American attack aftermath: Pakistan declares attack a 'plot'

[
What should ISPR release.

It is an established fact that meetings took place there, although not of the top level, but meetings between local CO's and officers did take place.

I am not speculating anything.

And the post was not new. Again, an established fact. And it was a Company HeadQuarter, and the company was instrumental to flushing the terrorists out of that area.[/QUOTE]

You have implied NATO officers met PA officers at this post. Anybody with any knowledge of the Army knows all such meetings are recorded and minutes forwarded to higher formations. I doubt the ISPR will be so quiet if your facts are right.

Imran condemns Nato attack on Pakistani checkpost
Submitted 19 mins ago

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has strongly condemned the Nato airstrike on a military checkpost in Mohmand Agency and said that the attack was not carried out by Pakistan’s enemies instead it was launched by its ally. He was addressing a public gathering in Shujabad. Khan said that the so-called war against terror was launched by a man who was greedy of dollars. He added that the war unleashed suicide blasts and act of terrorism in Pakistan. “I have told seven years ago that the war on terror does not belong to Pakistan,” he said and added there was no military solution to the militancy. “Now the time has come for government to withdraw from the war,” the cricketer-turned politician said.

[
What should ISPR release.

It is an established fact that meetings took place there, although not of the top level, but meetings between local CO's and officers did take place.

I am not speculating anything.

And the post was not new. Again, an established fact. And it was a Company HeadQuarter, and the company was instrumental to flushing the terrorists out of that area.

You have implied NATO officers met PA officers at this post. Anybody with any knowledge of the Army knows all such meetings are recorded and minutes forwarded to higher formations. I doubt the ISPR will be so quiet if your facts are right.[/QUOTE]

What are you saying? No meetings took place until the ISPR says that it happened?

Pakistan: NATO Attack Killed 24 Soldiers​

A predawn attack by North Atlantic Treaty Organization forces Saturday killed at least 24 Pakistani soldiers and injured 13 others, the Pakistani military said, adding further stress to the U.S.'s troubled relationship with Pakistan and complicating efforts to push forward peace talks with the Taliban.

Pakistan's army reacted angrily, calling the "unprovoked" raid on two Pakistani border posts an "irresponsible act." The army said NATO helicopters and fighter aircraft, under the cover of darkness, had bombed the posts in Mohmand tribal region, a lawless border area that which abuts Afghanistan's eastern Kunar province.

"Pakistan's sovereignty was attacked early this morning," said Pakistani Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani. "This is our Pakistan and we have to defend it."

In retaliation, Pakistan's security forces began to turn back scores of Pakistani-owned trucks that carry NATO supplies into Afghanistan.

The U.S.-led coalition in Afghanistan said it was looking into the latest Pakistani claim. The incident took place hours after Gen. John R. Allen, the coalition commander, met with government officials and army officers in Pakistan to discuss border issues.

"This incident has my highest personal attention and my commitment to thoroughly investigate it to determine the facts," said Gen. Allen. "My most sincere and personal heartfelt condolences go out to the families and loved ones of any members of Pakistan Security Forces who may have been killed or injured."

The U.S. claims Pakistan, while waging a three-year-old war against militants in the tribal regions, has continued to shelter some factions of the Taliban as a way to maintain influence inside Afghanistan after most international troops leave in 2014. U.S. military officials say NATO troops have repeatedly come under attack from Taliban forces based over the border and have urged Pakistan to do more about militants in its tribal regions.

But President Barack Obama's administration is also nudging Pakistan to use its influence over the Taliban, which Pakistan's military helped create in the 1990s, to bring them to the negotiating table to end the 10-year war in Afghanistan. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton brought this dual message to Pakistan during a visit to Islamabad, the capital, in October, asking for stepped-up military action on Pakistan's side of the border but promising to keep Pakistan fully abreast of developments in Afghanistan, including nascent peace talks.

Pakistan's army chief, Gen. Ashfaq Parvez Kayani, faced with growing anti-U.S. sentiment, deepened by incidents like the one on Saturday, faces limited room to accede to any U.S. demands at the moment, said Talat Masood, a retired general and defense analyst.

"Those who have been more moderate, even those people are asking is it worth having a relationship with the U.S.," Mr. Masood said. "It will be very difficult for Gen. Kayani to defend the alliance."

Mr. Masood said he had taped a television chat show Saturday after the attack on the border posts during which he was the only participant arguing the U.S. wouldn't have targeted Pakistani soldiers in Mohmand as a deliberate act of aggression.

