Are we the custodians of the Muslim Ummah?

The word ummah has been exploited too much by anti-Muslim goons and perhaps one of the phobias these people have.

Ummah means one umat that is what all Muslims .
anyway just change the word ummah wit Muslim Strategic Block in the current scenario and work towards it. use your advantages to protect your interests

Every Muslim country that has aligned with a Non-Muslim country for protection of its interests
is coming or will come full circle towards the same desire. Its simple call it West or whatever, the lines have same religious alliances though portrayed as secular

Well as I said before.... the word Ummah is misconceived. For example, to be clear, its not "Muslim Ummah" Its the "Ummah of the Prophet Muhammad (SAW) When you look at that way, the connotation change, and the term becomes less ambiguous.

There have been not just one Ummah, but multiple Ummahs, when the gates of Prophethood were open, for example, each Prophet came to his "ummah" and lead his "ummah". When we say Muslim Ummah, we are actually talking about "Ummah of Prophet Muhammad" Which is probably the more correct and less vague way to use the term...

When you look at that way, it means, when you say, you belong to Ummah of Prophet Muhammad (saw), it actually points towards the "relation" you have with the Prophet of God.

Ummah of Prophet Muhammad (saw) is not measured by the relation you have with tom, dick and harry, or changa manga and pappu. As I guess is misleadingly believed among some people..

There is no way, you can say, the Ummah of Prophet Muhammad does not exist. It exists, without question. You are among the fortune if God considers you to be among the Ummah of Prophet Muhammad (saw).

How much fortunate are those people, who on the day of judgement, Prophet Muhammad (SAW) would call them to be among his Ummah.

not possible because any federation based on relion is not possible and has been proven so. if a pak1 goes and tells saudi , chal bhai we will take the oil out and sell it, he will be laughed out.
also this religon is flawed as it discriminates non-believers and so there will be a tension between varoius countries. this will work if only every one of you guys join TTP or Afg T'ban.

Lol, if you create ummah, then the rest of the world excluding india and china will be chumma (christan ummah).ummah chummah de de. ummah chumma dede umma.

Oh great, an Indian idiot trying to poke his nose in matters where it does not belong. What a rare site to see....I bet his *** is burning on the key board as he types...

not possible because any federation based on relion is not possible and has been proven so. if a pak1 goes and tells saudi , chal bhai we will take the oil out and sell it, he will be laughed out.
also this religon is flawed as it discriminates non-believers and so there will be a tension between varoius countries. this will work if only every one of you guys join TTP or Afg T'ban.
Its not about sharing wealth.

anyway NVM.

Lol, if you create ummah, then the rest of the world excluding india and china will be chumma (christan ummah).ummah chummah de de. ummah chumma dede umma.

The forum update process has given some space to species like you so NVM again

Is Muslim Ummah interchangeably used with another term Muslimmah? I have heard or read it somewhere.

P.S. @Spring Onion Jana ji how is the new look for you? I am not enjoying it frankly. It is cramping my style.

The Arab will slap him with his camel chappals.:omghaha:

Every Muslim will always have a soft spot for another Muslim. My point is not to confuse having religion in common as meaning that you are one people - which is what some people think the Ummah is.

Bhai-chara exists but leave it at that please. If every Muslim country looked after it's own people properly then we'd all be much better off.

And to be clear, every Muslim is part of the Ummah whether you agree with them or not - we all have different ideas about how to improve our lot, so please consider if the idea is valid without getting into personal religious bigotry.

Well why not? We have GCC, EU, SAARC why not UMN...

Oh great, an Indian idiot trying to poke his nose in matters where it does not belong. What a rare site to see....I bet asson the key board as he types...
Personal attack, rant and bad language is sign of losing the argument ... It's no fun being a loser. but people loves to play with a loser... The path of foul language and personal attack is the path of the loser :coffee:.

Muslim Ummah and Islamic Society: Importance of Islamic Unity
dot.gif

Ummah is an Arabic word meaning "community" or "nation". In the context of Islam, the word Ummah or Muslim Ummah is used to mean the diaspora or "Community of the Believers" (Ummat al-Mu'minin), and thus the whole Muslim world. The phrase Ummah Wahida (One Community) in Noble Qur'an refers to the entire Islamic world unified. Noble Qur'an says: "You are the best of the nations raised up for (the benefit of) men; you enjoin what is right and forbid the wrong and believe in Allah ..." (3:110)

Islam considers all Muslims to be one Ummah, a community whose basis is faith and common objectives and among all its constituent units, exists a deeper unity which does not allow the differences of region, race, language and nation to disrupt and disintegrate it. Noble Qur'an declares: Surely this community of yours is one community (Ummah), and I am your Lord, therefore serve Me. (21:92)

According to the above verse, Muslims are identified as one Ummah, as parts of which they move towards a common goal, strive to realize their common objectives, worship one and the only God.

