All Pakistan Textile Mills Association announces closure of 200 mills from tomorrow

Will people be happy to pay the price the Chinese ask? If you want tech alone you'll have to pay for it up front. Will the billionaire mill owners used to tax payer money, spend thier own money on tech?

If you want it free, the only way that will happen is with Pakistani companies being sold to Chinese firms or the Chinese setting up thier own factories.

This is already happening in Karachi. One of my cousin who was working as a worker on a basic salary, got laid off as Chinese took over that factory and kicked all old employees out. Then they moved the factory to some other area. This happened few months ago.

He should completely ban all import baring life saving drugs and strictly impose this ban on government employees, system and offices with some harsh punishment.
the sons of kings in our country cant live without imported stuff! Yet the same refuse to pay taxes / or ask for tax cuts and dont contribute to the economy by taking all the money abroad!

He must take over all such closed industries which were providing employment to masses, expel the higher and middle management and bring retired army officers. Renegotiate all cancelled deals and try to fulfill the obligations on the previous rates.
That is what he is doing and that is why people are crying and media is on story spinning agenda!

4. Learn from the microfinance system of Bangladesh and start implementing it in Pakistan. Give petty loans to local artists, traders, for daily business needs which can be recovered on very small daily instalments in the evening and motivate them to meet local demand.
We have micro-finance ...many widows and divorcee have special women micro finance facilitation to help support themselves and their kids!
5. Convert all local Madaras into industrial training institute (ITI schools) and force all Talibs through ordinance to learn some skill of their choice which can help in production. These people will become the feeder strength for such petty production units, trades and bigger industries.
Forcing is not in our books but we are trying to integrate these talib (which is Arabic for students) with mainstream education (as stated earlier this year)

But yes I agree we need training centers that are run properly and managed properly not idiots who would even steal from that!

Finally someone who know what a joke this news was and with respect, how irrelevant all this discussion have been. Are you from Faisalabad? Or related to Textiles?

Ok all members, here is the detail that i have been holding off. While you were all discussing how this strike will destroy the exports and how MILLIONS will be left jobless, the whole thread was on a stupid fk up by media really. APTMA never went on strike. I dont know where the retard media got this news from but all mills under APTMA are running as usual. The call for strike was from APTPMA!! Now lets take a minute and see how pathetic out media is. The confused APTPMA with APTMA but what about the rest of the news? They quoted chairman APTMA, QUOTED HIM as in reprating his exact words while APTMA was never even involved in this whole saga. They fabricated the whole story then? cooked it all by themselves???

APTPMA is All Pakistan Textile Processing Mills Association.
These are the narrow with processing mills that deal in local suiting cloth. They announced a strike and even they failed to observe a complete strike/shutter down. The question here is, how will the strike of mills supplying local market effect exports? Why are they going on strike, dont we all agree that local supply SHOULD BE taxed??

I told you friends, there is much more to it then we all are discussing or know about. I will try to explain it all in more detail later on.

Hamaray mulk main tehqeeq ki bilkul kisi ko adat nhn. Bher bakrion ki tarah headline kay peechay chal partay hain aur morchon main band ho jatay hain.

No, not related to either of those. Just have a habit of reading past the headlines and doing some research on my own.

Not just that, they mistook APTPMA for APTMA, that much in ok. The problem is the statements and quotes they reported from Chairman APTMA!! When there was no strike from APTMA were all those quotes fabricated?

There are rumors going around that this was a planted news.

The strike is not by APTMA, but by about 20 mills in Faisalabad who are making a ruckus about the 17% GST by the government in place of a blanket zero tax regime for them.

You won't be getting any prizes to get their motive here.

Hint: Selling product in local market. ;)

https://www.dawn.com/news/1491539

LAHORE/FAISALABAD: All 600 textile processing units in four major cities of the country have been closed in protest against the imposition of a 17 per cent sales tax on five zero-rated sectors and the government’s failure to get the trade sector registered with the tax net.

Someone forgot to tell APTMA about your claims and them dumb bots have closed down over 600 member mills!!!

Yaar tum logo koi khuda ka khauf hai jhoot bolte hue?

Finally someone who know what a joke this news was and with respect, how irrelevant all this discussion have been. Are you from Faisalabad? Or related to Textiles?

Any other BS and LIE you were holding off????

Someone forgot to tell APTMA about your claims and them dumb bots have closed down over 600 member mills!!!

Bhai mere, gal nhn manni tay na manno...I ain't losing sleep over it.

You think 600 mills will be closed in Pakistan and only Dawn is running the news? Waqayi main 600 mills band ho jateen to thartalli mach jani thi...
and where have you been hiding..?

