Pakistan to buy old F-16s from Jordan - Chapter closed for new F-16s blk-52s from US

PAF is a Mad organization!!! A Begharaaat service !!
The F 16 s life is 8000hr two fold more than russians additionally it can be extented to 16000hrs.In turkey we are working some ammo and pods for it,for example roketsan SOM,Teber,NEB, and aselpod from aselsan for block 40s

If USA allows buying from third party from own money then the options out there are much more than just RJAF F-16's.

RDAF F-16's, approx 60 F-16 to be replaced by F-35.
RNoAF F-16's approx 45 F-16 to be replaced by F-35
RNLAF F-16's approx 61 F-16 to be replaced by F-35.
Belg AF F-16's approx 60-70 F-16 to be replaced by F-35.
All are MLU.

Infact Venezuelan F-16's should also be pursued. 21 now remaining. Non MLU.

PAF should go crazy :yahoo:

PAF Plan Buy 2nd hand F-16 add new JF-17 and Wait for J-31 till 2024

Great move. Kudos to PAF.

If USA allows buying from third party from own money then the options out there are much more than just RJAF F-16's.

All are MLU.

There is no question of US not approving these deals.

PAF has time and again has shown great foresight and sagacity.

17 peace falcon 2 are already MLUed and in storage for sale.

So---basically indian indulgence would backfire---.

If we had bough the new F16's---the first delivery would have started after 2 years I believe----and the 8th in four years.

So---now we may have the chance to get the 12 within 1 year.

I keep telling people that if it was not for the fck ups of the indians we would be in a terrible spot.

All are MLU.

Some of the european F16's have too much air time flying over the ocean and based close to water and salt air is very corrosive---so some of the european F16's might not be the best.

Bhai 40 was not the number that Pakistan was hoping for in 83, it was 110 but presler messed it up. If the PAF knew they will be flying just 40 planes for about 2 decades I don't think they would have opted for F-16s. Now don't start on see we can't trust US and PAF should have known, we are talking about setting up infrastructure for just 40 planes here.

Currently we have I guess upwards of 80 F-16's, then there are JF-17's, F-7 PGs who are here to stay for a while. Then there are legacy fighters like F-7s, Mirage III/Vs. So how much diversity do you want. In a perfect world we should have a dedicated naval strike platform, a deep-strike platform and a pure air-superiority fighter. But when you have 200 legacy planes to replace and your whole defence budget is about $ 8.9 Billion you will have to make compromises. This budget has to cater to the needs of world's sixth largest military and it is not even in the top 20 military budgets of the world. So our armed forces are doing a wonderful job when it comes to using these meager funds to create a respectable force.

Bhai all these countries that you have mentioned are not cash strapped as we are. Omanis and Kuwaitis have only about 30 frontline fighters, Indonesia has about 8 frontline squardons while PAF has 20 so you can't really compare them with PAF. As for the Emiratis and Saudis, their defence budgets are $23 Billion and $ 80 Billion respectively so they do afford induction of different platforms and even then they are using 3 types of front-line aircrafts while we are already using 5. India was using multiple platforms and it did not work that well for them so they are reducing the number of platforms. The F-35 program for the US was actually planned to reduce the number of platforms. So how does it make sense that we add another platform and that too just worth 2 squardons.

As I said US did not ban F-16 sale they just asked us to pay the whole amount and we can't do that as we lack cash. With investments going into JF-17s and those big ticket purchases for the PN how much budget do you think is left for the PAF for procurement. If we had the cash Kuwaitis, Emiratis or Suadis have then surely you would have seen some cool new planes but we are stuck with Nanga nahaye ga kya Nichoray ga kya wali situation.

Sir,

There are always those apologists for the air force---. When you get paid---given a uniform---job security---house---medical--car and chaufer---and the only thing that you need to do is to keep the air force somewhat in line---it is not asking too much.

A lie many pakistan tell is about Pressler sanctions----. The Pressler sanctions were no surprise---him and his butt buddy Solariz had tried it multiple times---.

Everybody knew that the sanctions were coming--only those in the Paf did not believe in that---just like this time.

The procurement window after 9/11 was wasted not for lack of funds---but PAF had analyzed that there would be " no more threats from india " so it was not considered prudent to buy a potent air superiority fighter on a fastrak.

That is why they were lollygagging for 4 years straight.

The poster who say there was no money---must see how the funds for the awacs became available?

No, Gripen is not on sale to Pakistan.
The exports laws of Sweden does not allow sales to countries which are not stable democracies.
Too many military coups in Pakistan.
Pakistan was told to forget it 2004 when they wanted Gripen C.
I don't think the reply would be different for Gripen E.
Anyway Gripen E is as expensive as a new F-16.
we never asked for gripen, gripen C and thunder are identical aircrafts

That's not exactly what fighter jets are bought for, you won't get home safely when enemy sends their tanks to runover your toyota

Well the deal with USA was cancelled due to expensive deal , not necessarily any other issue
We found a cheap seller of course we will get stuff that fits in budget

If you have funds for Toyota corolla , you can't get a Lexus

The Corolla will still get you places, get job done and bring you back home

Jordan are they purchasing a replacement or they don't need planes ?

Well military analyst understand the Technology and the impact of using it far better

Most people have stated the major difference between the Block A/B(MLU) and Block C/D is

• Engine (More less servicing figures)
  • Radar (Still useful radar not like the pilot would be flying with no radar)
However with AWAC and ground radar , some level of communication can be made to inform the pilot of existance of enemy craft near by etc

However , I am sure the planes would blend in well with gradual upgrade down the road
We can perhaps discuss Cash deal to improve the planes

Main thing is the purchase fits the budget goals

100-200 Million / Plane are unrealistic

Cash purchase with in budget

[QUOTE="MastanKhan, post: 8378467, member: 309"

Some of the european F16's have too much air time flying over the ocean and based close to water and salt air is very corrosive---so some of the european F16's might not be the best.
[/QUOTE]

go in detail plz

I think there is a structural upgrade in MLU and there are various types of MLU...3,4,5,6,6.5 etc

What is total required numbet of F-16 after this PAF announce no more F-16 for PAF ?
Infinity....!!!

They aint selling rather we are asking them to sell those as they arent using those ones right now.
Hope they refuse to do so...!!!

and please some one inform me how many AIR forces are using mirages now and what can a mirage do in front of a mighty SU-30? we will just increase the number of our loses if we use them against any real air force .its junk for just cover up numbers all is junk be it used f-16 mirages or f-7s only hope we have is block-52 and jf-17 sir for war time .
Hamre ACM ke dimagh ma koi aur hi khichri pak rahi hai...
Do he really means used Junk Mirages for Pakistan....

Again F16's why don't they just move on okay if we can not buy any other new jets because of financial issues than invest this money into JF17 rather than buying used Planes :disagree:

This is actually a very smart move. The Jordanian F-16s are block 30 (c/d models). PAF has the spares to fly them for 5 years without US assistance. Turkish upgrades can bring them to block 52 equivalent and they will be as good as newer block 52s on an electronic level. They may not have the same powerful engine but it is certainly more than adequate (still a very powerful engine) PAF needs a stop gap and the plan was always to get more used F-16. For PAF, its far more cost effective to replace mirage f-7s with a mox of new jf-17 amd used F-16s. Even for those not in favor of new F-16s for PAF, used ones are still avery smart move.

These F-16 has caused more damage to PAKISTAN than our enemies.....:hitwall:
How so? Please elaborate. Your American F-16s are pummeling the TTP yahoos, aren't they? Not your Thunders. What more do you expect them to do at the present juncture?