Western diplomats in Kabul, the capital of Afghanistan, said Saturday the raid is likely to hurt efforts to get Pakistan to play a significant role in forging peace talks, which are expected to take center stage at an international conference on Afghanistan to be held in Bonn, Germany, next month.

U.S. and Afghan officials say Pakistan continues to hold sway over the Taliban group controlled by Mullah Mohammed Omar, believed to be based in the western Pakistani city of Quetta, and the Haqqani faction, which shelters in North Waziristan, a Pakistani tribal region on the Afghan border. Pakistan denies this and blames the U.S.'s war in Afghanistan for sparking a war on its side of the border in which more than 3,000 Pakistani soldiers have died.

Few observers, though, expect a complete breakdown in relations. Pakistan might close its borders for a few days, temporarily hurting NATO's supply chain, but the country will continue to rely on billions of dollars in military and civilian aid from the U.S. Washington, likewise, needs Pakistan to keep up pressure on Taliban militants in the tribal region, and as a supply route, as it tries to work out an exit strategy from Afghanistan.

"This is a need-based relationship. It will have its temporary hiccup, probably in the form of the suspension of NATO cargo," said Imtiaz Gul, director of the Center for Research and Security Studies, an Islamabad-based think-tank.

In September 2010, a NATO helicopter attack on a Pakistani border post in the tribal regions killed two soldiers. Pakistan closed traffic for NATO convoys for a few days but later reopened the route. The U.S., wary of its part-time ally, begun moving more supplies for Afghanistan through Central Asia. The Pakistan land route, from the port city of Karachi across country to two major borders with Afghanistan, still accounts for roughly half of NATO supplies coming in to Afghanistan.

Since that incident, which blew over, the U.S.-Pakistan relationship has deteriorated. Pakistan' army was embarrassed and angered by the covert raid by U.S. Navy SEALs in May that killed Osama bin Laden in a Pakistani army garrison town. That came after a Central Intelligence Agency contractor shot dead two armed men in Lahore in January and was briefly jailed.

Just last week, Pakistan's ambassador to the U.S. was forced to resign amid allegations he had sought Washington's help to reduce the power of Pakistan's army, which plays a large role in domestic politics.

Pakistan's army, in response to growing anti-U.S. feeling, has began to more forcibly challenge the U.S. in public, including attacking Washington's policy of stepped-up unmanned drone strikes against Taliban targets in the tribal regions.

Pakistan: NATO Attack Killed 24 Soldiers - WSJ.com

The figure has reached 28 now.

bhai sahab, the soldeirs were sleeping, when they were killed
Bhai sahib, in the case of 'US/Western mistakes/atrocities' the 'facts must be clearly established first', but of course when it comes to unsubstantiated allegations against Pakistan, no one gives a hoot about 'establishing facts'.

You have implied NATO officers met PA officers at this post. Anybody with any knowledge of the Army knows all such meetings are recorded and minutes forwarded to higher formations. I doubt the ISPR will be so quiet if your facts are right.

What are you saying? No meetings took place until the ISPR says that it happened? And I have knowledge of the army my friend.

Meetings are recorded, and they are documented.

Imran asks rulers to end alliance in ‘war on terror’

ISLAMABAD: Pakista Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) Chief Imran Khan on Saturday strongly condemned the unprovoked Nato attack on Salala Check Post in the Momand Agency and called upon civilian leadership to immediately withdraw from its alliance from US-led war against terrorism.

While terming the attack as an insane and immoral brutality, Khan said such attacks reflected the hollowness and counter-productivity of Pakistan’s involvement in the aimless ‘war on terror’ that had been unleashed to subdue the proud people of the region.

The PTI chief was speaking to a public gathering in Shujaabad.

He said Pakistan had already sacrificed 40,000 people and an equal number of people had been maimed and become handicapped. Pakistan had also incurred a loss of over $75 billion in the bargain, yet it was being incessantly targeted by the forces of its so-called ‘ally’, he added.

The PTI chief said that the government had failed to safeguard Pakistan’s security and strategic interests because of the compromises it had made under the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) with foreign forces to come to power in the country.

He said government did not have the moral stature to stand up for defending Pakistan’s strategic interests and should, therefore, quit immediately.

Imran Khan said that Pakistan’s involvement in the war had radicalised its society and was also breeding anti-Americanism.

“Time has come for the government to pull out of this inhuman conflict and initiate a purposeful dialogue to bring peace to the country and the region,” said the PTI chief. Pakistan’s continued involvement in this war would only produce more militancy and destruction, he added.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/11/26/imran-asks-rulers-to-end-alliance-in-‘war-on-terror’.html

Bhai sahib, in the case of 'US/Western mistakes/atrocities' the 'facts must be clearly established first', but of course when it comes to unsubstantiated allegations against Pakistan, no one gives a hoot about 'establishing facts'.