Tumhara Allah Hi Hafiz Agar Tum DAWN Jaise Akhbar Par Bharosa Karte Ho.APTMA Ne Shutdown Announce Nahi Kiya

Wo Aik Aur Tanzeem Thi APTPMA

D-VAkgTW4AAieSh.jpg

I have no other proof even though I have first hand knowledge. Would you believe me if I told you that my friend's father in law is a senior member of APTMA and has his own mills, that the information I had was first hand but I still did not rely on it until I read it in DAWN?

And since when is DAWN so unreliable? Why hasn't the Government acted aginst DAWN if the news is incorrect, why hasn't APTMA denied it? I also visited APTMA website and it was last updated on 28th of June.

Tumhara Allah Hi Hafiz Agar Tum DAWN Jaise Akhbar Par Bharosa Karte Ho.APTMA Ne Shutdown Announce Nahi Kiya

So Hum News is more reliable than DAWN? Are you aware of the history of DAWN? DAWN, in my opinion, is the most reliable source of information as their news is not only authentic, it is posted only after verification.

What the hell they are talking about. This is the most stupid claim they are making that export orders are declining due to gas price hike. Gas price are increasing in local rupee terms but not in dollar terms. Infact in dollar terms it has decreased as dollar has appreciated by more than 50% v/s just 31% increase in gas prices.

On the other hand due to increase in dollar their revenue has increased by 50%. For example if they were selling a bed sheet for 10 dollars then they were earning around 1,000 rupees at 100 rupee exchange rate but on the same dollar price now they are earning 1,600 rupees. So if the cost of input if increase only slightly still it will be no impact on the profits.

The real issue is with the documentation of economy. Previously they were hiding profits and were putting all the money in the pocket but now with the current laws it is becoming difficult and difficult to hide the profits and thats why they are making so noises as they dont wanna pay taxes on the profits.

Doesnt work like that. Pakistan used to import a lot of cotton and yarns from India before and even now they import it through Dubai. Pakistan doesnt produce a lots of raw materials for its textiles. Devaluation must have made the cost of imports costlier and adding the cost of increase in gas, electricity, taxes etc should have hit them hard.

Well you have no idea of Pakistani textile and also not about the financial management and pricing. Let me tell you the areas where you are factually wrong.

1. Pakistan do import cotton in some years and export in others. We have significant cotton production but import and export is based on local production and international prices. For example if its a drought in Pakistan so local production is low then we have to import and if its a bumper product and drought in India then we will export to India.
  2. Cotton is very small portion in overall supply chain. What do you think what will be the cost of cotton in overall sales value of final product? It can be more than 15% to 20% for branded items (like Levies manufacturing factories of Pakistan) and 30% to 50% in sales of finished goods to brands such as IKEA, rest of the cost pertains to machines, labor, administration, utilities, infrastructure and others.
  3. So while in case of devaluation of 50% of PKR our sales value in local currency will increase by 50% but you input will increase for imported material only which can be a small % of cotton and chemicals (may be between 10% to 30% considering a lot of cotton will still be local). Whereas your labor cost, depreciation, and infrastructure costs are constant whereas utilities cost got increased only marginally in comparison to increase in sales value.
  4. On overall basis, the exporter will get a lot of benefit in increasing the export sales.
By the way this whole drama was a fake news by the newspaper. APTMA has already declined any call for strike or unit shut down.

APTMA announces closure of 200 mills from tomorrow, as buyers cancel export orders

Listen

491414_1292603_Textile-exports_akhbar.jpg

KARACHI: The All Pakistan Textile Mills Association (APTMA) has announced closure of 200 of its processing mills from Monday, July 1, as international buyers rejected export deliveries of the mills due to price increase.

APTMA in a press statement said a meeting of around 200 mills was held in Karachi on Saturday, where members said that their buyers had refused to pay the new prices for their orders. Thus, the millers had decided to shut down their operations from the first day of the new fiscal year.

Earlier, APTMA Sindh-Balochistan Region Chairman Zahid Mazhar had said that an increase in gas tariff by 31 percent was the last nail in the coffin of the general industry and the textile industry in particular.

He said the textile sector was already facing unbearable costs of manufacturing, which were very high as compared to the regional competitors.

Due to the high cost of doing business, inadequate supply of raw material, drastic increase in interest rate, and liquidity constraints due to the delay in refunds of sales tax, almost 140 textile mills had already closed their operations.

That he said resulted in about a million workers losing their jobs. “Around 75 to 80 mills are on the verge of closure, which will add to the unemployment figures by another 0.5 million workers employed in the textile industry,” he added.

Speaking about the removal of the zero-rating facility for the five exporting industries, Mazhar said the textile sector had not yet come out of the shock of the government’s adverse decision to withdraw the zero-rated facility.

