How many languages you can speak?

This will help:
Rexte ke tum hī ustād nahīṅ ho ğālib
Kihte haiṅ kisi zamāne meṅ koī mīr bhī thā

Translation

Rekhte( an old form of Urdu)
You are not the master of Rekthe Ghalib (Ghalib is a famous poet and writer)
They say that many years ago, there used to be a Mir (It could either mean Mirza Ghalib, or someone).

Geddit?

It's Mir Taqqi Mir he's referring to :mad:

@Shamain Ghalib would be like :taz:

English!!

What do you call someone who speaks in more than one language? Mulilingual

What do you call someone who only speaks one language? Englishman!

Haha that post was full of arrogance but ohh well :D

English!!
What do you call someone who speaks in more than one language? Mulilingual
What do you call someone who only speaks one language? Englishman!
Haha that post was full of arrogance but ohh well :D
And trust me iliked every bit of it.

Ukranian and russain have similarities or v different? How was learning italian?
Well, for my Ukrainian mate he thinks they sound different to me both sound alien...We started of with being polite with thank you and ended up with me teaching him Urdu :p:

Italian was hard for me...Too much grammar - feminine and masculine for everything...he/ She / it cant be left alone without past and present ....and then there is all sorts of other stuff...I under stand words coz I heard them about..But I cant make a proper sentence coz the grammar annoys the hell out of me...I had the same problem with Arabic...

They blame us for having an identity crisis, but here a South Indian is claiming association with river Indus. Laughable at best.

As for Saraiki. It sounds like a hybrid between Punjabi and Sindhi to me, but there are some words related to Potohari and hindko even. Like the word "tusaan" for "you" is a feature distinct to hill languages like Potohari, Dogri, Hindko etc, but is missing from Punjabi, yet Saraikis also use it. They also end their words on "-aan", like karsaan(I will do), khaasaan(I will eat), which is a feature of Potohari and Hindko, but more or less missing in standard Punjabi. It also has a lot of similarities with Sindhi to an extent that Sindhis can fully understand it as I've heard. The language definitely needs more research.

As for it "sounding like Punjabi", yet it does but to an extent only. A fluent Punjabi would only understand like 70% of thick Saraiki or even less. Its mostly the Sikh and some Punjabi nationalists who declare everything "greater Punjab" and "punjabi" without doing any research.

And it is spoken mostly in "South Punjab", notably the districts of Multan, Layyah, Bhakkar, Muzaffargarh, Mianwali etc. Outside of the Punjab province, it is spoken widely in the D.I.Khan district of KPK, in Northern Sindh, and a variant known as "khetrani" is spoken by a Baloch tribe known as Khetran in Balochistan. The name for the language comes from Sindhi, which literally translates to "northern language". Before this name, it was commonly known as "multani".

These were my two cents. I'm no expert on the subject, mind you. Hope it helped.

They blame us for having an identity crisis, but here a South Indian is claiming association with river Indus. Laughable at best.

As for Saraiki. It sounds like a hybrid between Punjabi and Sindhi to me, but there are some words related to Potohari and hindko even. Like the word "tusaan" for "you" is a feature distinct to hill languages like Potohari, Dogri, Hindko etc, but is missing from Punjabi, yet Saraikis also use it. They also end their words on "-aan", like karsaan(I will do), khaasaan(I will eat), which is a feature of Potohari and Hindko, but more or less missing in standard Punjabi. It also has a lot of similarities with Sindhi to an extent that Sindhis can fully understand it as I've heard. The language definitely needs more research.

As for it "sounding like Punjabi", yet it does but to an extent only. A fluent Punjabi would only understand like 70% of thick Saraiki or even less. Its mostly the Sikh and some Punjabi nationalists who declare everything "greater Punjab" and "punjabi" without doing any research.

And it is spoken mostly in "South Punjab", notably the districts of Multan, Layyah, Bhakkar, Muzaffargarh, Mianwali etc. Outside of the Punjab province, it is spoken widely in the D.I.Khan district of KPK, in Northern Sindh, and a variant known as "khetrani" is spoken by a Baloch tribe known as Khetran in Balochistan. The name for the language comes from Sindhi, which literally translates to "northern language". Before this name, it was commonly known as "multani".

