Petrol costlier by Rs 7.50; Oppn demands rollback

With new price, Petrol in India would be £0.88 per litre, in UK it is £1.4 per litre as of now.

With this speed, Petrol price in India will likely catch up with UK price or exceed in another 1 year. (Petrol price increased 100% in India in last 2 year alone)

India average mother salary £150-250 pounds.
UK monthly salary £1000-2000 pounds.

Can common man in India afford this outrageous price of petrol ?

This is massive level of insanity. What Government of India doing is absolutely ripping off money from poor. Perhaps India needs another freedom struggle.

In UK people cry of slight increase of petrol price. But, Look what is happening in India. Simply barbaric, Outrageous, Insane!

Fact is everyone had potential to use less petrol, we got into habit .

Well if you have to dole out 50,000 crores for the Rural Development Scheme among others, you have to start somewhere.
As usual the nett losers are the middle class.

even if the policies are good their management is not better than stool. your NREGA receives a lot of critics due to corruption in the sector under congress's shadow affecting the quality of the development. This much of corruption never happened.

But the only good thing is the scam comes out in public after sara rupya is gol.

such management and supervising of policies is the cause of rupee falling down.

The Cost Breakup

The Indian basket of Crude Oil is at about USD 100 today (NYMEX is at USD 90.32, Brent is at USD 107.4

Source: Energy & Oil Prices: Natural Gas, Electricity and Oil - Bloomberg

and Indian basket is usually at 5-7% discount to Brent).

At today’s exchange of Rs. 56 per USD (the worst ever!), this works out to Rs. 5600 per barrel, which is still 6% cheaper than the highest price of Rs. 5900 recorded in August 2008.

Lets us look closely at how this translates to cost per litre of petrol!

A barrel of Crude produces approx. 150 litres of Petrol or its equivalent. (This is a broad generalisation and depends on type of crude, efficiency of the refinery etc. but is a reasonably good estimate, based on expert inputs).

The total of all other costs involved in converting crude to Petrol – which includes transport of crude and refined products, cost of refining, reasonable refining margin for the refinery, fuel used by the refinery, dealer commission, etc. – is approx. USD 12, which works out to Rs. 672 per barrel.

Now, this totals up to a final cost of petrol, at your nearest petrol bunk, at Rs. 42 per litre!

YES, it is a little less than Rs 42 per litre, shorn of all taxes! [(5600+672)/150].

This morphs to Rs. 77 – 81 per litre, adding taxes at different levels under various heads – Basic Excise duty, Additional Duty, Special Additional duty, Cess, Additional Cess and lastly, the exorbitant State Sales Tax – adding up to Rs. 35-40 per litre of Petrol.
These are the taxes and duties that the Governments – both centre and state – happily splurge on populist policies with an aim of making every citizen a beggar of Govt. doles!:moil:

you are still quoting it very high. In actual we get it in below Rs.35 and with subsidy its not more than Rs. 25 per liter

Heres an idea:

End government subsidies and let people pay the real cost of goods.

If they cant afford fuel, then they can use a bike, a bus, carpool, etc.

I think petrol is not the basic fundamental entitlement to the citizen of any country. You are consuming a energy source which is on one hand non-renewable and on the other environmentally hazardous. So, to expect the price to be low for eternity when the stock is fast receding is far from reality, and in the context of India it is like asking for moon.

When there is a talk about high tax on petrol, it is on these lines in which taxes are hiked on Tobaco products. The comparison might be little far fetched, but it is relevant for the pollution point of view. Till now, the policy is to tax the petroleum products and fund the development programs because, the state and the center was not able to generate the money from any other avenue. Now, with states becoming healthy with their finance, we should expect some tax rationalization from state. and center as well.

Regardsing food subsidy, the most clamor appears from the middle class are by nature more worried about their weekend outing than a person getting a full meal a day. This is understood from the fact that middle class all over the world is a selfish lot.

If we discuss this purely on humanity issue the argument against food security has no leg. Even if you see this from the point of view of economics....

A meal a day for hungry - Decreases malnutrition, enhances personal health, which enhances the productivity and ultimately it adds to the national happiness

A liter petrol burn - Carry a man from one place to the other, saves time, increases productivity for that person who is unwilling to share his happiness with others but it pollutes the environment. In a country like India this has no benefit. Saying so I am not asking for ban on petroleum product, but definitely a rationalization of its usage.