In Federal Budget 2019-20, the government decided to withdraw the statutory regulatory order 1125(I)/2011, which allowed zer-rated sales tax on inputs and products for the five major export-oriented sectors – textile, leather, carpets, sports goods, and surgical instruments.

He said that as if that was not enough, the government was going to hit the industry with another blow in the shape of increased gas tariff.

He said the gas tariff for industry in Bangladesh was $3.0/MMBTU, which was more than 50 percent cheaper than Pakistan.

He further said that due to the closure of about 140 mills, and the mills operating under capacity, Pakistan’s textile exports were suffering an opportunity loss of more than $4.0 billion per annum.

APTMA Sindh-Balochistan Region chairman demanded the government to save the export-oriented textile industry and Pakistan from complete disaster by not increasing the gas prices.

He also asked the government to instruct the gas utility companies to meet their revenue requirements by strictly following the UFG benchmark in accordance with the international best practices, and reducing other expenses with better management.

Last week, the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) of the Cabinet approved the decision to increase the gas tariff by 31 percent for the general industry, power plants, cement, and fertiliser, etc.

The new tariff would be enforced from today, as was agreed with the IMF. Consumers of gas would be paying up an additional Rs170 billion, including the increased in GST
https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/49...-from-tomorrow-as-buyers-cancel-export-orders
Let them do what theh want todo... These MFs are now earnings huge money because of 60% increase of US$ rate... Means there profits ratio is doubled now and they still crying like pigs

Bahi!! I dont have to lie. Should i go to some mills here in Faisalabad tomorrow and share pictures of running plants?

APTMA is NOT on strike, all mills are running as per usual. The APTPMA went on partial strike. These are two different organizations/bodies. APTPMA is mainly compromised of local suiting varieties processing plants.

here, @Mav3rick note it is APTPMA!!
D-VAkgTW4AAieSh.jpg

Will ignore this! But i do request you to learn to have a civil debate on a public forum. you can use this type of language in a private place but this is not one!!

I have no other proof even though I have first hand knowledge. Would you believe me if I told you that my friend's father in law is a senior member of APTMA and has his own mills, that the information I had was first hand but I still did not rely on it until I read it in DAWN?
Just to share a personal detail with you sir, i am a textile engineer and i am in textile export business, me myself, not my friend, not his father-in-law! I am a member of these textile associations!!

=========================================================================

True. I am not sure why everyone looks at everything from a political point of view!! Why would i LIE about this at all???

I reconfirm, all APTMA members are running their plants as per usual as of today July 03, 2019

Bahi!! I dont have to lie. Should i go to some mills here in Faisalabad tomorrow and share pictures of running plants?

APTMA is NOT on strike, all mills are running as per usual. The APTPMA went on partial strike. These are two different organizations/bodies. APTPMA is mainly compromised of local suiting varieties processing plants.

here, @Mav3rick note it is APTPMA!!
View attachment 567855

Will ignore this! But i do request you to learn to have a civil debate on a public forum. you can use this type of language in a private place but this is not one!!

=========================================================================

True. I am not sure why everyone looks at everything from a political point of view!! Why would i LIE about this at all???

I reconfirm, all APTMA members are running their plants as per usual. Thats a fact.

Inn ko kon bataye k aajkul masla capacity ka hai. Kaafi Mills / looms / stitchings are over crowded due to number of orders. A lot have been trying to increase their capacities specially the garment sector.

I wont even try to explain this as then you are quickly branded a PTI supporter and everything you said is discarded as a politically motivated lie. oo bahi myra mama lgta ha Imran??? Pagal log.

Plus about over capacity, don't forget that the over capacity is partially due to increase in orders and partially because of the fact that last 5 6 years have seen significant shut-outs with thousands of power loom units closing down. When i used to mention it back then it was taken as a political remark even back then (that time against PMLN)

And yeah, garment sector, specially bottom wear like jeans have seen a massive boom recently. Some 450000 garments per month capacity added in only two mills that i know about. Overall the capacity increase is around 2 million as per some reports.

I wont even try to explain this as then you are quickly branded a PTI supporter and everything you said is discarded as a politically motivated lie. oo bahi myra mama lgta ha Imran??? Pagal log!

And yeah, garment sector, specially bottom wear like jeans have seen a massive boom recently. Some 450000 garments per month capacity added in only two mills that i know about. Overall the capacity increase is around 2 million as per some reports.

Lol. I am more interested in the results by the way but they will take atleast couple of years if the policies continue and there is no major slow down in international markets.

Filhaal for our commercial sector, fabric processing time and rates have been increased by all mills