Pakistan blocks NATO supplies

Sir,

Once you have established yourself on the forum with consistent and constructive posts/commentary, your 'hearsay reports' will also be given some credibility (even if we may disagree with the content of the hearsay) - but you surely cannot expect us to believe you right off the bat, with no established history.

Fair point.. and accepted..

Pakistan hints at end to Nato blockade | The Nation

ISLAMABAD - Pakistan signalled on Thursday that it could shortly end a more than two-month blockade on NATO supplies entering Afghanistan for foreign forces.Islamabad shut the border and ordered a review of its US alliance after air strikes killed 24 Pakistani soldiers on November 26, in what NATO and the US military later blamed on a series of mistakes by both sides.

Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar told reporters that parliament, tasked with adopting the review, would “hopefully” meet next week.“I cannot pre-empt what the parliament is going to decide but I would assume that should not be so much of a problem,” she said when asked if the recommendations would include re-opening the border.Responding as to when parliament would pass the review, she said: “I’m going to hopefully ensure and push it very hard that it is no later than within a week... first half of February is probable.”

She said Pakistan would encourage Afghan insurgent groups like the Haqqani network and the Taliban to pursue peace if asked by Afghanistan.Khar also told reporters that the Afghan reconciliation process was active on several fronts but was far from producing results.Khar was speaking after a trip to Kabul. She said “lots of ill will” between the traditionally uneasy neighbours, whose ties have been strained in recent months, had faded.

She said Pakistan was willing to do whatever Afghans wanted to end 10 years of war with the Taliban. Khar sought to refute perceptions that Islamabad was an obstacle to peace.She said Karzai was due in Islamabad in the middle of the month and that she would travel with Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani to Qatar, where the Taliban has set up a liaison office for talks with the Americans.She said it was “not in anyone’s interest” for Afghanistan to slide back into the chaos of the past, but said Pakistan had “so far” not played any substantial role in the contacts there between the Americans and the Taliban.Analysts say that Kabul and Islamabad have felt sidelined by the Qatar contacts.

Khar did not comment explicitly, but said it was imperative that the Afghans were central to any eventual peace process, still “miles away”.“Who can play this central role? Not Pakistan, the US, Germany, the UK, Qataris, Saudis or anyone, it has to be the Afghans.”She was determined to distance from Pakistan being in any way an independent actor in an effective peace process.“It is Afghanistan to decide and as a friendly neighbour, it is our job and responsibility and will to stand strongly behind that. The only prerequisite that Pakistan has is that it should be an Afghan-led, Afghan-owned and Afghan-driven, Afghan-backed process which has the ownership of Afghan people.”A leaked NATO report based on material from interrogations of more than 4,000 captured Taliban and Al-Qaeda operatives, accused Pakistan’s security services of still backing the Taliban.

Khar took a swipe, saying that media reports and leaks do not reflect Pakistan’s “dialogue” with NATO and the United States.“Pakistan would not want to be seen to be working at counter purposes with the rest of the world, including the Westerners, NATO, ISAF, US. It will be in our interest to be able to assist them in whatever way we can,” she said. :D

Pakistan public will be on roads against any of decision that support drone strike inside Pakistan.....

Waise bhi is govt. ke di achhe nahi chal rahe ... kyon musibat maul le rahe hain..

The last paragraph is the best summary I have seen in a while! :D

Khar took a swipe, saying that media reports and leaks do not reflect Pakistan’s “dialogue” with NATO and the United States.“Pakistan would not want to be seen to be working at counter purposes with the rest of the world, including the Westerners, NATO, ISAF, US. It will be in our interest to be able to assist them in whatever way we can,” she said.

And only yesterday Obama was talking about Drone attacks.

What happen to hard stand and relook at relations with US of A?

