A Tribute to International Mother Language Day (21st February)

February 21 marks the only event in the history of the world where human beings made the ultimate sacrifice to earn the recognition of their mother language. Students were gunned down by police on this day in 1952 during a demonstration in Dhaka, then part of Pakistan and now the capital of Bangladesh to protest the decision by Punjabi ruler to make Urdu as the only official language of Pakistan. Now this day is duly observed worldwide as the international mother language day. February 21 stands for the recognition and respect every language in the world deserves. It advocates bringing people into the wonderfully diverse languages and cultures around the world and the endless possibilities it might have in prospect. Let us all pay our respect to the language martyrs by taking away the right spirit from this day.

Jatay jatay hamain zaroor badnaam ker jaya karo. :D

I think there's nothing you could call a mother language. Every human language is my language, why should I content myself with one?

The first human beings had same mother and same language.

Personally, I would like to align myself more not with those who speak the same language as mine but the ones who share the faith with me.

& I would really like to learn Arabic well, it is the language in which Quran was revealed, Although it is not Allah (SWT) language (according to Quran), so, Arabs can not claim a superiority based upon their language.

I read most of world literature and poetry in urdu and I cherish that.
I read most of the Science and history in English, I am indebtful too.

The first human beings had same mother and same language.

The first human beings had no language. language is function of the higher centers of symbolic cognition..it was thousands of years before any language in the sense of grammar and words had developed. and before languages were developed humans had
dispersed, some in africa, some in different parts of asia.

my mother tongue is kashmiri.it has a base of sanskrit and an influence of Persian, besides other languages. it is very sweet.

The language which you usually use to express your mind , emotions , feelings etc . is certainly your mother language .

The theme of the International Mother Language Day is not to content yourself in one language but to respect every human language .

Please read the message of UNESCO Director-General ,

"The language of our thoughts and our emotions is our most valuable asset. Multilingualism is our ally in ensuring quality education for all, in promoting inclusion and in combating discrimination. "

International Mother Language Day, 21 February .

माझ्या मराठाची बोल कौतुके
परी अमृतातेही पैजा जिंके
ऐसी अक्षरे रसिके मेळवीन.

Mazhya Marathachi bol kautuke
Pari amrutatehi paija jinke
Aisi akshare rasike. Melveen

Admire my Marathi language
She wins even against Nectar
So piquant are her words.

-Saint Dnyaneshwar

It sounds to me like some Bengali friends here believe that Bengalies were the only people to have fought for their language. If that is true then I am here to tell you that it is categorically not true. Many people around the world have had to fight for their language, and they have faced much much worse discrimination then merely not being made an official language.

Also, the language of Punjab is Punjabi, not Urdu. So it is a bit non nonsensical to vilify Punjabis for advocating a language that is not even their native tongue.
To me it looks like Punjabi were willing to sacrifice for the greater good of the country.

It sounds to me like some Bengali friends here believe that Bengalies were the only people to have fought for their language. If that is true then I am here to tell you that it is categorically not true. Many people around the world have had to fight for their language, and they have faced much much worse discrimination then merely not being made an official language.

Also, the language of Punjab is Punjabi, not Urdu. So it is a bit non nonsensical to vilify Punjabis for advocating a language that is not even their native tongue.
To me it looks like Punjabi were willing to sacrifice for the greater good of the country.

To kill the identity of Bengali people those who were the majority of Pakistani population even without consulting with them...

woah woah hold up. Lets got get carried away.
not being an official language did not mean you lost your identity. Did Punjab, Sind, Balochistan, or Kyber lose their Identity?

Do you know who lost their Identity? The natives of America and Australia. They were forbidden to speak their language and forced to speak English.

No one ever told Bengalis to not speak their language.

woah woah hold up. Lets got get carried away.
not being an official language did not mean you lost your identity. Did Punjab, Sind, Balochistan, or Kyber lose their Identity?

Do you know who lost their Identity? The natives of America and Australia. They were forbidden to speak their language and forced to speak English.

No one ever told Bengalis to not speak their language.

Just go n ask them whether they are happy with that or not!!! I know many pathans and other non punjabi pakistanis those who are fed up with the Punjabi pakistanis and even said that F**k those punjabis, I do not want to hear about them. This is the reality.

No one has the right to take any sensitive decision such as this without consulting with the local population.

Language always play a bigger role if you have love with your own language and it has a glorified and rich history. Urdu is fairly a new language and alien to the local people of Bangladesh.

Just look at the same manner in Quebec of Canada... no one wants to speak any other language other then French. Even though English is widely used in Canada.

In Europe no one will talk with you in any other language if they can see that you have idea about their language.

Last of all Pakistan was totally a project of the Bengali people from A-Z. So, the Punjabi ruler should be aware of the sensitivity of the Bengali people.

जिसको ना निज देश तथा, निज भाषा का अभिमान है ।
वो नर नहीं निरा पशु है और मृतक के सामान है ।।

‎"Jisko na nij-desh tatha, nij-bhasha ka abhimaan hai,
wo nar nahi, nira pashu hai, aur mritak ke samaan hai."

- Maithili Sharan Gupt, Hindi Poet

(one who is not proud of his country and mother tongue,
he is not a human being but he is a sheer animal and like a dead one.)

Just go n ask them whether they are happy with that or not!!! I know many pathans and other non punjabi pakistanis those who are fed up with the Punjabi pakistanis and even said that F**k those punjabis, I do not want to hear about them. This is the reality.

No one has the right to take any sensitive decision such as this without consulting with the local population.

Language always play a bigger role if you have love with your own language and it has a glorified and rich history. Urdu is fairly a new language and alien to the local people of Bangladesh.

Just look at the same manner in Quebec of Canada... no one wants to speak any other language other then French. Even though English is widely used in Canada.

In Europe no one will talk with you in any other language if they can see that you have idea about their language.

Last of all Pakistan was totally a project of the Bengali people from A-Z. So, the Punjabi ruler should be aware of the sensitivity of the Bengali people.

They are fed up with Punjabis for different reasons not about language issues.