Religious Architecture in Pakistan

All Saints Church, Peshawar
254792885_49721fa868_b.jpg

Bhong Masjid, Sadiqabad
BhongMosque.jpg

bhong-mosque2.jpg

bhong_mosque.jpg

Sadiqabad%20-%20Bhong%20Sharif%20-%20Bhong%20Masjid%20-%20Main%20Prayer%20Hall%20-%20Interior%20-%20Main%20Hall%20-%2002%20copy.jpg

bhong_mosque_membe_galleryfull

A temple in Umerkot, Sindh
Hindu-Temple-Umerkot-Sindh.jpg

Sadhubela Temple on an Island near Sukkur.
18521494.jpg

Toomri Mandir in Gujranwala.
Toomri-Temple-Ghakkhar-Mandi-Gujranwala-Punjab.jpg

I just love the shape of Hindu temples.

Memon Masjid, Karachi
2865128929_3131c724f9_o.jpg

Gurdwara Dera Sahib, Lahore
2616394715_4296775830_o.jpg

2617213944_833bbdc0a2_o.jpg

Aram Bagh Masjid, Karachi
5453263413_72c9769c3e_b.jpg

Temple in Mirpur Khas
46276363.jpg

Dargah Hazrat Nadir Shah in Mirpur Khas
46262660.jpg

Chiniot, Punjab
21%2Bb.jpg

Wait a second, there are Orthodox Christians in Pakistan..?:cheesy:

First mosque outside Arabia, must have been in Egypt. At the time of Arab-Muslim conquest of Egypt mid-7th century (640 c.e.) that was the period of Muslim expansion outside of what we can say for argument sake original Arabia. Yes, Egypt today is known as part of Arabia, but wasn't a part of Arabia before Arab conquest, it had a distinctive "Egypt" identity separate from it's Arab identity today. Before, Arab-Muslim conquest in 640 c.e, Egypt was apart of the Byzantine empire.

We know Islam spread to Egypt and Iran before it spread to Pakistan. Islam arrived to Egypt and Iran in 7th century, while in Pakistan the early 8th century. The first masjid built in Egypt is Mosque of Amr ibn al-As built in 642 c.e. So approximately 2 years after Muslim conquest of Egypt. This makes reasonable sense. This fact alone invalidates the first mosque outside of Arabia was in Pakistan or elsewhere. Some will argue Egypt is "Arabia" well if you lived during the 7th century, I'm sure no Arab back then would have considered Egypt to be apart of Arabia, rather it was "Egypt" itself and happened to be apart of the Byzantine empire.

Anyways, if not Egypt then must be Iran (because I am not exactly sure), as these two locations were the primary territories of Muslim conquest and civilization outside of the Arabian peninsula. There is a chance I am wrong about this but with the information available to us today I'm sure the first mosque outside of Arabia wasn't in Pakistan, nor "Kerala" as one member stated definitively, but Egypt or Iran.

Regards, A1

The first Mosque in India was built around 629 A.D. Arabs had trade in Kerala for a LONG time, even long before they stoke Arabic.

The first Muslim in the Indian subcontinent was a king in Kerala who converted to Islam with the inspiration from an Arab called Malik Bin Deenar.

Buddhist Stupa - Moenjodaro, Sindh
5560227667_25ed292fd4_b.jpg

Tower of Silence (Zoroastrianism) - Karachi, Sindh
517195274_e981695b5c.jpg

Gori Temple - Tharparkar, Sindh
5594231981_544cdd3f40_b.jpg

Badshahi Masjid and Samadhi of Ranjit Singh
4142786105_5491990204_b.jpg

Gurudwara Pehli Patshahi at Chawli Masaekh Dewan Sahib, Burewala
3258458428_5254c875b3_b.jpg

Bhai Joga Singh Gurdwara,Peshawar
5119577003_48a243e21c.jpg

35125839.jpg

Such a great thread Karachiite. :tup:

But it looks like all the temples have been demolished or neglected.

Minarate of a Church and Mosque in Karachi
6125386808_57022faa92_b.jpg

Holy Trinity Church, Karachi
3621552813_a3cff62d16_z.jpg

Shrine of sufi Qalandar Mohammad Azeem barkhiya, Karachi
1017356322_f870c11dcf_z.jpg

Cathedral of the Holy Redeemer, Multan
6424806005_24cb2ed412_z.jpg

St. Mary's Cathedral, Multan
5672527264_ae7dbbd428.jpg

A Church in the middle of a desert in the Sindh-Saraiki region
6424794443_cd69455a66_z.jpg