Modi pushes 'obsolete' Tejas on reluctant military

The entire article was nothing but a waste time for the readers and for the writer...Btw can somebody pls ask this reporter to tell us the difference between Aesa and Pe
Its like a comedy routine

The reality is this, LCA would be scrapped if it wasent for your government forcing your military to induct them

The same goes for Arjunk

Everything else are just excuses by indian fanboys

The plane has major issues snd shortfalls, the indian military realise this now but due to ego the government is forcing them to induct this flying turd
Ya like your Govt could have scrapped Jf17 if they could afford j10..

Provide me a source the JF-17 has attained FOC- that should be readily available (if true). I can't prove a negative.
For the United States Department of Defensemilitary acquisition, FOC is defined as [1] "In general, attained when all units and/or organizations in the force structure scheduled to receive a system have received it and have the ability to employ and maintain it. The specifics for any particular system FOC are defined in that system’s Capability Development Document (CDD) and Capability Production Document (CPD)."

FOC is a certification event marking completion of training, providing maintenance facilities, and end of planned production of the item. This does not preclude additional orders to obtain the item outside of that contract or after that contract FOC.

By that definition JF-17 has achieved it's FOC

Source: JF-17 Thunder Multirole Fighter [Thread 6] | Page 107

My dear this is not a moronic comparison. You are forgetting. If you had TEjas, there was no need for Rafale, correct?

Tejas has been in development for 30 years. Thats more than a generation of a modern combat jet. I know since you are Indians, you will not accept that Tejas project is actually a failure. But lets swallow the ego and accept that it is.

And by the way, the news is coming from Reuters, not some Pakistani newspaper.

LOL at your comprehension..

If we have Tejas,we don't need Rafale???

Its like saying if You've a Grenade,You don't need a Mortar.

Yes how can we compare two single engined, light weight fighters?

Fact is the JF-17 TO THIS DAY does not have an integrated HMDS (and thus a very limited off-boreseight lock-on capability) and no IFR probe- features that come on the MARK 1 of the LCA and features that are critical to the LCA getting FOC- not even the BLOCK 2 Thunders have such features. If the IAF was like the PAF and willing to accept the plane as is the LCA would have been in service years ago.

The JF-17 still has yet to attain its FOC but the LCA will get its in a few months- will you still be labelling it a failure then?

So LCA is superior to JF17 because "apparently" it will have HMD and IFR? (both of which can be integrated in a jiffy-with IFRs already being integrated on the new blockII and older Block Is) ??

All that despite LCA being inferior in performance in every aspect ? lmao

Block I with IFR:

blk1.jpg

The LCA's extensive use of carbon composite materials and a highly reliable engine coupled with the ability to fire a vast array of weaponry (both A2A and A2G) makes it a highly modern and capable aircraft- the Thunder less so.

Same "composite BS" ... reliable engine and vast array of weaponary... yeah.. seems you dont know jack about the ordinance integrated with the JF...

I agree, you shouldn't compare the LCA to the Thunder- it's not very flattering for you is it?

You better compare lca with mig-21 bison.

@Abingdonboy
Stop trolling, it achieved FOC years ago. Block 1 production completed and you think it went ahead without FOC? Wake up, get real and have some common sense.

Source: JF-17 Thunder Multirole Fighter [Thread 6] | Page 108

The guy is a troll... dont take him serious... just counter troll him..:lol:

General characteristics

Crew: 1

• Length: 13.20 m (43 ft 4 in)

• Wingspan: 8.20 m (26 ft 11 in)

• Height: 4.40 m (14 ft 9 in)

• Wing area: 38.4 m² (413 ft²)

• Empty weight: 6,500 kg (14,300 lb)

• Loaded weight: 9,500 kg (20,944 lb)

• Max. takeoff weight: 13,200 kg (29,100 lb)

• Powerplant: 1 × General Electric F404-GE-IN20 turbofan

o Dry thrust: 53.9 kN (12,100 lbf)

o Thrust with afterburner: 89.8 kN (20,200 lbf)

