The Story Of The Accession Of The Princely State Of Junagarh

Indians never seem to understand, or want to reconcile with facts. The ideological Pakistan that has been the physical manifestation of The Two Nation Theory did not end in 1971. The minor part of Pakistan, ie, the West did not secede. The East and West became independently sovereign parts under the Two Nation theory born in Lahore, March 1940. Previously we were two in one; now we are one in two.

what an answer asad bhai :pop:

Had pakistanis stayed away from kashmir in 1947. It would have become an independent country and who knows it might have become part of pakistan later. But pakistan does have a reputation of shooting itself in the foot and then blaming others for its miseries.

dont cry , you got half of kashmir, now make it prosperous.. :cheesy:

yara they are prosperous by any account.....almost 100% literacy......low crime rate and half of the population settled abroad......jis se moilo yeh hi khata hai.....cha cha is country mama us country.....taya kisi tesra country me......bhai tu yah kya ker rah hai....jawab milta hai ....chutiya manaa aya hoooo......

This is the true face of Indian/Hindus, one thing they understand is the language of fists and not of tongue. I hope we are smart, and learn to use weapons to better defend our selves against such people.

what happened to fist when junagarh was taken over, lolz.. :yay: ...

Why dont u ask yr ancestors. If they r honest they will tell u some shocking stories about 47-48 war.

what stories, please tell us.. :yay:
All I see is you guys just invaded a maharaja of kashmir .. like we invaded hyderabad... they had no proper army so it was piece of cake..

what happened to fist when junagarh was taken over, lolz.. :yay: ...

what stories, please tell us.. :yay:
All I see is you guys just invaded a maharaja of kashmir .. like we invaded hyderabad... they had no proper army so it was piece of cake..

Stupid man they were kashmiris who stood against the Hari Singh's rule because of his atrocities against the population.They were helped by tribals thats all.

Pak army had just 11000 men with no ordinance factory and most of them were deployed in borders to protect n shelter refugees.
They were in no realistic position for an offensive.

I dont know about u but i can speak for the things known to me. As An Azad Kashmiri and as A Pakistani.

Government of Pakistan
Ministry of Law and Justice

Islamabad the 30th April, 2013​
PRESS RELEASE

NAWAB OF JUNAGADH SALMAN KANJI, VISIT/MEETING WITH MR. AHMER BILAL SOOFI, FEDERAL MINISTER FOR LAW & JUSTICE

1. Nawab of Junagadh Salman Kanji, held a meeting with the Law Minister Mr. Ahmer Bilal Soofi in the Ministry of Law and Justice alongwith a delegation.

2. He presented to Law Minister a copy of instrument of accession of the State of Junagadh with Pakistan that was executed by Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah and his late grand father.

3. He demanded that the case of Junagadh should be raised before the International forums as Indian Government has acted contrary to right of self determination of people of Junagadh.

4. Nawab also gave details of the sacrifices and support that people of Junagadh provided to Pakistan. The Law Minister has appreciated the sacrifices of the family of the Nawab during Pakistan movement and he said that from Pakistan point of view Nawab of Junagadh is sovereign in exile accordingly he is entitled to privy purse and proper protocol that a sovereign in exile is entitled to.

5. The Nawab of Junagadh told the Law Minister about the problems faced by him and his followers. Law Minister assured him full support and promised to take up his matter with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for appropriate action.

6. The Law Minister also directed the Ministry officials to examine the concerns of Nawab of Junagadh and issued instructions for necessary cooperation of the relevant Ministries.

(QADIR YAR KHAN)
PRO to LM​

http://www.molaw.gov.pk/gop/index.php?q=aHR0cDovLzE5Mi4xNjguNzAuMTM2L21vbGF3L2ZybURldGFpbHMuYXNweD9pZD01OCZhbXA7b3B0PW5ld3NldmVudHM%3D

Facts about Junagadh
Maj. Gen. Ashok Krishna (Retd)
Deputy Director, IPCS

Junagadh was a state on the coast of Saurashtra surrounded by Indian territory , and therefore without any geographical contiguity with Pakistan .Bounded on three sides by states’ which had acceded to India , and on the fourth by the Arabian Sea , it was the largest state in Kathiawar . It had enclaves in the bordering states of Gondal, Baroda and Bhavnagar , all of which had acceded to India , while other states, which had also acceded to India , had enclaves in Junagadh. All these factors led to one conclusion: the Kathiawar states had to accede, as a whole, to one or the other of the two new Dominions: they were too mixed up territorially to do otherwise.

Fearful of the rising tide of the peoples’ movement in their states, all the Maharajas, Princes and Nawabs acceded to India or Pakistan by 15 August 1947 except the rulers of Junagadh, J & K and Hyderabad . The Indian nationalist leaders had for decades stood for soverignty of the people against the claims of the princes. It was therefore not surprising that in Junagadh’s case Nehru and Patel agreed that the final voice, like in any other such case, for example Kashmir or Hyderabad, should be that of the people ascertained through a plebiscite.

The issue of Junagadh’s accession formally arose when on 17 August 1947, the Indian Press reported that the Nawab of Junagadh had chosen to join Pakistan . On 13 September, Pakistan informed India that it had accepted the accession and had signed a standstill agreement with the state. Junagadh’s decision infuriated the other Kathiawar states and protests poured into Delhi . Lord Mountbatten, now Governor General of India , dispatched his Chief Staff, Lord Ismay, to Karachi for consultations. On his return, Lord Ismay stated that, in his opinion, the Government of Pakistan was trying to provoke India into taking a step which would discredit her in the eyes of the world and obtain sympathy for Pakistan as an aggrieved party. Junagadh, he stressed, was an economic and administrative unit firmly embedded in Kathiawar , and as such could only be a liability to Pakistan in every sphere.

