Afghans should be able to secure their own country by 2011, NATO predicts

Neo

RETIRED

New Recruit

Afghans should be able to secure their own country by 2011, NATO predicts

U.S. soldiers with the 101st Airborne Division patrolling in Khost province, Afghanistan, on Monday. (Rafiq Maqbool/The Associated Press)​

By Carlotta Gall Published: April 21, 2008

KABUL: The Afghan Army and police forces should be able to secure most of Afghanistan by 2011, allowing international forces to start withdrawing, according to the U.S. commander of the NATO-led force in Afghanistan, General Dan McNeill.

"By about 2011, there is going to be some pretty good capacity in the Afghan National Army," he said in an interview Sunday in the Kabul headquarters of the International Security Assistance Force.

"It will take them a few more years to get their air transport and air support platforms on line, but they should be covering a lot of battle space by some time in 2011, in my view," he said.

By then, barring any cataclysm, the countries contributing troops to the international force could look at whether such a large international force was still desirable, he said. "I think you begin to get to a juncture and say, 'Probably not; maybe we should be starting to change the way this force works,' " he said.

The issue has been important to the discussion within NATO about its mission in Afghanistan. Some members of NATO, which has taken over much of the security for the country, have been reluctant to send troops, or to allow their troops to operate in areas where the insurgency is active.

Today in Asia - Pacific
Paris plans charm offensive in China after protestsBeijing begins education drive in Tibet aimed at party officialsSingapore says terrorism suspect escaped through bathroom
A number of foreign troops would still be necessary to help the Afghans for several years after 2011, he said. But he added that the UN-mandated force, which includes 47,000 troops from 40 countries, would be better named the Interim Security Assistance Force, in recognition of its temporary role until Afghan forces can take over.

McNeill, who will complete his second tour in Afghanistan this summer - he commanded American forces from 2002 to 2003 - said that Afghan forces had already effectively been managing the security for Kabul, the capital, for the last year, albeit with NATO support. He also expressed confidence that the Afghans would be able to secure the country well enough for the country to hold presidential elections in September 2009.

His appraisal of the security situation and the state of the Taliban insurgency does not appear to have changed in recent months.

The Taliban, insurgents allied with the leaders removed from power by U.S.-led forces in late 2001, were avoiding conventional battles and resorting more to roadside bombs, also called improvised explosive devices, and to suicide bombings, he said.

"Tactically, on the battlefield, the insurgents did not have a very good year last year," he said. "The so-called toe-to-toe fights will probably be less common - smaller skirmishes - but the technique of choice for the insurgent will be the improvised explosive device and the suicide bomber."

He said he had seen intelligence reports that more foreign fighters had been arriving recently in the tribal areas of Pakistan that border Afghanistan, where Pakistani and Afghan members of the Taliban and Al Qaeda continue to find sanctuary. "The reports are they are increasing," he said.

"It quite possibly could mean, in the areas that are adjacent to the border, a more active spring or summer than we should have had," he said.

"If there are sanctuaries for the extremists, for the miscreants, for the insurgents, that remain just out of reach of security forces, then it becomes a difficult problem and it makes achieving long-term security and stability within Afghanistan awfully hard to reach," he said.

The long-term stability of Afghanistan also depends on the good will and help of all its neighbors, not just Pakistan, he said. "All neighbors have to be helpful, and there are quite a few neighbors around here," he said.

NATO forces must improve their training to avoid roadside bombs, which have increased significantly in recent months, he said. But he said that the Afghan forces were the best protection against suicide bombers, since the bombers were usually strangers and Afghans were likely to spot strangers much more quickly than foreign soldiers could.

Development of a national police force is critical to success in countering the insurgency, he said, adding that despite generous support from the U.S. Congress for police training, "The rate of progress is not fast enough for any of us."

Afghans should be able to secure their own country by 2011, NATO predicts - International Herald Tribune

imran bhai tum post kam kero to acha hai.. kiyon ke tumhari english mashallah hai.

