Next Chief Of Army Staff - 2013 ?

Who will be the next Chief Of Army Staff - 2013 ?

• Total voters
professionalism,maturity and previous service record should be a guide line and next COAS must be professional and must not interupt in civilian and democratic matters……

Lt. General Rashad Mahmood current (CGS).

Lt-Gen-Rashad-Mehmood.jpg

This list is the one based on seniority. Who do you think will be the next COAS?

in my opinion Lt. General Rashad should be the next COAS

1.One needs to be capable to come up to a three star in PA. NS may select anyone of these four - or even go down further. It's a political decision which he must make himself.

2. If Zaheer is promoted then NS can appoint a candidate of his own as ISI Chief. He would want that.

3. NS may seek Gen Khwaza Ziauddin's counsel on this.

It could be any one of those, its definitely going to be a political decision not based on merit. USA will also have a great role in the background on who becomes our COAS.

1101884272-1.gif

1.One needs to be capable to come up to a three star in PA. NS may select anyone of these four - or even go down further. It's a political decision which he must make himself.

2. If Zaheer is promoted then NS can appoint a candidate of his own as ISI Chief. He would want that.

3. NS may seek Gen Khwaza Ziauddin's counsel on this.
I think the most easy and most suitable way is to appoint the most senior general on the post. Gen zaheer already has a good working relationship with N so N should be comfortable with him being the ISI chief.

Who select the COAS? on seniority basis or the PM/President in Pakistan.

Or through Corps level leadership consensus?

Reading Notorious and Donatello, I am struck by how they seem to be planted in the past -- @airmarshal suggested leadership and seniority as qualifications, we asked, because it seems an oxymoron to use "leadership" as a criterion for Military positions, since leadership is a quality each recruit is inculcated with, what it is that we need leadership for , what mission, what transition, is the new Leader to oversee -- If the COAS is merely a politician as he was in the past, then we have little to be concerned about, any idiot would do, if he is to be a puppet of Western powers, again, a Western academy graduate would do -- What is it that the next COAS must oversee?

You know why I said leadership? See General Musharraf after March 9, 2007. That when he got real challenge ot his rule after he dismissed CJ. Most of his decisions were blunders after that date.

The excuse put forth he was a General and not politician does not stick. He was willingly there. So he must have been equipped, by Army training to take tough and right decisions under pressure. He failed on this count.

So seniority to me is a lesser criteria than leadership. COAS is a leadership role. Not a seniority role. In Pakistan we stress on seniority which is not a criteria at all here in West.

I wouldn't mind having DGISI Zaheer Ul Islam as COAS. Apparently no one in west really knows him...
And c'mon he "looks" like a COAS, like Kayani and Musharraf.

Hello Bhai, Zaheer-ul-Islam sahab is a very liberal person. He spent most of his time in American Military acadamies so why are you saying he is unknown to goras!!

Aey Allah Gen. Khayani jesa useless COAS na aaeey (Ameen) jo phely Pakistani ko mara dhoka diya aab apney Pak Fuji ko

Unfortunately first our Politicians were corrupt now Pak Army have start playing games in today's daily news there was Mr. Nawaz Sharif saying "i have taken Army top brass into confidence into Trail & then Hanging Musharaf, now its the plan to break Pakistan Army into two i see a big revolt in the coming, you all may laugh at me now but time will tell.

Shame on you Pakistan Army's Top Brass...yaar yeh Army khassi ho gaee hai Qasaam sey. Allah hamari hifazat karey....

Premier has already stated that the next COAS will be appointed on the basis of Seniority.

Lt: General Haroon likely to be COAS.

Besides, he, & General Tariq having their earlier assignments in Tribal insurgency hit areas have maximum chances to get the top post.

But If its General Zaheer Ul Islam, then we must understand that the Premier wants some serious issues in KHI to be taken out.

Kiyani ne puri fauj nu satu pilai.

He is not competent.

If he was not competant, how did he manage to get Swat back to normalcy?

How did he manage to get the F***** TT out of most of the FATA?

Im sorry brother but you are trying to hide the Sun behind your bowl.