• Internal fuel capacity: 2,458 kg

• External fuel capacity: 2 x 1,200-litre drop tank at inboard, 1 x 725-litre drop tank under fuselage

Performance

• Maximum speed: Mach 1.6 (1,350 km/h) calibrated airspeed (CAS) at high altitude, reached in testing of IOC-I, theoretically capable of Mach 1.8

• Range: 3,000 km (1,620 nmi, 1,864 mi)

• Combat radius: 500 km (162 nmi, 186 mi)

• Ferry range: 1,700 km (1,056 mi)

• Service ceiling: 15,240 m (50,000 ft)

• Wing loading: 247 kg/m² (50.7 lb/ft²)

• Thrust/weight: 1.07

• g-limits: +8/−3.5 g

Armament
above figures does not add up.
first if loaded wight is 9.5 then fuel capacity cant be only 2.4 ton. if it is with missiles (which is unlikely) even then this fuel capacity of 2.4ton is decent and contradict above article and numerous other articles i have read stating low range and and fuel. even gripen and Jf-17 has comparable fuel capacity.
so only conclusion i can draw is that either its massively overweight (7.5 ton empty) or too much of drag.

So LCA is superior to JF17 because "apparently" it will have HMD and IFR? (
"apparently"? The LCA ALREADY has these capabilities- HMDS has been there for years.

(both of which can be integrated in a jiffy-with IFRs already being integrated on the new blockII and older Block Is)

If so, why has it taken so long for you to do so? No HMDS is in sight (no pun intended) and not even the Block 2s are coming with a IFR probe (not the first 20 or so anyway).

All that despite LCA being inferior in performance in every aspect ? lmao
Such as?

Same "composite BS"
Just because something is unpleasant for you to swallow, doesn't make it "BS"

above figures does not add up.
first if loaded wight is 9.5 then fuel capacity cant be only 2.4 ton. if it is with missiles (which is unlikely) even then this fuel capacity of 2.4ton is decent and contradict above article and numerous other articles i have read stating low range and and fuel. even gripen and Jf-17 has comparable fuel capacity.
so only conclusion i can draw is that either its massively overweight (7.5 ton empty) or too much of drag.
thing is LCA is 6.5 tonnes and that too with many counter wieghts and telematerry and testing equipment and all those extra wiring & other such equipment to keep it tightli tucked in a flight + a very heavy duty landing gear all of which will be shelved once it gets FOC and the work is already on in full swing to cut tejas wieght by 800-1000 KGs

so it after all these wieght cuttings will come to around 5.5 tonne but right now its 6.5 tonne not 7.5 tonne

PS dont beleve all that media bullcrap that is specially spread to discourage MOD in going for tejas instead of some foriegn fighter ..... do i need to tell you why IAF & some MOD baboons want "foriegn maal" over indian products

yes it carries 2.4 tonnes of feul and its fighting radius in clean configuration in a high altitude is well above 500KM but with full load and in low or medium altitude its somehwere between 350-420 KM which is pretty decent for its role and that too onli on internal feul

rest you can speculate yourself

"apparently"? The LCA ALREADY has these capabilities- HMDS has been there for years.

"apparently" its still under development.. "apparently" it doesnt take years or months to integrate HMDs.... "apparently" LCA also uses an inferior radar or nose cone restricting its range to mere 80km.

JF-17 Block-2 Update from “The Thunder City”
By Najam Khan | June 27, 2015 | JF-17 Thunder
Leave a comment

hc82vl7.png

Flying JF-17 Thunder over French skies in Paris Air Show for the first time was W/C Mian Usman Ali, Officer Commanding No.26 Sqn. The performance was 6th air display by PAF JF-17 overseas in an airshow.

Back in the country, PAF is ramping up its JF-17 production lines with over 60 units being made and 50 flying in air-defence-operations. The long awaited JF-17 Block-II has been under production since few months now and flying since Feb’15. The aircraft will be improved version of its previous Block in avionics, electronic warfare package, KLJ-7 V2 radar and in-flight-refueling system for enhanced range.

