake" and that no government can disagree with the cause of the Gandhian, Tharoor stressed that the "question is the means".

"Saying that I will starve to death thereby potentially unleashing disruption violence and anarchy in the country unless you pass a bill which says exactly what I see it should say. Is that democracy? That is the question we have to ask," Tharoor said during a question-answer session with students there.

Noting that the country has a constitutional system that has kept it together for 64 years and in which people can tell their representatives about the issues, Tharoor said, "If these representatives do not pass the laws you want or pass the law you do not want, vote them out an get other representatives."

At the outset, he said that nobody can be opposed to one's right to protest or fast or the idea of Lokpal for which Hazare stood.

"I think it was a mistake to arrest Anna Hazare," he said.

The lawmaker, however, wondered what is the guarantee that Lokpal will "magically" be something different from other agencies, which were created to fight corruption.

He at the same time made it clear he admired Hazare, who has "lot of good qualities" and an "exemplary record of service to the country".

"I am certainly not one of those to suggest that he is anything but a man of great integrity," Tharoor said.

---------- Post added at 05:59 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:57 PM ----------

Firing a salvo at Anna Hazare, former Union Minister Shashi Tharoor has said how can a person "who never stood for elections" claim to be the voice of the people.

Arsehole like this who are busy in old age marriage and purchasing ipl teams questioning voice of people:angry:

Indian corruption is so rotten to the core I actually wonder whether any ombudsman will be able to wipe out that scourge. It is shameful to read about tourists who are detained in Tamil Nadu on trumped up charges of operating a brothel and arresting police officers who arrogantly write back to the tourist's lawyer demanding 5 lakh bribes or else he will be held without bail on the Goondas Act. India has become a sespit of corruption. Bribes and graft has become a norm for a lowly official right up to the leader of the governing party. India needs to consider an alternative form of government. As an Indian it saddens me to say this but India has failed democracy. It took a man like Hazare 64 years after freedom to emerge but unfortunately it may be too late. The mindset of the average Indian official is simply one of believing that his or her job is a hobby and the perks are the graft and extortion benefits. The Indian public if they are genuine about removing corruption should remove the current form of democracy and install a government similar to China's where corrupt or pillaging officials are shot after a short but quick trial. Or else all dreams which India has of becoming a roleplayer in international trade and industry will remain pipe dreams. When it comes to corruption and graft India is the laughing stock of the world. Sadly the real losers are the losers who vote in the losers to parliament and who allow the loser government officials to run amok with their looting of state coffers, extortion and racketeering. International perception of India is that it is a corrupt demented society where you will be ripped off from the time you step into one of its landing airports to the time you get into a taxi to the time you shop in one of its stores to the time a police officer pulls you over and asks to inspect your papers. In the 70's when India was a dustbin without much hope of progress, the international community accepted this sort of conduct as being the "Indian way of doing things". Now in the 21st century if India wants to be ranked as a respected trading partner it better start clearing up its house and its way of thinking or else it will relegate itself back to that perception of being a cow dung littered country full of crooks and thieves. "Shining India' is nowhere near even being clean whilst its people sit back and think that appointing an Ombudsman to monitor officials will sort out the corruption issues. Those issues can only be resolved when Indians in masses start forming committees at grass root levels to make their officials accountable.

I don't think you guys have a monopoly of corruption on politicos. I think both of our countries suffer from the same disease.
Your philosophy sound like a good idea and perhaps would work.
Alternatively i have an idea. Both countries hold a national competition similar to X factor (but we call it "pr*ck Factor) and see who the biggest corrupted politicians are. When we get to the final 10 we shoot the lot....(BTW im joking)...

I don't think you guys have a monopoly of corruption on politicos. I think both of our countries suffer from the same disease.
Alternatively i have an idea. Both countries hold a national competition similar to X factor (but we call it "pr*ck Factor) and see who the biggest corrupted politicians are. When we get to the final 10 we shoot the lot....(BTW im joking)...

No mate the shooting idea is the best you have come up with.