These were my two cents. I'm no expert on the subject, mind you. Hope it helped.
Okayyy, thats very nice and detailed. Thankos muchos.

Acha lekin baat batain seraiki belt kidher located hai,imean province konsa?

Guys this thread has proved to be quite a knowledgeable one. Likelearning abt so many languages spoken accross the world, and their similarities.

Mmmm this makes me hungry.iwant pizza. Dunno y.

Urdu,English,Seraiki,Punjabi,Potohari/mirpuri

Thats a nice reply, so marathi is also like telegu and tamil etc? And canu specifically name the state or region where telegu is spoken.

But then if sanskrit is different from dravadian tongues then why is it said that veda books are in sanskrit and hindusim was religion of dravadians? Then shudnt veda books be in dravadian languages too?
nope...Marathi is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in Maharastra/Mumbai,It is closer to Hindi(only after Rajasthani-Punjabi-Gujarati)..Maharastra is in Western India,not South.
Telegu is spoken in the South Indian states of Andra Pradesh and Telegana..
Regarding Sanskrit and Vedas-Sorry,I am not a Hindu nor from any Dharmic background,so can't comment..
Btw-Sanskrit is not an unknown language in South India..We do use thousands of Sanskrit loan words in South Indian Dravidian languages,even grammars too...

U can gugle. @levina and @Akheilos sister , u tich mi inglis . I no no inglis. Iliterate. :(:(
What is gugle. How can one gugle?

Sad no be dont , no noes inglish no deal big
U speak pigeon speak? U become indian polees and RAW chief. U talking pigeons spying agency, big deal

nope...Marathi is an Indo-Aryan language spoken in Maharastra/Mumbai,It is closer to Hindi(only after Rajasthani-Punjabi-Gujarati)..Maharastra is in Western India,not South.
Telegu is spoken in the South Indian states of Andra Pradesh and Telegana..
Regarding Sanskrit and Vedas-Sorry,I am not a Hindu nor from any Dharmic background,so can't comment..
Btw-Sanskrit is not an unknown language in South India..We do use thousands of Sanskrit loan words in South Indian Dravidian languages,even grammars too...

Thank u for ur input. U really added to my knowledge

Are u from Karachi?
:no:

@Mr.Meap naaah not into swear words, iwas kidding when i said that.
i had tagged wajsal in this thread.
Khattaki,afridi,waziri all are pushtos but with slightly diff dialect,isnt it?
Acha hindko kya hai jo punjabi ,sindhi ,pushto saray log hee yahan keh rahay hain unhain aati hai? It isa lang of originally which region?

Google translate cud be too scary and literal
It is said this guy wrote lyrics in urdu and then used google translate

Oh ok but faroese is a lang of which region as in u mentioned it quite frequently ,iactually googled. Ok listen i read its spoken on faroe island. Faroe island is under which natons control?

@IrbiS this came out sooo funnyyyyyy hahahahhahahaha i cant believe what i read. Hahahahha

Thats going to be cool.

Tell me maharashtra is a south indian state? Are marathas south indians? I always see this confusion? Also does marathi come under dravadian languages?
And arent marathi and konkani similar? What is haryanvi btw.

I really have 2 ask now many ppl are mentioning konkani

Achaaaaa. Actually weirdly ihad noticed many pashtoons claiming to know balochi and similarly many balochi claiming 2 know pushto.i thought then maybe in balochistan both ethncities mashaAllah coexist so perhaps they learn from each other. Thats y i had asked.

Thats a nice reply, so marathi is also like telegu and tamil etc? And canu specifically name the state or region where telegu is spoken.

But then if sanskrit is different from dravadian tongues then why is it said that veda books are in sanskrit and hindusim was religion of dravadians? Then shudnt veda books be in dravadian languages too?

I dont know abt odia ? Is it a language?

Hahah.shud be an extent to stealing someones history.

Ap mujhay yeh bata dain bas simple words may seraiki is simiar to punjabi? And seraiki pakistan kay kis region may boli jaati hai and also what is hindko ,fro where it came,is it also similar to punjabi,potohari?
Maharashtra is not a south Indian state but a western Indian state so is Goa. And yes Marathi and konkani are sister languages. Haryavni is a language spoken in Haryana rural (i guess)