JF-17 Block II will also have improved data-bus for integration of BVR weapons and precision guided munitions. Improved weapons package for Block-II will prove to be the ‘real-punch’ in PAF’s arsenal. The weapon package will include CM-400 anti-shipping missile, CM-102 anti-radiation missile and variety of GPS/INS guided glide bombs.

JF-17 will have South African origin in-flight-refueling system; which is being implemented by integration of air refueling probe on starboard of the fuselage (behind the cockpit). Two aircraft from first batch (referred as Block-1) are upgraded for flight testing of the system; installation on Block-II aircraft will be conducted from 2016.

jf-17_thunder_block_2_pac_kamra_2015_01.jpg

JF-17 Serial 15-207 all set for T&E flight is one of the freshly painted Block-IIs in PAF paint scheme. Photo via Ibrahim Hashim
jf-17_thunder_block_2_pac_kamra_2015_02.jpg

JF-17 Block-II Serial 2P11 (15-211) undergoing structure build up at PAC. Photo via Ibrahim Hashim
jf-17_thunder_block_2_pac_kamra_2015_06.jpg

jf-17_thunder_pac_kamra_2015_01.jpg

JF-17 Block-I serial 10-126 flanked by Block-IIs. In physical appearance not much difference exists in both Blocks but from avionics and electronics point-of-view the latter shall be improved machine. Photo via: Ibrahim Hashim
jf-17_thunder_block_2_pac_kamra_2015_03.jpg
jf-17_thunder_block_2_pac_kamra_2015_04.jpg

Source: JF-17 Thunder - Information Pool | Page 46

If so, why has it taken so long for you to do so? No HMDS is in sight (no pun intended) and not even the Block 2s are coming with a IFR probe (not the first 20 or so anyway).

Plently of HMDs are available on the market from the Chinese to the South African HMDs.. the IFR will start from the 16th aircraft and all previous fighters will be equipped with it!

Its a counter claim son... a true one! Try "debunking" it..
ust because something is unpleasant for you to swallow, doesn't make it "BS"

Im allergic to BS.

"reliable engine.. vast weaponary" ya ya ya "bobbles head"
JF-17 Thunder's Armament | Page 5

We have a simple plan

Induct 50
Prepare block 2
Induct 50 more
Upgrade original 50 to block 2 standard
Prepare block 3
Induct 50

After that we can keep making improvements and induct as many as we like

Dont compare the above to the LCA Saga
That because at present you don't have any other option...Let me explain since 2000 PAF has aquired
18 F16 Blk 52
+60 Jf17
and on the other hand IAF &IN has aquired
230 Su30Mki
+10 Mirage 2000
+45 Mig 29K...
Now you can understand why your Govt is investing so much in jf17....

Arre isse mujhe ek dialogue yaad aaya..
India:-
Humare paas Su30mki hai,Mig29K hai,Lca tejas hai,2 Aircraft Carrier hai,Stealth Destroyer hai,Stealth Frigade hai tumhare paas kya hai..

Pakistan :- Humare paas Jf17 hai...

That because at present you don't have any other option...Let me explain since 2000 PAF has aquired
18 F16 Blk 52
+60 Jf17
and on the other hand IAF &IN has aquired
230 Su30Mki
+10 Mirage 2000
+45 Mig 29K...
Now you can understand why your Govt is investing so much in jf17....

Arre isse mujhe ek dialogue yaad aaya..
India:-
Humare paas Su30mki hai,Mig29K hai,Lca tejas hai,2 Aircraft Carrier hai,Stealth Destroyer hai,Stealth Frigade hai tumhare paas kya hai..

Pakistan :- Humare paas Jf17 hai...
230 Su30Mki half of the fleet grounded need seriouse repairment
+10 Mirage 2000 replacement of unrepairable and crashed jets
+45 Mig 29K...replacement of unrepaiable and crashed jets

Wow, the media is either highly stupid or working to some agenda (or all of the above)

Observe carefully and u will come to know all these presstitutes are closely related to congress:disagree:. Be it Congi or not these people are traitors with vested interest. They should be banned by govt. for sabotaging indegeneous products