If you talk about figure, till now India is giving 70/80K subsidy on PDS. he additional cost will be another 30/40 thousand. Thorough proper targeting by using Adhar infrastructure, we can hope to make it more efficient and reduce the cost.

I think the middle class does not need a sympathy, they need to be generous enough about their lesser countrymen.

I think petrol is not the basic fundamental entitlement to the citizen of any country. You are consuming a energy source which is on one hand non-renewable and on the other environmentally hazardous. So, to expect the price to be low for eternity when the stock is fast receding is far from reality, and in the context of India it is like asking for moon.

When there is a talk about high tax on petrol, it is on these lines in which taxes are hiked on Tobaco products. The comparison might be little far fetched, but it is relevant for the pollution point of view. Till now, the policy is to tax the petroleum products and fund the development programs because, the state and the center was not able to generate the money from any other avenue. Now, with states becoming healthy with their finance, we should expect some tax rationalization from state. and center as well.

Regardsing food subsidy, the most clamor appears from the middle class are by nature more worried about their weekend outing than a person getting a full meal a day. This is understood from the fact that middle class all over the world is a selfish lot.

If we discuss this purely on humanity issue the argument against food security has no leg. Even if you see this from the point of view of economics....

A meal a day for hungry - Decreases malnutrition, enhances personal health, which enhances the productivity and ultimately it adds to the national happiness

A liter petrol burn - Carry a man from one place to the other, saves time, increases productivity for that person who is unwilling to share his happiness with others but it pollutes the environment. In a country like India this has no benefit. Saying so I am not asking for ban on petroleum product, but definitely a rationalization of its usage.

If you talk about figure, till now India is giving 70/80K subsidy on PDS. he additional cost will be another 30/40 thousand. Thorough proper targeting by using Adhar infrastructure, we can hope to make it more efficient and reduce the cost.

I think the middle class does not need a sympathy, they need to be generous enough about their lesser countrymen.

I think its a crime to be a middle class in India, your statement just adds to that belief. Even yesterday in the TV debate the govt representative said that he does not consider middle class as aam aadhmi.

So there are 2 options before a person in India, neglect everything be poor and wait for govt dole outs or go and loot the public and become rich as taking the honest path of studying hard and becoming a honest tax paying middle class has become a crime in India..no petrol, no LPG but face all the taxes in the world.

As for the rationale behind pricing of Petrol, explain why India is the only one concerned about depletion of oil and environment hazard. Why our neighbour's petrol rates are below us including Nepal who buys their entire stock from us. Why you are bashing middle class when thousands of crores are being given as tax breaks to corporates and even gold & diamonds. Rajiv Gandhi once famously said that for every rupee spent by the Govt only 15 paisa reaches the end users. Why are you silent on this issue? Crores are being siphoned off the various welfare schemes, but its the middle class that have to face the brunt without getting anything in return. So according to you the middle class should be for eternity be the cash cows for the Indian Govt with no voice for their own to the extent that they should not go out on their once in a week outing as some people needs food free of cost. What a logic Sirjee.

@omar abudalla (J&K CM) tweets

Petrol Pump Attendant : Saab, Kitne ka daaloon?
Customer: 2-4 Rupye ka car ke upar spray kar de bhai. Aag lagani hai.

@omar abudalla (J&K CM) tweets

Petrol Pump Attendant : Saab, Kitne ka daaloon?
Customer: 2-4 Rupye ka car ke upar spray kar de bhai. Aag lagani hai.
Amitabh Bachchan copied his tweet then.....lolz coz he twitted the same joke in same format....haha..me too lolz.

At the least I expect from government now is to decrease taxes on electric and hybrid vehicles

Amitabh Bachchan copied his tweet then.....lolz coz he twitted the same joke in same format....haha..me too lolz.

They can joke about it while the Middle Class person from Kashmir to Kanyakumari is crying.

you are still quoting it very high. In actual we get it in below Rs.35 and with subsidy its not more than Rs. 25 per liter

Stop talking from lame pics shared on Facebook ..
And give a source for your claim or better calculate it according to the international prices

At the least I expect from government now is to decrease taxes on electric and hybrid vehicles

We already are facing power deficit, increase of electric vehicles will only add to that problem. Also we need resources to power up the power plants whether its coal, diesel or naphta.