India to Supply Bangladesh Railways with 120 LHB Coaches in Indian Railways' Biggest Export Order

Indians celebrating in this thread - thik hai celebrate. Not going to troll.

BTW these railway orders only happened because there was Modi's $2 Billion loan offer.

LHB coaches made at RCF, Kapurthala I do know are more modern and better quality than coaches made in other antiquated Indian coach factories and their designs. Especially the high-speed bogies (wheel units) are direct copies of latest lightweight Euro bogie design.

I wish them long-life as well....

Considering rest of your post, that was a heart-wrenching "Thik hai"! :)

BTW these railway orders only happened because there was Modi's $2 Billion loan offer.

It is no longer an "offer". It has been signed officially....not even an MOU.

Loan also means that you are paying this money back at later date. It is not "free" handout....it is just to ease the payment process from Bangladesh....to give more breathing room.

Other countries are welcome to give their own loans as well and for Bangladesh to choose products and projects from them and do CBA w.r.t India.

All in the name of competition right?

It is no longer an "offer". It has been signed officially....not even an MOU.

Loan also means that you are paying this money back at later date. It is not "free" handout....it is just to ease the payment process from Bangladesh....to give more breathing room.

Other countries are welcome to give their own loans as well and for Bangladesh to choose products and projects from them and do CBA w.r.t India.

All in the name of competition right?

Thank You Captain Obvious :-)

Yes we all know it is a loan and has to be paid back.

Can one of the 'experts' here confirm whether the Chair cars will look like the interior of the LHB executive class (1A coach) of the New Delhi to Dehradun Shatabdi Express?

1024px-The_Interior_of_the_Executive_Class_or_1A_of_an_LHB_Shatabdi_Coach..jpg

Prayer coaches :o:seriously?

I don't really know why 'prayer rooms' are needed. Islamic mandates do not really require one to 'pray' while traveling. That is one of the very few instances where daily prayer (Salat) is optional. But I think the Govt. wants to subscribe to religious sentiment....

Considering rest of your post, that was a heart-wrenching "Thik hai"! :)

You're an expert at reading between the lines.... :-)

Yes there should be fair competition between Chinese and Indian suppliers. If Indians can supply a good product at a good price I have no issue with it. The problem is that they mostly don't.

The problem is where they start cutting corners in typical Bhartiya Ishtyle like including refurbished or sub-par items etc. in new builds which the Chinese never do. Don't start blaming me for saying this because even within India its a problem. These kinds of issues have only surfaced historically with items imported from India as reported in the local press.

Kehne mein kya harj hai
?

Now I know Indians here will start crying for 'proof' etc. (and trying to comparing Bangladeshi product with Indian too in 'bazaari' style) but I don't have the patience to dig this up. You guys Google it yourself. I'm sure Bangladeshi members will back me up on this as it is everyday news in the press.

You can blame me all you want for saying such things but locally 'Indian' product is so far largely synonymous with 'shoddy'. I didn't come up with it - your manufacturers did this with their practices and Quality Control.

Hopefully the RCF LHB coaches will create a better impression for Indian products.

For the annual need of 100~200 coaches locally - a coach factory in Bangladesh isn't really feasible. These coach factories are feasible only in large countries like India, China and Indonesia where a large demand exists. But we have had a coach facility since British times (1870) for overhaul and repair in Saidpur and it has manufactured coaches occasionally.

It is up to Bangladesh Railways whether they will refurbish and do BMRE (Balancing, Modernization, Rehabilitation and Expansion) on it and expand the capability. But that would cut into their haram kickbacks (the B*st*rds) so they won't line up to get that going.

The problem is where they start cutting corners in typical Bhartiya Ishtyle like including refurbished or sub-par items etc. in new builds which the Chinese never do.

What's wrong about using refurbished items in a product exported to BD - You use refurbished coaches :P

Can one of the 'experts' here confirm whether the Chair cars will look like the interior of the LHB executive class (1A coach) of the New Delhi to Dehradun Shatabdi Express?

Can't confirm about the seats,but executive CC is not the same as AC chair car

on't start blaming me for saying this because even within India its a problem.

In case of automobiles ? heavy machinery ?

congrats to India to give the money and also to make the business out of it
blaming india wont do anything good
we went to them not them to us :)
wish the coaches dont screw up easily

Thank You Captain Obvious :-)

Yes we all know it is a loan and has to be paid back.

1024px-The_Interior_of_the_Executive_Class_or_1A_of_an_LHB_Shatabdi_Coach..jpg

I don't really know why 'prayer rooms' are needed. Islamic mandates do not really require one to 'pray' while traveling. That is one of the very few instances where daily prayer (Salat) is optional. But I think the Govt. wants to subscribe to religious sentiment....

You're an expert at reading between the lines.... :-)

Yes there should be fair competition between Chinese and Indian suppliers. If Indians can supply a good product at a good price I have no issue with it. The problem is that they mostly don't.

The problem is where they start cutting corners in typical Bhartiya Ishtyle like including refurbished or sub-par items etc. in new builds which the Chinese never do. Don't start blaming me for saying this because even within India its a problem. These kinds of issues have only surfaced historically with items imported from India as reported in the local press.

Kehne mein kya harj hai
?

Now I know Indians here will start crying for 'proof' etc. (and trying to comparing Bangladeshi product with Indian too in 'bazaari' style) but I don't have the patience to dig this up. You guys Google it yourself. I'm sure Bangladeshi members will back me up on this as it is everyday news in the press.

You can blame me all you want for saying such things but locally 'Indian' product is so far largely synonymous with 'shoddy'. I didn't come up with it - your manufacturers did this with their practices and Quality Control.

Hopefully the RCF LHB coaches will create a better impression for Indian products.

