FIRST EVER VIDEO/PHOTOS : K-15 SLBM Test Fired !!!!

Koi ni yaar, Its proud moment for all Indians, we have finally joined elite group of 5 nations who poses this technology.

Kudos to our Hard working scientists :tup:

And believe me the real treat would be the Video of K-4 Launch from Arihant :cheers:

Ab to nirbhay ka waiting hai bhai, praying for its success. :pop:

You may be right but, to me, the characteristics are point to a heavy lift semi-submersible vessel. The bridge/island structure on the right is a big giveaway- you wouldn't see a stand alone vessel with such a unique design.

How long will integration with sub and a launch from the sub take for this missile. Or will this turn out a TD for K-4?

upon close examination of pic i can say that's not single ship.. there are 3 (2+1) barge/tug boat type vessels. all 2 look same .

I also think so. May be its the Bhim class tug boats of navy,or some thing else

India joined that 11 launches ago, but this is the first time seeing it.

True! I mean via video bro ;)

Ab to nirbhay ka waiting hai bhai, praying for its success. :pop:

True true!

In 2012, proud moment was launch of A-5

But in 2013, too many proud moments from k-15 SLBM (already happen) to Nirbhay (as u stated) , GSLV Mark 3, Canisterised launch of A-5 and many more :cheers:

My guess is that this was the first test from open seas,others being from simulated water bodies/ specially arranged test areas in seas. May be thats the reason this test's video is out. Just my guess!

Hurray India becomes 5th nation to have such capabilities apart from US,Russia,France and China but I am confused because some report said the missile range as 1500 km and some 750 km.According to some report this missile which was tested was K-5 whose range is 1500km besides which DRDO has other missile K-15 of range 750km but again some news report says it was 750km.There is no doubt that DRDO is also developing K-4 missile with a range of about 3,000 km but what is this particular missiles correct range.I think this one K-5 range is 1500 km as reported by Doordarshan,CNN and TOI and K-4 range is double i.e 3000km while the other short one K-15 is 750km.That means India has already got two missiles ready to induct,one is K-15 of range 750 km and the other one is K-5 of range 1500 Km while K-4 is under development.

may be this is underwater pontoon
missilesonsubmarines9.gif

I thought it was two boats stationed for surveillance......:hitwall:

During the last test it was reported that the pontoon was at a depth of 50m .Can such a depth be possible with semi-submersible ships ??

No that is not a Semi-Submersible Ship and those depths of approx 70-100 m cannot be possible. The Pontoon has ballast tanks which are flooded and it is lowered to the required depth (on the sea-bed most likely), anchored with muti-moorings; then the firing took place.

Congrats!

We did this in 1982 :D

Now comes the hard part of deploying it in an indigenous SSBN with 100% indian components.
Test firing a missile is all well and good but deploying it in an SSBN will take years. To make sure it works 100% test after test with no failures will take atleast another 10 years.
So by 2025-2030 we will see india have fully operational SSBN armed with SLBM.

Long road ahead, but this is a small step.

Btw our next generation SSBN type 096 is under development and the JL-3 SLBM (based on DF-41) is also under development.

Congrats!

We did this in 1982 :D

Now comes the hard part of deploying it in an indigenous SSBN with 100% indian components.
Test firing a missile is all well and good but deploying it in an SSBN will take years. To make sure it works 100% test after test with no failures will take atleast another 10 years.
So by 2025-2030 we will see india have fully operational SSBN armed with SLBM.

Long road ahead, but this is a small step.

Btw our next generation SSBN type 096 is under development and the JL-3 SLBM (based on DF-41) is also under development.

THe problem you faced was you chose a proven liquid fuel missile to be sub launched....Just look the JL 3 will be a much easier option. We skipped that part and directly went for a canistered solid fuel missile from the start...so I guess our success rate is going to be a bit higher.