Viral video: Google ad connects India-Pak with heartwarming reunion story

To be honest,

I have find indians and Pakistanis to go along really well here..in abroad. Even South Indians, with whom I don't have many things common, give that 'apnay log' feeling to me...and North Indians..Well, the 'apna-pan feeling' just sky rocket here. We are pretty much same people...

Having said that, we Indians and Pakistanis are like Canadians/Americans...VERY similar, but yet with our own unique identities. I agree with the vision of greatest leader of subcontinent in 20th century, Muhammad Ali Jinnah, India and Pakistan should be neighbors like U.S and Canada.

No fight, good relations, similar people...yet unique identities.

My countrymen will get pissd for me saying this but those Indians and Pakistani that have a good relationship abroad is due to the fact that most Pakistani abroad in the west are mirpuris and Punjabis and occasional Urdu speaker.

So the similarity that you see is within those groups, to say similarity with Pakistani is a wrong, Pakistanis come in all shape and sizes and colours, it would be fair not to use to word Pakistani as it doesn't just represent you.

My countrymen will get pissd for me saying this but those Indians and Pakistani that have a good relationship abroad is due to the fact that most Pakistani abroad in the west are mirpuris and Punjabis and occasional Urdu speaker.

So the similarity that you see is within those groups, to say similarity with Pakistani is a wrong, Pakistanis come in all shape and sizes and colours, it would be fair not to use to word Pakistani as it doesn't just represent you.

Are you are Pakhtoon, bro? What is your ethnicity? And mirpuris are crazy. Leave them. Also, they are in UK, not in U.S where I am..

And I agree, peoples of Pakistan residing East to the Indus River will find themselves culturally much closer to North Indians (and Indians in general) then peoples of Pakistan residing West to the Indus.

Nevertheless, Pakistan is a great country and india can't match it :D

Are you are Pakhtoon, bro? What is your ethnicity? And mirpuris are crazy. Leave them. Also, they are in UK, not in U.S where I am..

And I agree, peoples of Pakistan residing East to the Indian River will find themselves culturally much closer to North Indians (and Indians in general) then peoples of Pakistan residing West to the Indus.

Nevertheless, Pakistan is a great country and india can't match it :D

My surname should indicate my ethnic group.

I fully agree with you but saying pakistanis includes us and therefore i find it difficult to accept the similarity as there is none.

Viral video: Google ad connects India-Pak with heartwarming reunion story

631798-Googlescreenshot-1384371489-755-640x480.JPG

Google India on Wednesday released a commercial titled ‘Google Commercial: Reunion’ relating a tear-jerking story of how the tech giant’s search functions helped two childhood friends, separated due to the Partition of Pak-India border, are reunited.

“Partitions divide countries, friendships find a way,” says the caption below the video, which is one in a series of five videos.

The three-and-a-half minute commercial starts with Suman, a young girl in India, listening to her grandfather narrate his memories of Yousuf, his childhood friend he had shared memorable times with, in Lahore.

With watery eyes, he explains how the Partition split the two pals apart, with Yousuf staying in Pakistan as his friend crossed into India.

Distraught over the tale narrated by her grandfather, Suman takes a chance and runs a random search on Google.

Suman ‘googles’ the trivia from her grandfather’s story to connect the dots and with just a few keystrokes, pinpoint the current whereabouts of Yousuf in Lahore.

‘An old gate’ and ‘jhajariya’ are all it takes Google to take Suman to Yousuf and his grandson Ali, an admittedly miraculous feat by the standards of only one generation ago.

The advertisement is currently going viral and owes its spiraling views to the overwhelming emotional appeal, grossing upwards of 100,000 views and innumerable facebook posts and tweets.

But it is also helping Google reemphasise the importance it assigns to the company’s contribution toward connecting humanity and making actual, tangible effects on lives.

That was one of core elements emphasised in this summer’s Hollywood film “The Internship“, which was in fact derided by many critics as a “two-hour long Google commercial”.

Another aspect tying the movie with the commercial is the tech giant’s attempt to shed the association with a certain age group. While ‘The Internship’ portrayed that even two middle-aged outmoded salesmen could create a space for themselves at the company, ‘Reunion’ portrays Google’s service to an age-group two generations older than Suman and Ali.

Viral video: Google ad connects India-Pak with heartwarming reunion story – The Express Tribune

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:cray::cray::cray::cray::cray:

Thanks for posting the non youtube version.

I fully agree with you but saying pakistanis includes us and therefore i find it difficult to accept the similarity as there is none.

Whats your surename? Zai? :/

Bhai tu bata hi day teri ethnicity kya hai...mein ne konsa kch khna hai :D

And I got your point

Whats your surename? Zai? :/

Bhai tu bata hi day teri ethnicity kya hai...mein ne konsa kch khna hai :D

And I got your point

I am a pukhtoon a ghilzai to be precisse.

Call me a softy, but that ad left me smiling for a while. Makes you feel good inside.

Most, if not all, members here would find that ad really touching. There is nothing 'softy' about that mate...

@pukhtoons brothers and sisters our way of life, culture is under threat we must raise our voice against such videos and usage of the name Pakistan to liken similarities between India and Pakistan.

We will start a social media campaign targeting pukhtoon and baluch youth, a campaign that educates them on history and culture.

We should also target other like minded Pakistani youth.

Do your bit for your country and your people.

Pashtoons are just 15 % of pakistan population and punjabis and sindhis(Indic People) account for 80-85% of the population . Even north east indians and south Indians have very less in common with pakistan but we still say Indians and pakistanis are same people .

Population size means nothing, land mass we make more then 55% of the nation.

Punjabis are genetically linked to turko afghans then to Indians who in their original form are dravidians.

When you say next time that Indians and Pakistani ate same come stand next to me, speak yo me and then tell me are we the same?.

LOL Azad Kashmir and G-B r there where they belong. And r more then happy even G-B people want us to declare it a province. Unlike indian occupied Kashmir where merely 5% to 10% accept Indian rule.
Pak Maqbooza Kashmir and GB belongs to India .Majority GB people don't want India ! Agreed . But they don't even want to be part of Pakistan and want Independence .
Everyone in Jammu and Ladakh including the muslims are happy with Indian rule . The shias of ladakh and the sunnis of south kashmir are also pro India . Anti India sentiments run high only in north kashmir .Azad Kashmir is Indian territory and we will raise the Indian flag in Gilgit/Muzaffarabad pretty soon.

Pak Maqbooza Kashmir and GB belongs to India .Majority GB people don't want India ! Agreed . But they don't even want to be part of Pakistan and want Independence .
Everyone in Jammu and Ladakh including the muslims are happy with Indian rule . The shias of ladakh and the sunnis of south kashmir are also pro India . Anti India sentiments run high only in north kashmir .Azad Kashmir is Indian territory and we will raise the Indian flag in Gilgit/Muzaffarabad pretty soon.

:pop:.....:pop: