All quiet on China front, no new threat: ITBP chief

Bl[i]tZ

NEW DELHI: The Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP) on Saturday said the India-China border was "extremely peaceful" and there were no new threats to its security, rejecting recent reports of incursion attempts being made China.

Director-general of ITBP, Ranjit Sinha, said: "There are disputes in certain sectors because of the Line of Actual Control at the Sino-India border. But it is extremely peaceful. There is nothing which requires any measures from the Indian side to further guard the border."

Asked about recent reports of air and land space violation by the Chinese side, Sinha said: "First you should know the boundary. If you do not exactly know your home's boundary then how would you say there has been incursion. It is a matter on which talks are still underway."

Sinha was addressing a press conference ahead of ITBP's 50th Raising Day, which falls on October 24.

Noting that border dispute between the two countries dates back to 1962, the DG said: "Both the parties (India and China leaders) have talked (about) it. There are many committees which meet on regular intervals. The border is very peaceful and government is taking action on the controversial matters."

To a question over his meeting with the Indian Air Force chief over the latest air space violation by China in the Leh area of Jammu and Kashmir, Sinha said: "I have read it (violation attempt) in the newspapers. When we met, we had talked as to how we can mutually work along the Indo-Tibetan border."

"We (the ITBP) do not have any service for air surveillance so that we can find whether there has been such violation or not. We are not equipped for it. We do not have radars to find out whether or not there has been violation of our air space," Sinha said, in an indication that such violation, if any, can only be detected by the IAF.

The ITBP chief also rejected reports of Chinese bunkers on the Indian side saying, "I am not aware of any such (thing)...Our border is very peaceful as of date. And there has not been any major activity (related to incursion)."

The ITBP, which has about 55,000 personnel, guards the 3,488-km-long India-China border from the Karakoram pass in the Ladakh region to Jechap La in Arunachal Pradesh. Besides, the force is also involved in anti-naxal operations, security of vital installations and VVIPs, election duties and disaster management among others.
All quiet on China front, no new threat: ITBP chief - The Times of India

Its so sad that these people can't even tell the truth and even after facing danger from other side they have to downplay the danger just because govt. doesnot wants one more headache.

A big lie. He's simply been threatened by the sarkari babus to not tell the truth. It is visible. Since UPA will face another shytestorm if the truth comes out in the open, all the defense chiefs are being silenced. May you die a painful death, Maino you witch! :angry:

lol``those first 2 posters reminds me of two sayings '树欲静而风不止', '皮痒痒了,找打'``isnt peacful good? why always want looking for troubles?

i think that if the borders continue too be violated by Chinese forces we should adopt a doctrine similar to the samson doctrine rather than wasting large amounts of money bulking up defenses supplying troops raising new corps etc lets just make missile bases in our Northeast along with plutonium production facilities and make as many nukes as we need to deter China from attacking us needless to say India would never launch an offensive attack to gain territory and China's economy dwarfs ours so does there military budget rather than trying to keep up (which we can't) we should do what the Americans did with the Soviets after WW2 produce as many nukes as possible to deter a attack

its simple if we go down we'll take them with us etc China won't then risk attacking us unless of course they want they're population to become glow in the dark mutants

i think that if the borders continue too be violated by Chinese forces we should adopt a doctrine similar to the samson doctrine rather than wasting large amounts of money bulking up defenses supplying troops raising new corps etc lets just make missile bases in our Northeast along with plutonium production facilities and make as many nukes as we need to deter China from attacking us needless to say India would never launch an offensive attack to gain territory and China's economy dwarfs ours so does there military budget rather than trying to keep up (which we can't) we should do what the Americans did with the Soviets after WW2 produce as many nukes as possible to deter a attack

its simple if we go down we'll take them with us etc China won't then risk attacking us unless of course they want they're population to become glow in the dark mutants

as you say ur self the chinese are not making large attacks, these are boarder incidents, one does not nuke in retaliation for minor boarder incidents. in addition the boarder as we all know is not defined where you say the chinese violated the boarder the chinese say they were in their own territory and it was in fact your forces who violated the boarder.