In many traditions Muslims are described as one body and different units of the Muslim Ummah are regarded as the organs of a single body. A few of the traditions are quoted here in order to substantiate the point.

Abu Said narrates from Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) that he said, "A believer's relationship to other believers is like that of the different parts of a building, each of which supports the other."

Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) said: "A believer with respect to other believers is related like the head is related to the body. A believer feels the pain of other believers as the head feels the pain of the body."

Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) said: "One who gets up in the morning and his mind is not preoccupied with the matters of Muslims, is not one of them."

All these traditions lead us to the conclusion that all Muslims are brothers and are like a single body and therefore can never be indifferent towards one another. Among them should prevail the spirit of cooperation, brotherhood, fraternity, good will, love, sympathy and unity of direction and purpose, and they should be always united for the defense of Muslim Ummah.

Dr. Allama Mohammed Iqbal describe Muslim Ummah and Islamic Society, in the following Urdu couplet:

Qaum Goya Jism Hai Afraad Hain Aazayay Qaum
Manzil-e-Sana't Ki Rah Pe Hain Dasto Payay Qaum
Mahfil Nazm-e-Hukoomat Chahra-e-Zaybayay Qaum
Shair Rangeen Nawa Hai Deeda-e-Beena-e-Qaum
Mubtala-e-Dard Koi Azu Ho Roti Hai Aankh
Kis Qadar Hamdard Saray Jism Ki Hoti Hai Aankh

Community is an organism and individuals are parts of its body
Those engaged in industry are its hands and legs
Those engaged in administration are its face
Poet of myriad sweet melodies is the eye of the nation
The eye weeps for the suffering of any and every part of the body
How sympathetic it is to the entire organism.

"And hold fast, all together, by the rope which Allah (stretches out for you), and be not divided among yourselves." (3:103)

Allah (SWT) makes it clear in Noble Qur'an that unity of the Muslim Ummah is very important. Allah (SWT) tells us not to be divided and to hold tightly to the teachings of Noble Qur'an and the example of Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh). Unfortunately we Muslims have divided ourselves into different sects. We bicker over petty and trivial issues that hold no meaning and do not benefit Muslim Ummah in any way. Today, if the Muslims look at themselves they will see a group of people separated from one another. This disunity resulted into intellectual decline, perversion, loss of cordial values like sincerity, patience, tolerance, self-sacrifice. Owing to mutual disharmony, Muslim Countries were subjugated one after another by the enemies. Consequently, the Ummah at large is surrounded by problems and worries at present.

As we see from the above mentioned traditions of Holy Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) that the believers are like parts of the body in relation to each other in matters of kindness, love and affection. When one part of the body is afflicted, the entire body feels it, there is loss of sleep and a fever develops.

How can we support each other if we are not united? How can we love each other like brothers and sisters in Islam, if we hold misconceptions about each other in our hearts?

The answer is simple: We, as the Muslim Ummah, have to overcome the minor and irrelevant differences that separate us. If we are able to do that we will notice that all Muslims believe in the same things: Tauheed [Oneness of Allah (SWT)], all the Prophets (peace be upon them all), all the holy Books, all of Allah's angels and the day of judgement (Qayamat). Not to mention that every Muslim tries to follow Noble Qur'an and Holy Prophet Muhammad's Sunnah and teaching.

Muslims should understand that unity is what will make us move forward in this world as well hereafter. Today the Muslim Ummah is behind in everything, Education, technology, trade and most importantly our faith. Non-Muslims may not believe in our faith but their unity has made them come very far. Remember the era when the Muslims were united and held on to Allah's rope tightly? The Islamic empire spread from the east to west and Allah (SWT) blessed them with wealth, fame, victory and honor. Muslims need to be united now more than ever before. We have to think about what we will and we can do to make our lives in this world and the hereafter better and blessed. Let's take a look at the following moral stories to understand the importance of Islamic Unity as one Muslim Ummah.

dot.gif

Tailor's Needle: Simple moral story to understand Muslim Ummah and Islamic Society
dot.gif

A tailor was at work. He took a piece of cloth and with a pair of shining, costly, scissors; he cut the cloth into various bits.

Then he put the pair of scissors at his feet. Then he took a small needle and thread and started to sew the bits of cloth, into a fine shirt. When the spell of sewing was over, he stuck the needle on to his turban.