The Sheikh of Mangrol, a very small state adjoining Junagadh, who had not announced his choice, now signed a standstill agreement and instrument of accession with India . The Nawab of Junagadh refused to recognise this accession, asserting that as an “attached state”, Mangrol was his vassal and had no right to conduct negotiations without his authority. The Sheikh maintained that with paramountcy lapsing, he was independent. Apprehensive that other “vassals” might follow Mangrol’s example, the Nawab dispatched his state force troops into Babariawad, an area comprising estates whose rulers challenged the Nawab’s overlordship and had acceded to India . The Government of India, thereupon, requested the Nawab of Junagadh to remove his state troops from Babariawad. In order to protect the areas that had acceded to India , an infantry brigade of the Indian Army was dispatched to Kathiawar . The brigade commander was ordered not to violate Junagadh territory and not even to enter Mangrol and Babariawad, but to deploy his troops only in other territories that had acceded to India . Exchange of communications between India and Pakistan bore no fruit. Eventually, on November 1, India dispatched civil administrators, each accompanied by a small token force, to take over the administration of Mangrol and Babariawad.

The unsettled conditions in Junagadh had led to a cessation of all trade with India and the food position became precarious. The people organised a popular movement. forced the Nawab to flee to Karachi with his family and established a provisional government. Before leaving the Nawab had emptied the state treasury of its cash and securities. The Dewan of Junagadh, Shah Nawaz Bhutto, the father of the more famous Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, now decided to invite the Government of India to intervene. Indian troops thereafter marched into the state.

On 9 November 1948, with the unanimous approval of the state council and leaders of public opinion, the administration of the state was handed over to India . In the absence of any constructive proposal from Pakistan , the Government of India held a referendum on 20 February 1948, to ascertain the wishes of the people regarding accession. In Junagadh, more than 190,000 votes were cast out of an electorate of 200,000. Those voting for Pakistan totalled 91, and the rest voted for India . In Mangrol, Manavadar and certain adjoining estates, Pakistan ’s share of the 31, 434 votes cast was 39. Thus ended a chapter full of incident, but one, which could have been avoided if Pakistan had not encouraged the Nawab of Junagadh in his absurdity. Pakistan still continues to include Junagadh within its territory in its official maps.

Facts about Junagadh by Maj. Gen. Ashok Krishna (Retd)

Thank you for your patience, @Aka123, in publishing the facts. I have done so several times before, but my friends live in a fantasy world of their own. A world in which Pakistan did not invade Kashmir. I stay away from these issues, and even from threads relating to the iconic Jinnah, because of the baggage that invariably comes to the table.

Dear its an attested copy of original document......Munnawar Ali he was Section officer (ruffly 17 or 18 grade officer)....If you have query regarding genuineness of this do some personal effort to prove it wrong.

Strange.

I should have imagined that the party putting up a dodgy document would be the one obliged to prove its authenticity, not the other way around.

V.P Menon Secretary of State Department of Indian delivered a message of sever consequences in his meeting with Shahnawaz Bhutto.....Nawab remain in Junagadh till 25 October 1947.....almost till the end of that episode

It is quite easy to see how the threat worked. Menon's imposing shape and size must have had a lot to do with it:

v. p. menon - Google Search

Sheer trauma.

We are not talking about personalities here.....who handover the administration of state to Indian authorities is not the matter.....Junagadh was a Legitimate Part of Pakistan from 15th August,1947.......Even if we go with your logic Indian were only asked to restore Law &€ Order by Shahnawaz Bhutto not to takeover the state......Bhutto had already left Junagadh 8 November, 1947 and Indian occupied that state 9 th of November......

Why on earth would Shahnawaz Bhutto ask the Indians to restore law and order when Junagadh was a Legitimate Part of Pakistan? Even if we go by your interpretation, does it sound logical?

not the case my dear a false propaganda, can you expect such generous offer to Pakistan and that to from Vilbha Bhai Patel....???

Dear Sir,

Do try to get the spellings of the kaffirs' names right.

Even though from your point of view, they do not really matter in the larger scheme of things, it sounds rude and condescending not to know their names in such a studied manner.

With warm regards,

Joe Shearer

Hasnt that always been the case.

Sardar Patel actually offered Pakistan Kashmir in exchange for Hyderabad and Junagarh !

The Pakistani leadership refused the offer thinking that they would have Hyderabad and Junagarh because of their Nawabs and Kashmir because of the Muslim majority.

They lost all three :lol:

Well, leaving aside this, there is also the fact that when the British colonialists were leaving, there was no reason for us to let the other much weaker and much more barbaric invaders continue their reign for no reason.

Pakistan was created for Muslims. On the premise that a minority Muslim population can't live safely with a majority Hindu population (and presumably that applies to any other religious majority as well).

This being the basic premise, the pathetic attempts by the league leadership to get Junagarh, Hyderabad and some Rajasthan Hindu majority princely states shows that they were trying to play a double game.

A game they lost. Deservedly so.

The tide of history has turned. It had actually turned centuries back.

i have a Q why india loves kashmir so much

is there anything special about it