Cruel world eh?

---------- Post added at 09:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:02 PM ----------

The figure has reached 28 now.

13 injured as well.

Pak summons US envoy over NATO attack

In the latest blow to US-Pak relationship, a NATO helicopter has fired on two Pakistani border checkpoints killing 25 soldiers including 2 officers. Pakistan has responded by summoning the US envoy to Pakistan to lodge a strong protest with the NATO and shut the Torkham border crossing to NATO. The border crossing is a key supply route for NATO.

Reports indicate that the two border posts which were attacked by the NATO helicopters, were a 100 ft apart. A statement from the Pakistani military blamed NATO copters for carrying out “unprovoked and indiscriminate firing.”

The attacked checkpoints were set up recently to stop Pakistani Taliban from attacking the Pakistani forces from across the border. Pakistan has criticized Afghan security forces saying they have not done enough to stop the attacks.

US-Pak relationship has been going downhill ever since US launched a covert operation to kill Osama bin Laden in Abbotabad without telling Pakistani authorities.

The two sides have been engaged in a war of words that have only escalated in recent months. Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Mike Mullen had accused Pakistan of covertly supporting militants who have been attacking NATO forces in Afghanistan.

He said Pakistan has either been supporting these militants directly or has been turning a blind eye to militants who launch attacks from its territories. The US has also been talking about an inordinate amount of fire from the Pakistani side which have been landing near the NATO security forces. The US has also assembled a large amount of troops and heavy weaponry near the border with Pakistan, prompting fears that it wanted to invade the Pakistani North West where militants are supposed to be based.

Gen Ashfaq Pervez Kiyani warned that US should think ’10 times’ before launching an operation on Pakistani soil. Keeping up the pressure from the US side, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton in her visit to Islamabad warned Pakistan of the dangers of keeping ‘snakes in the backyard.’

This latest incident seems to be a virtual rewind of the similar incident about a year ago which has resulted in the deaths of two Pakistani soldiers. Then too Pakistan had shut down Torkham, and had demanded a US apology. The border crossing was only reopened when the US formally apologized.

This time the incident is much more deadly, and comes in the wake of already strained relations.

why are these nato supply trucks being kept near the border?? they should be turned away ASAP, there is no poit being in this war or being part of nato supply

those greedy generals should take some honour and be practical

What are you saying? No meetings took place until the ISPR says that it happened?[/QUOTE]

Well in normal circumstances, it would not be important but after this incident ISPR must provide proof that we were well aware of the location of this so called Company HQ. Your statement carries as much weight as my statement which could be we retaliated after we came under fire from that post.

why are these nato supply trucks being kept near the border?? they should be turned away ASAP, there is no poit being in this war or being part of nato supply

those greedy generals should take some honour and be practical

Everything is the fault of the generals , eh?

Imran asks rulers to end alliance in ‘war on terror’

ISLAMABAD: Pakista Tehrik-i-Insaf (PTI) Chief Imran Khan on Saturday strongly condemned the unprovoked Nato attack on Salala Check Post in the Momand Agency and called upon civilian leadership to immediately withdraw from its alliance from US-led war against terrorism.

While terming the attack as an insane and immoral brutality, Khan said such attacks reflected the hollowness and counter-productivity of Pakistan’s involvement in the aimless ‘war on terror’ that had been unleashed to subdue the proud people of the region.

The PTI chief was speaking to a public gathering in Shujaabad.

He said Pakistan had already sacrificed 40,000 people and an equal number of people had been maimed and become handicapped. Pakistan had also incurred a loss of over $75 billion in the bargain, yet it was being incessantly targeted by the forces of its so-called ‘ally’, he added.

The PTI chief said that the government had failed to safeguard Pakistan’s security and strategic interests because of the compromises it had made under the National Reconciliation Ordinance (NRO) with foreign forces to come to power in the country.

He said government did not have the moral stature to stand up for defending Pakistan’s strategic interests and should, therefore, quit immediately.

Imran Khan said that Pakistan’s involvement in the war had radicalised its society and was also breeding anti-Americanism.

“Time has come for the government to pull out of this inhuman conflict and initiate a purposeful dialogue to bring peace to the country and the region,” said the PTI chief. Pakistan’s continued involvement in this war would only produce more militancy and destruction, he added.

Imran asks rulers to end alliance in

Now that's more like a real response from Imran. All this condemning and apologizing is a bull****.