The tailor's son who was watching it asked him: "Father, the scissors are costly and look so beautiful. But you throw them down at your feet. This needle is worth almost nothing; you can get dime a dozen. Yet, you place it carefully on your head itself. Is there any reason for this illogical behaviour?"

"Yes, my son. The scissors have their function, no doubt; but they only cut the cloth into bits. The needle, on the contrary, unites the bits and enhances the value of the cloth. Therefore, the needle to me is more precious and valuable. The value of a thing depends on its utility, son, not on its cost-price or appearance."

Similarly, there are two classes of people in the world-those who create dissensions and disharmony, who separate man from man; and those who bring about peace and harmony, who unite people.

The former are generally the rich people, powerful politicians and kings; the latter are generally the poor devotees of Allah (SWT), the penniless wandering monks, and mendicants. The Lord makes use of both to carry on his function of providing the field for the evolution of individual souls. He throws down on the dust the mighty kings and millionaires who create wars and disharmony; and He keeps the poor, pious devotee over the top. In His eyes the scale of values is entirely different!

Muslim Ummah and Islamic Society: Purpose and Duties

Understand and fulfill the responsibilities and duties that fall upon you by virtue of your being Muslims. You cannot get away with merely affirming that you are Muslims and that you have accepted Allah (SWT) as your only God and Islam as your religion. Rather, as soon as you acknowledge Allah (SWT) as your only Lord and His guidance as your way of life, you take upon yourselves certain obligations and duties. These obligations you must always remain conscious of, these duties you must always endeavour to discharge. If you evade them, you shall not escape the undesirable consequences of your conduct in this world as well as in the Hereafter.

As Muslim, duties are not merely confined to the affirmation of faith in Allah (SWT) as one and just, His Angels, His Books, His Messengers and Imams, Qayamat and the Day of Judgement. Nor are they confined to performing daily Prayers, observing the Fasts, going on Hajj Pilgrimage and paying the Alms. Nor are these duties exhausted by observing the injunctions of Islam relating to marriage, divorce and inheritance. Over and above all these duties, we should realize that working toward unity of the Muslim Ummah is also our responsibility which should be collective work that needs all our efforts. Yes, it needs all our effort without any exception starting from purifying our selves and our communities from all those problems that cause division and disunity. We should realize the dangers of disunity in our communities, because division and disunity will weaken the Muslim Ummah and open the door to our enemies, which lead to the total destruction.

dot.gif

Muslim Ummah and Muslim Society: United we stand, Divided we fall
dot.gif

A father had a family of sons who were perpetually quarreling among themselves. When he failed to heal their disputes by his exhortations, he determined to give them a practical illustration of the evils of disunion; and for this purpose he one day told them to bring him a bundle of sticks tied with twine, and said to his oldest son: "Break it in pieces."

Oldest son tried and tried, but with all his strength, he could not break the bundle.

The other sons also tried, but none of them was successful.

"Untie the bundle," said the father, "and each of you take one stick."

When they had done so, he said to them: "Now, try to break your stick." Each stick was easily broken. "You see my meaning," said their father.

He then addressed them in these words: "My sons, if you are of one mind, and unite to assist each other, you will be as this bundle of sticks, uninjured by all the attempts of your enemies; but if you are divided among yourselves, you will be broken as easily as these single sticks."

Moral of the Story: "United we stand, Divided we fall," the basic concept is that unless the people are united, it is easy to destroy them.

Dr. Allama Mohammed Iqbal and Muslim Unity

Hawas Ne Tukre Tukre Kar Diya Hai Na'u Insan Ku
Ukhuwwat Ka Bayan Ho Ja Mohabbat Ki Zaban Ho Ja
Ye Hindi, Wo Khurasani, Ye Afghani, Wo Turani
Tu Ay Sharmindayeh Sahil Uchhal Kar Bekaraan Ho Ja

Yun Tu Syed Bhi Ho, Mirza Bhi Ho, Afghan Bhi Ho
Tum Sabhi Kuch Ho, Batao Tu Musalman Bhi Ho?

Jo Karega Imtiyaz Rang o Khoon Mit Jayega
Turk Kharghai Ho Ya Arabi Wala Gohr

Ek Houn Muslim Haram Ki Pasbani Ke Liye
Neel Kay Saahil Se Lay Kar Ta Ba Khak Kashghir

Shajar Hai Firqa Arayee, Ta'assub Hai Samar Iska
Ye Wo Phal Hai Jo Jannat Se Nikalwata Hai Adam Ku

Firqa Bandi Hai Kaheen Aur Kaheen Zatein Hain
Kya Zamane Mein Panapne Ki Yahee Batein Hain?