The last paragraph is the best summary I have seen in a while! :D

look confused desi VCheng, you are only laughing at yourself, getting american citizenship and living with the whites dont mean that you have become among them

also you come under category of 'immigrant americans' not the natives, if natives feel, they will kick your butt and make you stateless

being patriotic and being sarcastic to the unfortunate soil which nurtured guys like you is a greatirony, stp being fool and behave like how an intelligent guy does

and as you have already made plans to spend your time in pakistan rather in some old age home there, be respectful to the soil you are returning, if i were a PM i would have black listed you, and the soil where you will die someday

so again pakistan back on same old dirty job for nato-us 2 DAYS SUPPLY BLOCKED FOR EVERY SOLDERS WE LOSE IN NATO ATTACK :angry:

Its time for public to stop supply.. common man 80% Pakistan hates USA rest of 20% is PA and government and others even 50K ppl at port of Karachi can stop it. If 5 lacs can go to IK's jalasa why not 10% is going to port of Karachi ... common even there are 500+ pdf members who wants to stop supply every one go with their 10 friends it will 5000.. try it ...

It was bound to happen by hook or crook.. What chance does Pakistan stand against Nato?

So Nato Supplies and drone attacks will go on and terrorists will be laid off as usual ..

look confused desi VCheng, you are only laughing at yourself, getting american citizenship and living with the whites dont mean that you have become among them

also you come under category of 'immigrant americans' not the natives, if natives feel, they will kick your butt and make you stateless

being patriotic and being sarcastic to the unfortunate soil which nurtured guys like you is a greatirony, stp being fool and behave like how an intelligent guy does

and as you have already made plans to spend your time in pakistan rather in some old age home there, be respectful to the soil you are returning, if i were a PM i would have black listed you, and the soil where you will die someday

great post - the problem is wanabbee amreekan - will never be amreekan, sadly for him our nation has rejected him along time hence the hatred he has for our nation. He seems to always give benefit of the doubt to anyone but Pakistan.
On topic - i think the patience and resiliance Pakistan has shown has been really commendable - i thought they would have opened the border last month but they have been very adamant and insisted on making their point and its certainly registered. If they open the border - i dont have an issue as long as something positive comes out of it long term. The amreekans have confirmed by their actions they are liars.

Its time for public to stop supply.. common man 80% Pakistan hates USA rest of 20% is PA and government and others even 50K ppl at port of Karachi can stop it. If 5 lacs can go to IK's jalasa why not 10% is going to port of Karachi ... common even there are 500+ pdf members who wants to stop supply every one go with their 10 friends it will 5000.. try it ...

ok let me check i will call pakistan tomorrow and ask them are they ready for it :P

Looks like only members here were fooled by the 2 month drama of NATO blockade. Even the militants were not fooled by it and restarted there regular attacks after a couple of weeks. VCheng and Karan (and a load of other Indian members) can now get the right to say "I told you so " :D

PS: Now wait for the boasts of hard bargain by Pakistan and promises of the moon by USA ;)

Firstly Cheng was completely wrong in his prediction at the border reopening. Its now been 10 weeks since the border closed. Its beyond what anyone thought. It doesnt make sense to indefinately close it and certainly the message has got through. One doesnt know the terms and conditions the border will be opened - it will certainly benefit our nation.
Any trolls that want to gloat are welcome to as here on PDF, unlike other forums we allow ALL people to make comments regardless of what flag they show.
One senses the sarcasm and distaste you have in your posts. Does it give you a cheap thrill to disect an issue we have in our nation which resulted when the death of innocent soldiers died. Your sarcastic wink suggests your mindset which one can see belongs in the gutters. Once a troll -always a moronic troll.

It is tough for Pakistan to sever their relation with US because it is too much interwoven. Cutting down supply route was only a short-term response to public sentiment.

One of the best posts i've ever read on this board.

P.S.: What else could you guys expect from this current government, they're just destroying what's left of Pakistan's tarnished image domestically and internationally.
May all these politicians who cowar when the U.S./NATO start pressing them, may they burn in hell, all these traitors.
The lives of those Pakistani soldiers killed was not much worth, it seems.
They died and the Pakistani government quickly took it as a small escape route to show our people that they do dare to stand up against the U.S.
Yeah....when 20+ of our brave men get slaughtered by the so-called "ally", for which we are opening the supply routes again.
These Shaheeds have been used by our puppet government as a political symbol, to repair the current government's image and they've tried to appease the Pakistani people, just for the moment it, and we should have expected this.

Pretty sad & f-cking confusing isn't it?

I doubt they are going to open them. The Mullah party will wreak mayhem all over the country.

Defa-e-Pakistan is working against this.