For the annual need of 100~200 coaches locally - a coach factory in Bangladesh isn't really feasible. These coach factories are feasible only in large countries like India, China and Indonesia where a large demand exists. But we have had a coach facility since British times (1870) for overhaul and repair in Saidpur and it has manufactured coaches occasionally.

It is up to Bangladesh Railways whether they will refurbish and do BMRE (Balancing, Modernization, Rehabilitation and Expansion) on it and expand the capability. But that would cut into their haram kickbacks (the B*st*rds) so they won't line up to get that going.

Thank god!! :D The way you were holding up your emotions..I thought you might wreck your health! :P

@anant_s do you want to say something to our Bangladeshi friend? :D

congrats to India to give the money and also to make the business out of it
blaming india wont do anything good
we went to them not them to us :)
wish the coaches dont screw up easily

Let's clear something up.

We didn't go to them and ask for a $2 Billion loan.

They offered it to us voluntarily (I think it's a nice gift to Hasina to keep her in line with New Delhi's wishes).

So then we had to go find things to buy in India (Railway items were a natural, though somewhat imperfect solution). It forced us to buy things from India. IMHO we should have turned it down.

These types of loan will benefit the Indians more than us. It helps their industry and does nothing for ours.

Hasina could have easily gone to any world class bank, borrowed the money and then setup coach manufacture from LHB in Germany/Switzerland itself with ToT (We already have the facility and trained workers in Saidpur). She could have even gotten a cut if she negotiated this with LHB.

We actually shouldn't blame Indians for this. It is us and our succession of corrupt govts.

though somewhat imperfect solution

Yup,you could just walk right into in the Alstom head office in Dhaka & order 10 Pendolinos,right ? :lol:

This IR design is certified on IR tracks up to 160 kph but lower infrastructure (track and signalling) standards on BR may restrict initial operations to around 80 kph (contracted max sped 120 kph).

Hasina could have easily gone to any world class bank

Hmm,can BD afford that ? Last time we built a coach factory it costed us $400 million

and then setup coach manufacture from LHB in Germany/Switzerland itself with ToT.

Its a long way to go before Bangladesh manufactures rail coaches.BTW LHB went bust in the nineties.

Yup,you could walk right into in the Alstom head office in Dhaka & order 10 Pendolinos,right ? :lol:

Doesn't have to be Alstom. It can be Alstom's Chinese subsidiary. Or equivalent. We have a saying in Bengali "If you spread out rice on the ground, there will be no shortage of Kaua's."

Hmm,can BD afford that ? Last time we built a coach factory it costed us $400 million

Shipbuilding and Coach manufacture aren't that much different. And we have loads of shipyards all over Bangladesh. All LHB did in your case was license the design of the modern high speed bogies and have specialized forging machines to hot-forge the lightweight wheels from special alloys. Making the body is simple - TIG-weld the aluminium superstructure on top of a rigid steel base. And use modern extruded hot-rolled steel sections instead of angle-iron like in the old coaches.

So TIG-welders and hot-forging machines are high tech now? This is news to me.

Its a long way to go before Bangladesh manufactures rail coaches.BTW LHB went bust in the nineties.

You are entitled to your opinion but I don't think you have any clue where Bangladesh is as far as industrial capability. Bangladesh may not have specialized machinery for niche projects (such as aircraft engines or power generation plants etc.). But that is a niche industry in India as well. The large majority of Bangladesh industrial capability is at par with where India is. What logic dictates that it should be any different?

As befits a small country - we don't choose to make things that is not feasible to make locally. We used to import but I believe some things are now more feasible to make locally (such as coaches) because of labor cost and we will set up local capability. Our scenario and economics are not the same as a larger country with Billions of people.

We have been making old-design rail coaches (like I said) since the sixties (Pakistan times) in Saidpur. Saidpur used to be the HQ for Bengal-Assam Railway since 1870's. It was cheaper to import from India that's why we decided to import.

Our railways are rife with corruption and they get kickback from RITES. Count your blessings for that because that is why you get orders from us.

BTW our rail minister made so much money he decided to tie the knot at 67, sparking a lot of controversy and jokes...

1414769074_5.jpg

Tacky, tacky, tacky in many myriad ways....:laughcry::cuckoo:

And it is a sad day when the parents of this poor female has to give her away to this 'piece of work' clown.

@anant_s do you want to say something to our Bangladeshi friend? :D
all i can say is Bangladesh won't be disappointed with Indian product.

@Bilal9
i think its cost effective way to get coaches from India. i don't doubt your mmanufacturing capability but with respect to total requirement, it might not be cost effective to setup a factory.
and besides with these coaches in bulk production in India, these will come at probably the most competitive rates compared to any other source.

all i can say is Bangladesh won't be disappointed with Indian product.

@Bilal9
i think its cost effective way to get coaches from India. i don't doubt your mmanufacturing capability but with respect to total requirement, it might not be cost effective to setup a factory.
and besides with these coaches in bulk production in India, these will come at probably the most competitive rates compared to any other source.

Mashallah very sensible comment - right on target. :-)

I concur! :-)

BTW our rail minister made so much money he decided to tie the knot at 67, sparking a lot of controversy and jokes...

1414769074_5.jpg

Tacky, tacky, tacky in many myriad ways....:laughcry::cuckoo:

And it is a sad day when the parents of this poor female has to give her away to this 'piece of work' clown.

i didn't read lot of comments above and almost missed this. & pardon me for choice of words but this is almost hilarious. my first thoughts were that the oldman is girl's father waiting for what we call in hindu weddings as Kanyadaan (giving the girl to her husband).
feel kind of sorry for the bride though, even with her born in poverty, this isn't the future she deserves.