Panama leak Case Proceedings - JIT Report, News, Updates And Discussion

Majority decision is to investigate money trail and not truthfulness of MNS. Dissenting notes are based on non compatibility among different speeches made by MNS. Both majority (probe) and minority (decision) are correct in individual perspectives. It is a double edged sword, in which on one area MNS has been declared guilty and the other needs some legal lacuna to be removed, that is establishment of money trail and confirmation of money laundering by professional agencies. SC has not left TORs on government. It has defined parameter for JIT. This means they have not left any escape route. JIT is just to establish money trail and not to take Qatari Letter into consideration. A prudent look will indicate that MNS may be in deep Sh*t.

"Dil ki tasali k liye, ye khayal b theek hai Ghalib" :)

If JiT was to report back to the same bench, then I would have seen any merit in your post.

But JIT will report to a new bench. Like what the f*ck?! A bench that has not followed the case, that does not know about the facts of the case, a bench that did not hear the proceedings of both parties---how would that bench be able to disqualify sitting PM?!

PS, and I'd say it out loud, I believe that our establishment (military establishment, if I wasn't clear enough) does not want shareefs to completely go away. Bc they are 'useful' in the broad political game. Establishment wants to retain its control over vital affairs of the state....these families keep ruling Pakistan and are allowed to do whatever they want within a certain acceptable limits---and everyone's happy.

If these useful families who are 'controllable' (since establishment knows their black deeds and can bring them down) are gone---and someone like Imran Khan rises up with full force---then our military establishment might also lose out their preeminent role in the state. Something that happened in say Turkey after Erdogan's rise.

So in essence, military would also put itself first before pure interests of Pakistan (even though I'm sure military generals are patriots at heart).

So that's why NS is 'allowed' to stay and ISI/MI might go a bit lenient on him. He might as well be told to 'go'--but his family and party will continue to govern Pakistan along with PPP. Because as I said, that's what more 'controllable' for our establishment and they would not want a completely random varilable (Imran Khan) to come in the picture...

If you are a serving officer---you know of this as well. Somewhere, deep in your heart, you know that too

Salient features of the Panama Case judgment
April 20, 2017

By: Raza Haidery

Published in Pakistan

Be the first to comment!
SC-Panama-Case-Isb-Pkg-15-02-640x480.jpg

Supreme Court of Pakistan on Thursday announced the verdict of the high profile Panama Case against Sharif. Here are some salient features of the judgment.

• Supreme Court of Pakistan has ordered Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to appear before a joint investigation team which will be formed to probe the Panama Papers scandal.
  • The bench has ordered the authorities to form a joint investigation team within seven days to investigate the accusations mentioned in the Panama Papers against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.
  • Officials from the Inter Services Intelligence (ISI), Military Intelligence (MI), State Bank of Pakistan (SBP), National Accountability Bureau (NAB) along with other state institutions.
  • Justice Asif Saeed Khosa and Justice Gulzar Ahmad, in their dissenting notes, wrote that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was not eligible to be premier as he was not Sadiq and Ameen. The rest of the bench called for additional investigation of the accusations.
  • The Qatari prince’s letter, presented as evidence by the Sharif family in the case, was rejected by the Supreme Court.
  • The bench remarked whether Hassan and Hussain Nawaz were in the position to buy flats in London at such a young age.
  • The bench also remarked that the authorities should investigate how money was laundered to Qatar.
  • The bench has ordered the investigation team to submit its report within 60 days.

@PakSword tell me, when you are done with reading Justice Khosa's verdict...

Have quickly gone through it.. and then understood.. there was no point of reading his verdict other than praising him, or Justice Gulzar..

The decision of majority prevails.. Those are the notes, worth reading..

The judgement as a whole is a joke..

There is a news coming in.. can't verify its authenticity as of yet.. that one or two judges were ready to suspend the PM but against disqualification due to various legal reasons.. But Justice Khosa and Gulzar didn't come down from disqualification and that judge (or those two judges) had to go with even a lesser one.. otherwise the judgement would have been 2-2-1..

I don't know what to say.. This judgement is a joke as much as I think about it.. You can't form a JIT against the accused who happens to be the sitting PM and has purchased all the institutions which will be represented in the JIT.