Zaban Se Kah Bhi Diya La Ilaha Illah To Kya Hasil?
Dil-o-Nigah Musalman Naheen To Kuchh Bhi Naheen

Zaban Se Gar Kiya Tauheed Ka Da'wa To Kya Hasil?
Banaya Hay Bute Pindaar Ku Apna Khuda Tu Ne

Khuda Ne Aaj Tak Us Qaum Ki Haalat Naheen Badlee
Na Ho Jisko Khyal Aap Apni Haalat Ke Badalne Ka

Wahi Derina Bimari Wahi Namuhkami Dil Ki
Ilaj Iska Wahi Aabe Nishat Angez Hay Saaqi

Dil-e-Murda Dil Naheen Hay Ise Zinda Kar Dobara
Ke Yahee Hay Ummaton Ke Marge Kuhan Ka Chara

Manf-e-at Ek Hai Is Qaum Ki Nuqsaan Bhi Ek
Ek Hi Sab Ka Nabi Deen Bhi Iman Bhi Ek
Haram-e-Paak Bhi Allah Bhi Quran Bhi Ek
Kuchh Bari Baat Thi Hote Jo Musalman Bhi Ek

Muslim Ummah and Islamic Society: The Lost Message (Story of the Ants)
dot.gif

From time immemorial, Ants have had many enemies.

There were some who thought it would be wise to hold council together to see if they could come to some arrangement whereby they could live without being attacked by other animals.

At the council meeting, there were Red Ants, Rice Ants, Black Ants, Wagtail Ants, Gray Ants, Shining Ants and many other varieties.

The discussion continued for a long time, but they could not agree.

Some desired that they should all live in a small hole in the ground. Others wanted to build on the ground, where nobody could enter but Ants.

Still some wanted to dwell in Trees so as to get rid of Anteaters, forgetting entirely that there they would be the prey of Birds.

Each party resolved to go to work in its own way, with its own responsibilities.

Each group had an appointed task, and each member of the group worked regularly and well.

But unity of all the Ants could not be seen anywhere in the world.

The ants chose a King from among them. They divided the labor so that all went as smoothly as it possibly could.

But each group did it in its own way and not one of them thought of protecting themselves against the onslaught of birds or Anteaters.

The Red Ants built their house on the ground and lived under it, but Anteaters flattened their home in a minute after days of precious labor.

The Rice Ants lived under the ground and with them it went no better. For whenever they came out, Anteaters were waiting.

The Wagtail Ants fled to the Trees, but on many occasions Centipedes sat waiting for them, or the birds gobbled them up.

The gray Ants had intended to save themselves from extermination by taking to flight, but lizards, hunting Spiders and birds flew a great deal faster than they did.

When the Ant King heard that the different groups of animals could come to no agreement, he sent them the secret of Unity and the message of working together.

Until this day, they have not understood the message of unity and working together between each group and each species.

"O Naml! Enter your houses, (that) Suleiman and his hosts may not crush you while they do not know" (27:18)

Unity is Strength and Division is Weakness (Strength lies in unity and weakness in division)
dot.gif

Once upon a time, there was a flock of doves that flew in search of food led by their king. One day, they had flown a long distance and were very tired. The dove king encouraged them to fly a little further. The smallest dove picked up speed and found some rice scattered beneath a banyan tree. So all the doves landed and began to eat.

Suddenly a net fell over them and they were all trapped. They saw a hunter approaching carrying a huge club. The doves desperately fluttered their wings trying to get out, but to no avail.

The king had an idea. He advised all the doves to fly up together carrying the net with them. He said that there was strength in unity.

Each dove picked up a portion of the net and together they flew off carrying the net with them. The hunter looked up in astonishment. He tried to follow them, but they were flying high over hills and valleys. They flew to a hill near a city of temples where there lived a mouse who could help them. He was a faithful friend of the dove king.

When the mouse heard the loud noise of their approach, he went into hiding. The dove king gently called out to him and then the mouse was happy to see him. The dove king explained that they had been caught in a trap and needed the mouse's help to gnaw at the net with his teeth and set them free.

The mouse agreed saying that he would set the king free first. The king insisted that he first free his subjects and the king last. The mouse understood the king's feelings and compled with his wishes. He began to cut the net and one by one all the doves were freed including the dove king.

They all thanked the mouse and flew away together, united in their strength.

Moral of the Story: Strength lies in unity and weakness in division.