The sad part is that you and I live in more progressive societies away from our homeland where we are told that corruption destroys the decency of society and that the poor and the indigent in a country are the ones who really suffer from corruption and maladministration. I can't understand why the masses back home persist in worshipping the crooks and the thieves who are supposed to serve them. I guess that the slave mentality of being colonial slaves will take forever to be erased from our peoples' minds. Nations like China which is ruled by one lion rather than a hundred rats may perhaps be the correct solution for Asian nations where the masses don't have the backbone to stand up to heavy handed officials with deep pockets

Sometimes she is communist,sometimes she is just a socialist,sometimes she is pro-democratic,no common pattern there.One common pattern is she is always against the general consensus.Another common pattern is she is an attention seeker.And ohh..yes.. totally confused about what she should do,as well.

Sometimes she is communist,sometimes she is just a socialist,sometimes she is pro-democratic,no common pattern there.One common pattern is she is always against the general consensus.Another common pattern is she is an attention seeker.

But at least she makes her voice heard. Whether it is an unpopular remark about the right of Kashmiris to self governance or an unpopular remark about maoists being justified due to land abuse of peasants or an unpopular remark about an Ombuds being inefficient and just a blue paper copy of the World Bank, this woman stands up and talks her mind. If she represented the average Indian then Indian politicians and officials would not hold the iron grip which they have over the nation

The sad part is that you and I live in more progressive societies away from our homeland where we are told that corruption destroys the decency of society and that the poor and the indigent in a country are the ones who really suffer from corruption and maladministration. I can't understand why the masses back home persist in worshipping the crooks and the thieves who are supposed to serve them. I guess that the slave mentality of being colonial slaves will take forever to be erased from our peoples' minds. Nations like China which is ruled by one lion rather than a hundred rats may perhaps be the correct solution for Asian nations where the masses don't have the backbone to stand up to heavy handed officials with deep pockets

Mate look at our country. They used to call that pri**k Zardari mr 10% coz he used steal 10% of any deal anywhere then it went up to 20%. Then he murdered his own wife (supposedly) and is notorious to be a stinky retard and what do we do? Make him our leader? Whats going on their?? They voted him in!! God damn it how embarrassing! Everyone one know the USA paying him to keeps things smooth. Makes me so annoyed!! Why do the mass populaces do it?

Most of our people will most probably get upset with my remarking so but the answer to your question is simply that our people are a bunch of slaves who moved on from being slaves of the British Raj to slaves of their own appointed masters. Our people get duped by these big babbus who claim that they are protecting us from Pakistan, India, America, Russia, Muslims, Hindus, Christians, cats, dogs, rats, rabbits etc. Find a cause which will get you one or two villages to support you and you will become a king in your country no matter how stupid or ridiculous the cause is. Take Hazare for example. His cause was simply that politicians and officials are appointed in a democracy to serve the people. It took 1,2 billion people 64 years to realise that in what is supposed to be the world's largest democracy ! How much more stupid people can you get in one land area !

But at least she makes her voice heard. Whether it is an unpopular remark about the right of Kashmiris to self governance or an unpopular remark about maoists being justified due to land abuse of peasants or an unpopular remark about an Ombuds being inefficient and just a blue paper copy of the World Bank, this woman stands up and talks her mind. If she represented the average Indian then Indian politicians and officials would not hold the iron grip which they have over the nation

She is not making her voice heard,its the media which is doing the job.
As I said in my previous post,she always speaks exactly opposite to the general consensus.Being a Booker prize winner,she has the stamp of an intellectual.So,the media quotes her,in order to make some stories that sell like hot cake.
It is not that the media is at fault though.Its just their job.But,making hot stories and providing publicity to this demented lady is a little excess in my opinion.

She is not making her voice heard,its the media which is doing the job.
As I said in my previous post,she always speaks exactly opposite to the general consensus.Being a Booker prize winner,she has the stamp of an intellectual.So,the media quotes her,in order to make some stories that sell like hot cake.
It is not that the media is at fault though.Its just their job.But,making hot stories and providing publicity to this demented lady is a little excess in my opinion.

And that yaar is my disgust with Indian and Sth - Asian societies. General consensus. General consensus in our society is this laid back attitude where people believe that it simply is "not my problem". Move away from general consensus and start talking your mind in society to change society, even if your view is unpopular. Just like this lady