lol what a bunch of bull when have we violated the border? we accept the border of the ceasefire line from 62 when your forces went back to status quo ante bellum borders you guys over that line into our territory a lot and have doing so for a while most notably coming 300m into Indian territory and dismantling property

please give me a source of when we violated the border and by source i mean a neutral genuine non right wing conservative/CCP controlled source

Water-wing flotilla for India-China border

Trying to build its capacity to stand on a par with ''the global best'', the Indo-Tibetan Border police, deployed along the country’s border with China, would soon have a flotilla to guard water ways and water bodies.

Senior officials in ITBP told Deccan Herald that the water wing of the para-military force would patrol and monitor the safety in lakes, rivers and hot springs in the Himalayan region. The ITBP has, so far been, relying on the army for keeping a hawk eye on the water bodies along the 3,488-kilometre India-China border. Celebrating 50th anniversary of it’s raising day on October 24, the force is taking a leap frog in modernising the police, the ambitious water-wing is part of the programme unrolled by it. An estimated Rs 3,000 crore modernisation plan has been approved by the Centre.

The wing will help the border force man Pangong Lake, whose one-third portion is in north of Ladakh in Jammu and Kashmir, the Indus River and some of the hot springs and rivers in northeast, said senior police officials in the ITBP. The flotilla which may be water-born soon would have, to begin with, over 125 personnel. “ It will be equipped with mechanised and inflatable boats deployed along the border and Line of Actual Control,” they said.

Answering a query, the officials said the generational changes in the force has no link with the preparedness or logistic upgradation across the borders. The denial, notwithstanding, the force has only recently carved out “an exclusive intelligence wing” to collect information on the Sino-India frontiers. The infrastructure on the Indian side of the border, including the roads, are being rapidly transformed with the direct monitoring of the Union Home Ministry.

There were also reports of Chinese violations of the Indian air space. Top Indian officials in the Army and Air force have recently stated that Indian modernisation in the armaments and preparedness would match not only that of China but go beyond.

Asked about the alleged Chinese land intrusions on the Arunachal Borders, ITBP officials, however, dismissed them as of no consequences. “ The terrain on our side is uneven and not clearly demarcated. This at times leads to some misunderstanding with Chinese troops,” said a senior official.

Mr ITBP chief nothing is quiet on Chinese border instead u are told to keep quiet.

lol what a bunch of bull when have we violated the border? we accept the border of the ceasefire line from 62 when your forces went back to status quo ante bellum borders you guys over that line into our territory a lot and have doing so for a while most notably coming 300m into Indian territory and dismantling property

please give me a source of when we violated the border and by source i mean a neutral genuine non right wing conservative/CCP controlled source

sadly to historyless indians```Taiwan government KTM has the same opinion as 'right wing' CCPs`!``guess the only reason you people ranting for those not-yours territories is because you guys lost in the past and are still being proud of British colony``the current land disput all left by them. We chinese never acknowledge those ridiculous lines drew by your formar rulers,,not the Qing Dynasty, not the KTM and not CCP

words don't go through to indians, that's why 1962 happened. india had to downplay this because they are afraid that escalations may lead to another conflict, and that doesn't paint a very pretty picture for them. they already know they are no match for china even after acquiring more advanced weapons from western countries. india will try to avoid facing off china directly at all cost, but they will help to instigate conflicts between china and other various countries. that is their best strategy.

for a 82 IQ country (rank 122/189) facing off a 106 IQ country (rank 5or7/189), this is a smart move by them.

bull? ur saying that india would go nuclear over a boarder incident? why hasnt it then?

secondly, is the boarder contested? yes, then to the chinese the ur forces are sitting in chinese land right now and vice versa, i have say nothing about what the actual control situation is.

dont you guys think that when everything is silent than the real threat begins......tufan ke pehle wali khamoshi.....just kidding.