A trip to Darra Adam Khel

My tips are different and would work better than the above.

1. Wear shorts with a deep v-neck tee, sunglasses will help too and so would some nice shoes.
  2. Clean shave, infact full body shave is the way to go, use some body creams too for a good effect.
  3. If anyone offers you something, use maa-bhen profanities.
  4. Have a burger in your hands at all times and a bottle of coke.
  5. Say Namaste and look at them fiercely.
  6. Push the elderly out of the way if they intrude.
  7. Use english to impress others, 'wassup dude', 'yo homie what up', 'nigga u like this sheez'.
  8. You are superior, act like you are above them.
  9. Be a bit feminine, looks good on the modern man, wink at other men etc.
  10. Read up on 'how to be a G' and 'G culture'.

You are in safe hands.

Like God of War says 'its possible that u will loose ur heart to the Pashtuns for ever.'

:pakistan:

Why the hell you want to make is First Trip as a Last one.

1. Wear shorts with a deep v-neck tee, sunglasses will help too and so would some nice shoes.
  2. Clean shave, infact full body shave is the way to go, use some body creams too for a good effect.
  7. Use english to impress others, 'wassup dude', 'yo homie what up', 'nigga u like this sheez'.

You are in safe hands.

Like God of War says 'its possible that u will loose ur heart to the Pashtuns for ever.'

You forgot telling him to wear chains, a 'phutti' jeans with a twisted cap....and a glove in one hand.:lol:

You are in safe hands.

What is that.. Faz ?

If it is joke then one of the most modern Joke and i also laughed too much.

But why you post this ??? and for Namste i have not get any sense

still confuse

:cheers:
Nahi yaar, this way he will end up dead. :no:

And your post will take him to moon...LoL

How about telling him to prepare a 'Naswar Coffee' for people there....i doubt its attempted yet....consequences of its 'Fail' would be similar to your post.

What is that.. Faz ?

If it is joke then one of the most modern Joke and i also laughed too much.

But why you post this ??? and for Namste i have not get any sense

still confuse

Please don't stuck your head with things you don't understand....you just killed a joke.

You are in safe hands.

well you could have shortened your message by saying appear as a red neck yankie or modern klu klux klan when you visit there :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Please don't stuck your head with things you don't understand....you just killed a joke.

Bhai be humble, mujhe bhi maloom tha ki joke hai but aisa joke.... arey yaar koi to mar hi jaayega...Hahhaaa aaj ke baad banda kabhi koi post hi nahin karega

ok bilalhaider, here are my tips,

definitely wear plain salwar kamiz (maybe light blue, white, or even light brown). Have one of the leggings on the salwar to be a little up, so one of your ankles is showing (so you look like a gangster pashtun lol)

pashtuns in dara adam khail usually have long hair and a scruffy beard, so if you have both then thats good.

show a lot of respect to the elder people, especially the ones with beards who are the village elders (they will help you a lot if you need any help in any way, such as a ride, security, maybe a few guards etc)

Pashtuns love joking around and swearing a lot, so dont mind the language.

If they drink tea (a lot!!!) and they offer you, do take it and drink.

here are a few things you can practice learning before you go:

sanga ye? ----- how are you
kha yama, dera merabani ----- Im fine, thank you
zama num de bilal haider ----- My name is bilal haider
na ji ------ No
aww ji ------ Yes
a-chi zoo ------ lets go
da sok de/da? ----- who is he/she?
pa khair raghley ------ welcome

etc... ask me if you need more sayings...

I am not scared of visiting Darra at all. I've traveled all over KPK, just never to FATA. Which is why I want to go to Darra. I am well aware of Pakhtun culture & Pakhtunwali. I speak fluent Urdu & Punjabi, but not Pakhto unfortunately. That was the basic question in my mind. Would the people in Darra find it insulting if I talked to them in Urdu? I can sure dress up in Shalwar Kameez, grow a beard, accept their hospitality & be very respectful, but the biggest drawback I have is I can't speak Pakhto. My close friend (Afridi) is very considerate, he's a fluent speaker of Pakhto (sounds like a native of course from the region) even though he's lived in Islamabad for many years (so his Urdu is excellent as well, of course), so he understands my situation. Is me sticking out like a sore thumb a bad thing, a disrespectful thing? Will they see me as some kind of Punjabi stooge or something if I speak to them in Urdu?

A few more things to say when you meet people, use them when you greet others:

Za ta saara meena kaom (Good to meet you)
Aya ghwari chi ma sara gada wokri (Thank you for greeting me)

LOL......... @Gangster pashtun.......:rofl:

@bilal......... bro be natural.......... no need to copy anybdy............. be urself...........Coz nobdy likes artificial people................ ur a urdu speaker................. u guys r sharp..lol........ u will figure it out.

Dear Bilal,

Here are some tips. Ive been to Darra Adam Khel a few times, and speaking from experience.

1. Where Shalwar Kameez and Peshawari sandals, basically dress like the locals and act the part.
2. a stubble will also be nice, Tribemen like men with beards, and give them more respect. (i dont wanna discuss it further, its about respecting their mindset)
3. never refuse hospitality (even if u've had 10 cups of tea)
4. Have bottled water with u and carry tummy medicine with u.
5. Say ur salaams, and ask how they are doing individually.
6. Respect the elderly, offer him a seat if he arrives.
7. Dont do anything 'english' infront of the Pashtuns, unless u want to be rediculed :D Avoid wearing ur Oakleys an all.
8. Dont sound condacsending. Even if u know better, tell them in a brotherly manner.
9. Act brave ( even if u dont feel brave, it happens and its natural)
10. Read up on Pashtun culture and Pukhtun Wali.

All in all u will be fine. the Pashtun are a feircely honourable and brave people and once u go there with an open heart, its possible that u will loose ur heart to the Pashtuns for ever. Enjoy ur trip brother and dont miss the opportunity to fire a few rounds ;)

What about speaking in Urdu in front of the Pakhtuns? I know the great pride Pakhtuns have in their language, & unfortunately I don't know it. That is pretty much my only concern, I don't have any concerns with security.