'Aamir Khan, A Muslim, In Mahabharata': Javed Akhtar Responds To Trolls

Aamir Khan adapting Mahabharata on the big screen and starring in the film has not gone down well with certain sections of Twitter

1. There were plenty unsavoury comments attacking Aamir on Twitter
  2. Javed Akhtar lashed out at Twitter trolls
  3. You know nothing about our Indian traditions: Javed Akhtar to trolls
Aamir Khan's ambitious adaptation of the Mahabharata has galvanised trolls into action, in turning prompting writer Javed Akhtar to get involved. Aamir's magnum opus, which might be made in several parts, has been making headlines recently after reports that the film (or films) could be co-produced by industrialist Mukesh Ambani. Aamir's Mahabharata is very much in the planning-ideating stage as of now and almost no details - except that the 53-year-old actor considers it his 'dream' project and the budget is allegedly a whopping Rs. 1,000 crore - are available. Equally unclear is what role Aamir Khan intends to play in the film (or series) - speculation says Krishna or Karna. And this has not gone down well with certain sections of Twitter because, wait for it, Aamir is Muslim.

It began with a tweet from a troll (who appears to be a Frenchman living in India) two days ago which read: "Why should Aamir Khan, a Muslim, play in most ancient and sacred of Hindu epics, the Mahabharata? Would Muslims allow a Hindu to play life of Mohamed?" The tweet also asked if Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government was going to "be like the Congress and just stand by in the name of secularism."

Javed Akhtar was incensed by the post and lashed out in the comments thread, asking "I would like to know which foreign agency is paying you to spread this kind of perverse and poisonous thoughts in our country...You obviously you know nothing about our Indian traditions and culture."

Pressed by another troll on the 'would Muslims allow a Hindu to play Mohammed' question, Javed Akhtar responded:

Javed Akhtar wasn't the only person to defend Aamir in the comments thread, something the original troll complained about later and said that the Hindus disagreeing with him ought to be ashamed:

There were plenty other unsavoury comments attacking not just Aamir but also Mukesh Ambani for reportedly financing the film. Aamir's 2014 film PK, which satirized religion, was invoked as well as his controversial comments on 'intolerance' some years ago.

However, some tweets were more concerned with who was going to be cast in the film. Hrithik Roshan or no one for Arjun, said one.

Earlier this year, it was reported that Aamir Khan had backed out of a biopic of astronaut Rakesh Sharma to focus on a project which would take several years to hit the screens. At that time, it was suggested that Aamir Khan is adapting Mahabharata under his production banner.

Just to be clear, there are no confirmed details about Aamir's adaptation - we don't even know for certain that he is making a version of the Mahabharata. If he does, it might well be the third such. The first is an adaptation of Randamoozham, which chronicles the events of the Mahabharata from Bheem's perspective. Mohanlal has been finalised to play the lead role. The second project has reportedly been proposed by Baahubali director SS Rajamouli. Last year, Aamir Khan had said that he would like to collaborate with Rajamouli if he adapted Mahabharata on the big screen. "I'm a huge fan of Rajamouli's work and if he ever plans to make Mahabharata, I'd love to play Krishna or Karna. I might actually go with Krishna," he told PTI.

Crazy and a** never dictate Indian and in particular Hindu character...Just to let every one know, earlier version of Mahabharat serial was written by Rahi Massom Raza...
This kind of characterization is bad..Anyway, i know, hardly anyone cares for such troll..These crazy issues are for consumption of twiter audience only..

Even I would object to Aamir Khan playing Krishna. Not because he is a muslim. But for the fact that Krishna was dark skinned man with curly hair. Aamir Khan does not look like Krishna at all. It's like a blue eyed blonde guy playing role of an African man.

No one objected when Hrithik Roshan played an IVC man in Mohenjadaro.
IVC people did not look like Mr Hrithik Roshan whose ancestory lies in Central Asia.

Upper caste North Indian Bollywood white washing history of my ancestors boils my blood.

Spend your energy and blood boiling in some contructive things than making issues our of nothing...

To play muhammed ?

I am not sure if you are aware, but a 1500 years ago, Arabs used to look like this.

01138dc295974f9247ceeaf9fcb528fe.jpg

Arab_1.jpg

Rasulullah (Peace Be Upon Him) was brown, not black.

Aamir is answerable to his GOD in afterlife and will get a place in either hell or heaven on his deeds we are no one to judge him. As far as him portraying Lord Krishna in the next movie, I welcome it. Bollywood has a huge following and it's popularity is rising among other nations, and considering Aamir is a big star even in China now this project will help spread our culture further (depends on how they intended to portray Lord Krishna and others).

These movies stars are useful idiots and they must be milked for their popularity especially in Islamic countries to the maximum.

Rasulullah (Peace Be Upon Him) was brown, not black.
No offence but his message to his own people MUST be more important than color of his skin. Nothing wrong in being black, brown, white or yellow.

Don't worry you all look like Tamils to the rest of us.
lmao, I'm going to enjoy this game with you, son, wait for it.. :smokin:

He is a rat, but he is partially right,

Sriman Bhagavatam gives a physical description of Krishna,

Barhapidam nata-vara-vapuh karnayoh karnikaram
bibhrad vasah kanaka-kapisam vaijayantim ca malam

Translation is,

Wearing a peacock-feather ornament upon His head, blue karnikara flowers on His ears,
a yellow garment as brilliant as gold, wearing a necklace of Vaijayanti beads,

His name "Krsna" means Black/Dark.