I have started reading Justice Gulzar's note and will then go through with the "applicable" ones.. and those are the only ones which matter..

The new bench may or may not have the judges, who gave majority opinion in panama verdict.. Its entirely upto the Chief Justice ... But almost everyone agrees..tht judges who gave dissenting notes, wont be there in the new bench, because they have already given their verdict in this matter...

In this new bench...I really really hope, Justice Qazi Faiz Isa is also part of it.. Because he is an extremely daring and honest judge.. His one judgment is also quoted by Justice Khosa in his verdict, in reference to application of article 62/63...
Want. Justice Baqir Najfi to be also be part of this new bench

JIT members..though their names will be given by their respective instituitions, but will be finalised by the same 5 member panama bench, of which Justice Khosa is the head.. This bench's role will end after finalisation of JIT members...

@PakSword tell me, when you are done with reading Justice Khosa's verdict...

Justice khosa, in his verdict even asked as to why there was no implementation of Asghar Khan case? Lollll..... Unhon ne sharif family ke liye koi jagah nahi chori, beizzati k liye.....even areas which were not within the domain of this bench exactly.. He even talked abt making of new cases aginst sharif family....by NAB..but took away all powers, of chairman NAB, while at the same time disqualifying PM.. This route should have been taken by other judges too.... Either suspended chairman NAB or taken away his powers, like Justice Khosa said, and at the same time, other judges should have atleast suspended PM, if not disqualify PM, like Justice Khosa and Justice Gulzar

Beware guys.. Get ready for character assassinatin of Justice Khosa by PML N guys.soon....Infact..it has started already

Izzat or Zillat Allah ke haath main hai, koi kuch nahi bigar sakta truthful or honest admi ka, these two judges have earned immense respect in my eyes.

If they let ISI and MI agents do their work,a lot of things are coming out then.
Hoping for the best to come.Waited for this a year. Lets wait two more months.And see what happens.Allah will help us InshAllah.

Have all the judges declared him dishonest? I don't think so..
Two have declared him dishonest
None have declared him honest and innocent
Three have asked for further investigation into the matter.

Have quickly gone through it.. and then understood.. there was no point of reading his verdict other than praising him, or Justice Gulzar..

The decision of majority prevails.. Those are the notes, worth reading..

The judgement as a whole is a joke..

There is a news coming in.. can't verify its authenticity as of yet.. that one or two judges were ready to suspend the PM but against disqualification due to various legal reasons.. But Justice Khosa and Gulzar didn't come down from disqualification and that judge (or those two judges) had to go with even a lesser one.. otherwise the judgement would have been 2-2-1..

I don't know what to say.. This judgement is a joke as much as I think about it.. You can't form a JIT against the accused who happens to be the sitting PM and has purchased all the institutions which will be represented in the JIT.

I have started reading Justice Gulzar's note and will then go through with the "applicable" ones.. and those are the only ones which matter..

Really dont know...how much to praise Justice Khosa and Justice Gulzar..for standing their ground..and not going below disqualification....

And its very understandable.. If we read Justice Khosa's entire argument...it revolves around the PM and his honesty and how those properties have been acquired? He even said.something like tht I dont care which of PM children owns the flats legally..becuase in 92-93 all his children were minors..and theres no way, tht Pm can be disassociated from those flats.. Khosa is not ready to buy the argument tht PM has nothing to do with those flats.. He kept emphasizing on the contradictory statements made by PM in his speeches and different stances taken by his children.. He has only used PM and his children's own statements against them..and said tht statements which they themselves gave..cant be termed as disputed facts and hence judgment can be given on them. He didnt use any material provided by PTI to disqualify PM, rather their own statements...

I wish ..tht atleast once in my life.. I meet Justice Khosa and Justice Gulzar.... I soo want to thank and praise them for their courage.. I have become their huge fan

Well..if your stated news is true...i want to know abt the judge..who wasnt even ready to suspend the PM for fair inquiry? Was it, the advocate?

If they let ISI and MI agents do their work,a lot of things are coming out then.
Hoping for the best to come.Waited for this a year. Lets wait two more months.And see what happens.Allah will help us InshAllah.
wow you guys are still hopeful!