EID with IDPs

Why stop at two? There is an opportunity to get it wrong every lunar month! :D

Ironically, there's not a single conflict that arises in the rest of the months! :what:

That is because "traditional religious fervor" is whipped up for only certain occasions by intent.

What I understand is that the concept of watching moon was/is to ensure that every able Muslim had/has fasted for a minimum of 28 days and maximum of 30 days. The period between two moon sightings cant be shorter than 28 days nor longer than 30 days. Back in those days, moon sighting was the only means (or technology for that matter) available to count the days in a lunar month. It was not about accuracy, but rather counting a minimum number of days Muslims required to fast.

With more modern and accurate means available, Muslims should utilize them rather than relying solely on moon sighting using naked eye, which as we all know, could be affected by a number of variables. However, abandoning the moon sighting altogether in favor of pre-calculated tables might not be right. Technology can certainly help where (coordinates) to look for the moon, when to look (correct timings are essential) and with a naked eye or assistance of a telescope etc. I understand that the Royat Hilal Committee is just doing that.

However, abandoning the moon sighting altogether in favor of pre-calculated tables might not be right.

Why not? There is nothing wrong with using science to calculate out a lunar calendar that is accurate and reliable.

You are right, there is nothing wrong and it is not at all un-Islamic to opt for this option.

However, please let me give you an example from my profession. If I could feel a sizable lump underneath the skin with the touch of my gloved hand, and see it with my own two eyes, and coupled together with my 15 years experience of seeing thousands if not tens of thousands of similar lumps, I wont ask for state-of-the-art CT scan but perhaps for a quick biopsy before referring up the case to the surgeon for an immediate lumpectomy.

Similarly, if my Prophet's (PBUH) sunnah could be kept alive, while making use of modern technology, I would prefer to do it, rather than abandoning it altogether in the favor of technology.

You are right, there is nothing wrong and it is not at all un-Islamic to opt for this option.

However, please let me give you an example from my profession. If I could feel a sizable lump underneath the skin with the touch of my gloved hand, and see it with my own two eyes, and coupled together with my 15 years experience of seeing thousands if not tens of thousands of similar lumps, I wont ask for state-of-the-art CT scan but perhaps for a quick biopsy before referring up the case to the surgeon for an immediate lumpectomy.

Similarly, if my Prophet's (PBUH) sunnah could be kept alive, while making use of modern technology, I would prefer to do it, rather than abandoning it altogether in the favor of technology.

Sure, let the accurate lunar calendar be published in advance for all to plan by, and you can follow sunnah by looking for the moon on the last couple of evenings of Ramadan. Problem solved! :D

Agreed.

Tribal people are pakistani, They belong to that land unlike others. Get the fck out of here you racist Pr1ck.

Say whatever about Imran, Wont tolerate any crap against pashtuns.

What's wrong in it...???? He celebrated Eid one day before rather than rest of Pakistan ... Even people of most of the areas in KPK who are Pashtuns has celebrated Eid with Pakistan not with Populzai ............

excellent post. deserves a positive rating

and above all it was PTI govt which kept popalzai quiet last time on Eid. this time I believe usko ANP nay rate bohat lagya hoga... tabhi tou raat kay 12 bajay usko chand nazar aa giya !!

It means you are agreed that Monday ko Eid nahi thi ..........

not that I disagree with your stance of having one eid, but give some space, he just kept his promise to the IDPs Jirga. somehow due to weather conditions he couldnt say prayers there, as he will do it tomorrow with the rest of the country with the official Eid.

Its good that you acknowledge popular Pakistani stance to celebrating Eid ... However for the sake of his promise he abandoned his last fasting day as well as he couldn't offer Eid prayer neither in Islamabad nor in Bannu ... Is it justified....?????

Come out of your "mohajir" mentality, say 'eid mubarak' to your pashtun countrymen and appreciate Imran khan for his spending of eid with IDPs.....mohajir bhai, apney dil ko barra karo aur hamari khoshi may shareek ho jao.

Most racial post I have ever read on PDF ... Do you mean on residents of Peshawar, Hangu & Bannu are Pashtuns rest of people of KPK are not Pashtuns ... Yesterday I had wished Eid to my guard who belongs to Deer ... He told me that people of Deer will celebrate Eid with rest of country ... They are not after of retard Populzai ............

Iska Mukrra kyun dika rahe ho? ye konsa IDPs key saath eid mana raha hey

This great General has celebrated his Eid in Miranshah and he offered his Eid prayer in Bannu with rest of Pakistan ..............

For instance, what is that religious ruling? I have been told of all sorts of tradition/culture/sectarian stuff in vague/obscure terms, on my thread on the same topic. Sadly, there's no one to explain how they see the moon after 28 days of fasting, when technically moon isn't there?

You are encouraging it because a large segment of population follows it, right since well religious freedom has nothing to do with a question of fact, because either the moon's there or its not. Whats the difference of interpretation there?

Exactly moon couldn't be sighted ... Below is satellite moon map ...........

1919642_740743072638061_2923943473029720425_n.jpg

Noora/doh number liberal media team will use the photos of IK wearing a pagri to paint him as 'Taliban khan', wait until the week before 14 august

Eid Mubarak to all my tribal kin who are IDP's. Allah bless them and give them comfort.

Well done to Imran Khan.