By the way, look at those digital camouflages. Only if Pakistan Army could afford to equip all its soldiers right now.. it wouldn't have to change its uniform again in the future.

Afghan's should secure their contry. Also I will propose that India should supply enough arms and may be old jet to Afghan Militry free. Apart from that, India should speed up basic infrastruce program, Afghanistan needs more Hostipal, schools, roads.

Its not upto India only but the rest of the world to support Afghanistan.
Sofar only 40% of the pledged support has been cashed by Kabul.

I could care less when their country is secure, I want them out now.

They are fools. What Afghanistan requires is 'on the ground' deployment of troops just like Kashmir. Flood the country with troops, and you will see AQ's back broken there.

Has that method worked in Kashmir? What you are proposing is a short term solution. You can peace for a while and when the troops pull out the situation will be even worse. What we need is a long term solution. Now in the case of Afghanistan what needs to happen is the Taliban must be talked to. They must be brought on board and some sort of solution acceptable to both sides must be adopted.

no one is leaving afghanistan until the resources from central asia are secured. Believe me, I think we've all heard stuff like this for a while about troops leaving iraq. Nothing happens.

Has that method worked in Kashmir? What you are proposing is a short term solution. You can peace for a while and when the troops pull out the situation will be even worse. What we need is a long term solution. Now in the case of Afghanistan what needs to happen is the Taliban must be talked to. They must be brought on board and some sort of solution acceptable to both sides must be adopted.

Sure as hell worked in Kashmir. Insurgency there is not even a fraction of what it was in the 90's. And besides the extensive troop deployement, you need economic development in the region to curb extremism. Its a formula thats working in Kashmir, and will work elsewhere.

It is only working because of the peace. :smokin:

It just goes to show you how India needs force to keep its federation together, but thats another thing. As soon as the Indian Army begin to reduce its numbers things will go back to the way they were, meaning fighting will erupt. In the case to Kashmir its like a police state, which just makes the population more angry, and makes them want more revenge. Now as far as economic development, you are totally right this is a way that one can bring to violence down. In the case of the British, they got what they wanted and at the same time kept the local happy. One must improve the lives of the people he rules over if he wants their respect.

no amount of economic development will satisfy the kashmiri people whom the indian army has raped and pillaged. I believe kashmiri's protesting the indian army's hand in building masajid account for that.

You will see more insurgency when we have an bloody inquilaab in this country, believe me buddy, you WILL see. In the meanwhile, our govt. has given you a peace of mind by cutting the supply lines to kashmir in hopes for peace and a plebiscite, but that wasn't enough for you was it?

In return you cause trouble for us when we have enough on our western border. You can expect a lot more trouble from kashmir soon and also bangladesh/assam.

no amount of economic development will satisfy the kashmiri people whom the indian army has raped and pillaged. I believe kashmiri's protesting the indian army's hand in building masajid account for that.

Yawn... dude ask those Kashmiris to come out and protest, i mean en masse then talk about them getting independence.

You will see more insurgency when we have an bloody inquilaab in this country

yeah yeah .. all will happen dream on , no one is stopping you

believe me buddy, you WILL see

What are you, the prime minister of pakistan, why should one believe you, are you even a Kashmiri first.

In the meanwhile, our govt. has given you a peace of mind by cutting the supply lines to kashmir in hopes for peace and a plebiscite, but that wasn't enough for you was it?

So you agree that your government sponsors millitants and trains them, so the whole hallla bolla is coming from your side but not from IOK side, shows the level of support you have among Indian Kashmiris.

In return you cause trouble for us when we have enough on our western border. You can expect a lot more trouble from kashmir soon and also bangladesh/assam.

Now that you have deceided to rant bring em on I say

Frankly Kashmir is a dead issue , the soooner Pakistan realises it , the better for both of us.