World Exclusive: F-16 Block-52 Flying With J-10C

We have a serious dependence on the US for our hardware. Let's not kid ourselves.
I meant for the future. Hopefully Pakistan will end its dependence on American military hardware so they lose their leverage.

It's not going to change. Even if and when we do indigenize -- or more like, 'originalize' -- our defence solutions, we'll still rely on the U.S. and the West at large for critical inputs of various kinds. We don't have big industries (e.g., gas turbines, semiconductors, etc) of our own, and no one in charge seems to be interested in that work, so we'll end up importing those inputs. The armed forces won't put all of their eggs in one basket, so we'll see a mix of Chinese and Western inputs.

Yeah, but China is the biggest alternative to USA for military hardware.

We got J-10Cs. Why didn't we buy more advanced F-16s? because the answer is obvious, USA is not fair to us.
Or when USA sanctioned Pakistan for having its own nuclear program.

We got J-10Cs. Why didn't we buy more advanced F-16s? because the answer is obvious, USA is not fair to us.
Yep, but our new ships use GE gas and/or MTU diesel engines. Likewise, the Sea Sultan LRMPA is powered by PW&C engines and a spate of other ITAR hardware that, for whatever reason, the U.S. decided to let us use for defence applications. So, while we're relying less on the U.S. on the 'full stack' solution, we're still stuck with them for critical inputs like engines, flight control systems, electronics, etc, because the wider market uses those inputs.

USA is only doing that so we don't fall into the laps of China completely. Same thing when we got the Oliver Hazard Perry Frigate.

Do you actually think USA gives a damn for Muslims, and Pakistanis in general?

Pakistan has not yet learnt how to utilize its association with the USA to the best of its abilities.

Pakistanis are running like lost souls. Don't just blame the US for all the pakistani misdeeds.

Pakistan has not yet learnt how to utilize its association with the USA to the best of its abilities.

Pakistanis are running like lost souls. Don't just blame the US for all the pakistani misdeeds.
We were even sanctioned by USA for having our own nuclear weapons.

Or USA used us and our Muslim peoples against USSR.

Do you actually think USA cares about us?

The US has not said no to Pakistan. They are unwilling to provide security assistance/aid to Pakistan through which we used to fund many of these acquisitions. If we have funding available, they will sell us more F-16s. Case in point, Turkey getting approvals.

US congress blocking funds for F-16 purchase: report

Dawn.com Published April 29, 2016

WASHINGTON: The United States (US) administration is withholding funds earmarked for Pakistan's purchase of eight F-16 fighter jets, BBC Urdu reported, citing an unnamed senior US State Department official.
The State Department official told BBC Urdu on condition of anonymity that the Obama administration is still willing to sell the fighter jets to Pakistan, but will not contribute US funds towards the deal.
The US administration took this step with directions from US Senate Committee on Foreign Relations Chairman Bob Corker because only Congress has the authority to dispense or withhold the funds, the official said.
As a result of this move, Pakistan may have to foot the bill of $700 million for the eight fighter jets.

As per the earlier arrangement, Pakistan would have paid $270 million while the US would grant the remaining $430 million for the purchase.
The $742 million earmarked for American military aid to Pakistan in the 2016-2017 budget has also been put on hold, but may be released if Congress changes its mind, the State Department official said, adding that the Obama administration is working with Congress in this regard.

"The sale of weapons is a long process and we cannot comment on such unique circumstances at this time," the spokesperson for the Pakistan embassy in Washington, Nadeem Hotiana, told the BBC.
The F-16 sale faced stiff resistance in the US Congress earlier this year, when lawmakers moved resolutions both in the House and the Senate, seeking to block the sale.
The US Senate in March blocked a bid to derail the sale, but Corker had vowed to block the use of US funds to finance the deal.
Corker and other lawmakers have expressed concern about Pakistan’s nuclear programme, commitment to fighting terrorism and cooperation in the Afghanistan peace process.
The State Department, however, maintained that the sale of eight F-16s to Pakistan would assist counterterrorism and counterinsurgency operations.
In February 2016, State Department spokesperson Helaena W. White said, “Pakistan’s current F-16s have proven critical to the success of these operations to date," and endorsed Pakistan’s position that it had effectively used its existing fleet of F-16s in counter-terrorism operations.
India, and some US lawmakers, have rejected this claim, saying that the F-16s have not been useful in such operations and would ultimately be used against India.
White, however, noted that the operations Pakistan was conducting in Fata with the help of F-16s, "reduce the ability of militants to use Pakistani territory as a safe haven for terrorism and a base of support for the insurgency in Afghanistan" and "these operations are in the national interests of Pakistan, the United States, Nato, and in the interest of the region more broadly."

@blain2 Bhai, and you were saying...? Look at that old Dawn article.

USA does not want to sell Pakistan any more advanced F-16s, that's why Pakistan opted for J-10Cs.

That is because Turkey is in NATO, and does not have a real independent foreign policy.

Also if USA was gladly giving Pakistan F-16s, why make JF-17s and buy J-10Cs?

Please pay attention to the bolded title of the article:

"US congress blocking funds for F-16 purchase: report"

Their approach with us is, Pakistan should bring their own money/funding to buy weapons from them instead of asking the Americans to give us military aid to get these weapons.

It is fair on their part and we should not be looking for hand-outs/assistance to ensure our security.

Their approach with us is, Pakistan should bring their own money/funding to buy weapons from them instead of asking the Americans to give us military aid to get these weapons.

It is fair on their part and we should not be looking for hand-outs/assistance to ensure our security.

EffSolaa chahiyen, aur woh bhi muft mein! :D

How unfair of USA to expect payment! :lol:

Mastan sb
You are quite right. As a nation we have to learns a lot, but what you expects from a nation with mean age of just 22 years. in this age emotions are most important commodity then anything else out there sensibly available.

So what Pakistanis did understandable for quite some angles but what US did to us doesn't from any angle. absolutely nonsense.

You push a kid to the wall expecting it to on his knees eventually for the chocolates in your hands. Your arrogance and rudness infurirated the kid he instead climb up the wall and getting relief from your adversary quite freely.

Now, neither you can abandon him nor embrace. In the big scheme of things and geopolitics, your stakes are quite high so you will loose more as well.

Even if you are right, why get J-10Cs and JF-17s.

Do you even know why we got JF-17s in the first place? Because USA refused to sell us advanced F-16's.