It further says,

randhran venor adhara-sudhayapurayan gopa-vrndair
vrndaranyam sva-pada ramanam pravisad gita-kirtih

Translates as,

His enters gracefully like a master dancer into the vrindavan forest,
and plays the flute while the cowherd boys sing his praise.

So, by this we get that Krishna was talk dark handsome attractive man who walked gracefully, dressed in bright Yellow, a white bead necklace on his neck and a Peacock feather Crown/ornament on his head.

Amir Khan is neither tall, dark nor graceful. I do not think he will fit that role, though I am sure he can act the role. But any Hindu seeing him will not see "krsna" the dark one.
Fair enough, appreciate your knowledge about the scriptures, lm.

He was. Both Sri Krishna and Sri Rama are described as dark, to the point of seeming blue. We get such skin tones in west Africa as well. But they were considered among the most handsome and were enormously attractive to the opposite sex.

What kind of ignoramus are you? Read the epics for yourself. Idiot.

Dark to the point of seeming blue.
ok, who cares ?

black, brown or blue.. they were from here, not like the islamic savages whose tattas you always chaating. :sarcastic:

lmao, I'm going to enjoy this game with you, son, wait for it.. :smokin:

Fair enough, appreciate your knowledge about the scriptures, lm.

ok, who cares ?

black, brown or blue.. they were from here, not like the islamic savages whose tattas you always chaating. :sarcastic:

You might start your career of reconquest by getting your facts right.

Initially, I also had same thoughts, but as two Muslims have played Arjun in TV serials, this one is not a big deal.

And Plus If Amir acts in that movie, all of Pakistani household will watch the movie and some may revert back to their own "Pagan" Religion.....aka Ghar wapsi!:D

More chance of hell freezing over
Pakistanis Muslims abhor pagans and there beliefs.
Ghee wapsi my left bollock

He was. Both Sri Krishna and Sri Rama are described as dark, to the point of seeming blue. We get such skin tones in west Africa as well. But they were considered among the most handsome and were enormously attractive to the opposite sex.

What kind of ignoramus are you? Read the epics for yourself. Idiot.

Dark to the point of seeming blue.

Absolute tosh lol .

Skin tone which is black going on blue
You get this in west Africa ? I'd like to know where as im frequently here on business and by the way do you know what west Africans mean by blue foot boy ?

To play muhammed ?

I am not sure if you are aware, but a 1500 years ago, Arabs used to look like this.

01138dc295974f9247ceeaf9fcb528fe.jpg

Arab_1.jpg

Lol Never knew they had photo cameras 1500 years ago

Oh wait your one of those chutiyas who believe in elephant head lol phuck that bollocks

More chance of hell freezing over
Pakistanis Muslims abhor pagans and there beliefs.
Ghee wapsi my left bollock

Absolute tosh lol .

Skin tone which is black going on blue
You get this in west Africa ? I'd like to know where as im frequently here on business and by the way do you know what west Africans mean by blue foot boy ?

Oh wait your one of those chutiyas who believe in elephant head lol phuck that bollocks

Do you think I feel the need to answer every jackass that posts? I don't, actually.

LOL..... you seem positively offended that your prophet was a darkie.

What happened to islamic "brotherhood" ? :lol:

Arabs were barely civilized people living in a freaking desert, and they often married into the Africans. This is recorded history. That is why most of their kids looked the people in the pictures.

I don't you why you have difficulty in believing what is in front of you.

Arab_5.jpg

BolwXXdIYAAvHJm.jpg

Can you provide some proof ?
Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) as per historians had fair color in between brown and white.He belonged to tribe of bani Hashim. Family of king of Jordan is the the direct descendant of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).So I am sharing the photos of descendants of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH).Kindly share the photos of descendants of your Krishna (kalia) as well:agree:

family_tree_english.jpg

tree.gif

king1-700x.jpg

king2-700x.jpg

king3-700x.jpg

king4-700x.jpg

king5-700x.jpg

rania-700x.jpg

king7-700x.jpg

family-700x.jpg

LOL..... you seem positively offended that your prophet was a darkie.

What happened to islamic "brotherhood" ? :lol:

Arabs were barely civilized people living in a freaking desert, and they often married into the Africans. This is recorded history. That is why most of their kids looked the people in the pictures.

I don't you why you have difficulty in believing what is in front of you.

Arab_5.jpg

BolwXXdIYAAvHJm.jpg

They all are Bedouin people :D

Can you read ? THIS IS the Bani Hashmi tribe.

Arab_1.jpg
Arab_4.jpg

Krishna was born into the Yadava Clan, and its pretty well known in India.

Also none of his children made it beyond the kali yuga as per his wish.

Royalty pretending to be linked to some "prophet" is the oldest trick in the book. Burmese Royalty trace they lineage back to the Buddha :cheesy:

South Korean and Thai royalty trace their lineage back to Sri. Ramchandra ji.

That is how politics used to work back in the good old days.