A heaven for South Asian medical students

• Mahadi Al Hasnat
  • Published at 09:42 PM June 19, 2017
  • Last updated at 12:35 AM June 20, 2017

Nepalese students celebrate their graduation from Dhaka University in front of the Raju Bhashkarja on the campus at the university's 50th convocation ceremony on March 4, 2017Syed Zakir Hossain/Dhaka Tribune

Every year, many students from Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka enrol in both public and private medical colleges in Bangladesh.

Many students from the South Asian countries flock to Bangladeshi medical schools because Bangladesh is increasingly standing out as an attractive option for medical aspirants when prices for medical studies are going up in Asia, Europe and North America.

Every year, many students from Afghanistan, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, the Maldives, Nepal and Sri Lanka enrol in both public and private medical colleges in Bangladesh, which offer high yet affordable standards of education.

There are more than 75 seats for international students in various government-run medical colleges in Bangladesh, while 20-25% of seats in private medical colleges are reserved for them, according to sources.

“Foreign students are increasingly interested in studying in Bangladeshi medical colleges because of the quality education and low costs,” said Dr Md Shafiqul Alam Chowdhury, vice-principal of Dhaka Medical College.

Speaking to the Dhaka Tribune, several foreign students said the quality of medical studies in Bangladesh is similar to that of India, both in terms of syllabi, books, teaching methods, and duration of study.

Krishna Kumar Isar, a medical student from Rajbiraj in Nepal who has been attending the Dhaka Community Medical College and Hospital since 2015, said: “The number of seats in medical colleges is not enough in Nepal, but in Bangladesh, Nepalese students can get admitted easily because of the availability of seats. Bangladesh is geographically close to Nepal, which is another advantage.”

Azae Sha, another Nepalese student from Kathmandu who is currently enrolled in MH Samorita Hospital and Medical College, said: “Medical studies cost $100,000 in India, which is too expensive. But we can get the same quality of education in Bangladesh with only $30,000-$45,000.''

Given these advantages, 400-500 Nepalese students come to Bangladesh for medical studies, he added.

Bangladesh attracts large numbers of Indian students from West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, Kerala, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Punjab, Karnataka, Tripura and Manipur as well.

Bangladesh is particularly popular among Kashmiri students because it is a Muslim majority country, said Yasir Javed, a student from Jammu and Kashmir who goes to Sher-e-Bangla Medical College.

“Bangladeshi culture is quite familiar to Kashmiri students because of its Islamic traditions. The quality of education is also pretty good, and the cost is affordable for middle-class families,” he explained.

Tousif Khan, a student from Kolkata who goes to Uttara Modern Medical College, said Indian students trained in Bangladesh frequently come out on top in the entrance examination of the Medical Council of India, which is for Indian students completing their medical degrees abroad.

“Many Indian students favour Bangladeshi medical colleges as they don’t require the NEET score, which is compulsory in India because of the limited seats and huge number of applicants. The tuition cost is also higher in India,” he said. “Indian parents also prefer Bangladesh for their children’s higher studies, since it is close to home.”

When contacted, Education Minister Nurul Islam Nahid said Bangladesh had become a popular destination for foreign nationals because of the significant progress in the standards of higher education.

“India may be wealthier than us, but it cannot meet the demands of its vast population, which is why many Indian students come to Bangladesh for higher education. Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and other neighbouring countries also have confidence in our quality of education,” he told the Dhaka Tribune.

He further said if the educational institutions in Bangladesh continued their progress and further hone the quality of their education, more students from foreign countries would be encouraged to study here.
http://www.dhakatribune.com/bangladesh/education/2017/06/19/haven-south-asian-medical-students/
Pretty ladies!

The prime reason they and the kashmirii girls choose bd rinstead of India. Safety.
Yes, of course. Which is why they come to India to shop after Eid. :tdown:

Anyway, let me look up a map from the UN about rape per thousand...

%28A%29_Rape_rates_per_100000_population_2010-2012%2C_world.jpg

Here you go. BD rapes more than Pak and Ind.

Now pls go and fix this*.

*Not this map, I mean fix the issue.

Yes, of course. Which is why they come to India to shop after Eid.
:rofl: that was funny.

Anyways, on topic i can speak only on pakistans behalf. My elders had shared that Before 71 many pakistani students used to study in medical in east paksiatn ,major reason being low merit , same students who would not get admission in west pakisatn would get admission in east pakistan. Even now there would be many pakistanis alive from previous generations who studied at bangladesh colleges.

In Pakistan THERE IS A CRAZE A MADNESS TO become a doctor , if your parents want you to become a doctor or you had always dreamt of it then pakistanis will do anything to get into medical. Now pakistan has less number of gov med schools, private medical colleges are vey pricey. So majority Pakistanis who can afford and did not get in gov colleges will get admission in pvt colleges.
In pak pvt med eductaion is extremely pricey it goes like 9-10 lac per year
Those who can not afford will try to go anywhere anywhere abroad where they can earn a medical degree at a cheap cost even if the med school is so crap that you give exams with open books as no teacher taught you through out the year. yes trust me and such countries are mainly romania,uzbekistan , tajikistan etc etc.

Now bangladeshs medical colleges might be somewhat better than these central asian states ,where you are hardly taught anything, but the major factor will be less cost , they will cost half the price of pvt medical colleges in pakistan.

So taking this to boast as Bangladesh is the hub of medical education etc etc is nothing apart from acting delusional. And they are calling it heaven..?

