What's new

If you have to build an A-Team with special forces from 5 different countries besides your home coun

Syed Asif Bukhari

Reaction score
Country
Pakistan
First of all, thank you for your question. I am a retired soldier from the United States Army.

Interesting hypothetical question, and of course my true preference would be to utilize Special Operations Warriors from my home country to conduct any real world mission.

You have asked me to build an Operational Detachment-Alpha (ODA), or A-Team. This is the smallest detachment structure of the US Special Operations Forces, and it is comprised of 12 men. The ODA is led by a Detachment Commander, a Captain, and an Assistant Detachment Commander, who is his second in command, usually a Warrant Officer One or Chief Warrant Officer Two. The team also includes the following enlisted men: one Operations Sergeant (known as the "Team Sergeant"), usually a Master Sergeant, one Assistant Operations and Intelligence Sergeant, usually a Sergeant First Class, and two each Weapons Sergeants, Engineer Sergeants, Medical Sergeants, and Communications Sergeants, usually Sergeants First Class, Staff Sergeants or Sergeants.

main-qimg-7cb8834a2090d3ef62121cde1319c803

**This is a real life US Special Forces Captain at work. Let's call him "Rob". Here, he is in Afghanistan directing two of his men to follow a shady looking character into a suspected Taliban hideout, or maybe he's just telling me to get out of his face, I'm not sure. I'm going to make him the leader of our A-Team. "Rob" is pretty badass.

Rob would love to have as his Assistant Detachment Commander a member of the British Special Air Service, or SAS. SAS commandos are right up their with our Delta Operators and SEALs in terms of training and mission capability. US Special Forces have worked well with SAS commandos for many years.

main-qimg-c5da59bb86d5497210c49ebeda9310ab

**An SAS soldier stands at the ready in Iraq.