No country gives such scholarship for mbbs..
Are u sure that Bangladesh gives it for free?
Hard to believe for me
Of course it is free for foreign student in Government medical college in BD.During my study in a govt. medical college, I had discussion with classmate as well as senior, junior students who came from Nepal, Bhutan, Palestine, Malaysia, all of them admitted, they don't give any tuition fees or any kind of charges.They only bear expanses of food, clothing, books or other personal necessities like rest of us.

Anyways, on topic i can speak only on pakistans behalf. My elders had shared that Before 71 many pakistani students used to study in medical in east paksiatn ,major reason being low merit , same students who would not get admission in west pakisatn would get admission in east pakistan. Even now there would be many pakistanis alive from previous generations who studied at bangladesh colleges.

In Pakistan THERE IS A CRAZE A MADNESS TO become a doctor , if your parents want you to become a doctor or you had always dreamt of it then pakistanis will do anything to get into medical. Now pakistan has less number of gov med schools, private medical colleges are vey pricey. So majority Pakistanis who can afford and did not get in gov colleges will get admission in pvt colleges.
In pak pvt med eductaion is extremely pricey it goes like 9-10 lac per year
Those who can not afford will try to go anywhere anywhere abroad where they can earn a medical degree at a cheap cost even if the med school is so crap that you give exams with open books as no teacher taught you through out the year. yes trust me and such countries are mainly romania,uzbekistan , tajikistan etc etc.

Now bangladeshs medical colleges might be somewhat better than these central asian states ,where you are hardly taught anything, but the major factor will be less cost , they will cost half the price of pvt medical colleges in pakistan.

So taking this to boast as Bangladesh is the hub of medical education etc etc is nothing apart from acting delusional. And they are calling it heaven..?
This type of mean mentality is the reason Bangladeshi people can't get along with Pakistan.You know cr*p about Bangladeshi medical college but quick to judge negatively.

In BD, getting admitted in govt. medical college is very competitive.A candidate must have CGPA at least 8.0 out of 10.0(SSC+HSC) for eligibility. Last year, 1 lakh student competed for only 3,500 seat in Govt. medical college.Private medical college have more than 8,000 seats, but only money can't give you a chance to admit them as well.Admission test of Private medical is done with the same question paper of govt. medical college in a same days and any one who get less then 40 percent marks can't get admitted in any private medical college within Bangladesh.I have known a lot of students who could not secure any place in private medical due to low score gone to China.(China is now a popular destination of Bangladeshi medical aspirant). Even if you are willing to spent many crores of Taka but have not sufficient score(CGPA 8.0)or fail to get 40 percent marks in admission test, you can't get admit in any private medical in BD.

In govt. medical, I have seen many students who could not complete their MBBS in due time due to rigorous exam procedure.I have seen many student who loss 3-4 years,failed 6-7 times before passing their final MBBS exam.These is no shortcut syllabus and exam are heavy in viva and practical demonstration.

In my time , it was around 300 taka per in a govt medical college.
In my class there were 7 foreign students.
4 from Nepal
2 from India.
1 from Pakistan.
BD students were 149.
Why is your govt paying for foreign students??

Why not? If they can bear the cost of several lakh university student at any given year from Bangladesh then what it matter if that include few thousands foreign one? Most of these students are from neighboring countries.You can consider this equivalent of foreign scholarship.

Govt. medical is free.Private Medical take 30k to 45k US dollar according to OP.

In my time , it was around 300 taka per in a govt medical college.
In my class there were 7 foreign students.
4 from Nepal
2 from India.
1 from Pakistan.
BD students were 149.
I also had to pay that 300 taka per 6 months.It is actually a token hostel charge.
In my class-
3 from Nepal
2 from Bhutan
1 from Palestine
Bangladeshi student were 190.

This type of mean mentality is the reason Bangladeshi people can't get along with Pakistan.You know cr*p about Bangladeshi medical college but quick to judge negatively.

In BD, getting admitted in govt. medical college is very competitive.A candidate must have CGPA at least 8.0 out of 10.0(SSC+HSC) for eligibility. Last year, 1 lakh student competed for only 3,500 seat in Govt. medical college.Private medical college have more than 8,000 seats, but only money can't give you a chance to admit them as well.Admission test of Private medical is done with the same question paper of govt. medical college in a same days and any one who get less then 40 percent marks can't get admitted in any private medical college within Bangladesh.I have known a lot of students who could not secure any place in private medical due to low score gone to China.(China is now a popular destination of Bangladeshi medical aspirant). Even if you are willing to spent many crores of Taka but have not sufficient score(CGPA 8.0)or fail to get 40 percent marks in admission test, you can't get admit in any private medical in BD.

In govt. medical, I have seen many students who could not complete their MBBS in due time due to rigorous exam procedure.I have seen many student who loss 3-4 years,failed 6-7 times before passing their final MBBS exam.These is no shortcut syllabus and exam are heavy in viva and practical demonstration.

You are a frustrated soul ROFL.

I'm a little skeptical. One of the reason I didn't pursue medical studies in bd is because the lack of good teachers, standard books adopted by the whole country and lack of skilled speakers (teachers) in both English and bangla... They seemed to lack confidence in explaining even in bangla.
(Have to point out this was in the medical coaching centre... Medico, supposedly one of the best in bd!?)
No students from medico got in any govt. Medical college. On average students were worse than I was in subjects like chemistry (I used to be good and bad and now good. That's another story)
Later all the students of medico got admission in private college like holy family red crescent, enam medical college etc.

Seriously? Medical coaching classes are taken by first year medical students. They are just 1-2 years senior to you.

I hadn't taken any gap after high school... I noticed the teachers were actually students from med school and the students had at least 1 year gap. They seemed to be lacking basic problem solving skills...
Meh I finished my first year. Onto the second from September.