Work begins on first Hindu temple in Islamabad

You made certain claims regarding the constitution and government funding of religious places of worship - please quote or link to relevant parts of the constitution supporting your claims.

Would it matter if i post it here?

You would say you do not support it and it is your right to seek changes democratically

I am not saying allotting land for mandir is wrong. Lekin chahay kisi project main noon league ka koi roll na ho uska bhi credit laitay iska pta nhi kyon nhi la rhay

This is classic exploitation.

Next in line would be all land going through development processes to produce moorti and etcs.

hum bhi dekh lete hain kahan tak ye makkarri lekar jaoge

Please start criticizing the PPP government, that has been in power in Sindh for how many decades now, for doing little to nothing in Thar.

There was significant coverage in the Pakistani media as well of the Thar crisis, yet nothing happened, and all of a sudden Murad Shah has become the media's 'Lumber One Chief Minister'.

Federal government isn't free of blame. I remember when IK used to blame federal government when he was in KPK.

PPP isn't stopping them from spending money on Thar. If they do then they will get the curse of people which is a plus point for PTI.

I think moorti Jahan bartan bantay Hain wahan banti hongi. Sindhi Hindus ka Ghar main pehlay hi hain. Bilawal jakar unpar milk dalta ha

Good for Sindhis and Bilawal.

Mandir to wahi banta hai jahan moorti hoti hai......

ab ye 5 electable patwari panchayt membraan se poch len kay konsa money laundering business socha hai next

I dont think there are any hindus in islamabad area. This is just a stupid gimmick by this incompetent govt. This money could well have been spent on otjer important stuff. If the govt cares that much about minorities then help the poor hindus in sindh and thar. With every passing day PTI is becoming a joke and we r realizing they are bigger morons than PMLN and PPP.

there is already small Hindu temple in saidpur village in Islamabad.

Would it matter if i post it here?

You would say you do not support it and it is your right to seek changes democratically
Yes, it would matter.

And you're conflating two distinct issues:

1. My right to disagree with the constitution/parts of the constitution and advocate, petition and lobby for change through constitutionally defined mechanisms. This right does not absolve me of the responsibility to follow the constitution and the laws of the country, regardless of whether I agree or disagree with them.

2. Following from the above, even if I disagree with what the constitution states, I would have to agree with the position that the government should not fund the construction of the temple, if the constitution in fact clearly states that.

You know what you sound like?
A white racist guy who says i have that one black friend.

Intolerance is defined as unwillingness or refusal to tolerate or respect persons of a different social group, especially members of a minority group. Now let yourself be the judge here where you stand.

Its not about being ashamed about being a muslim or proving a point to west its about following the teachings of your own religion which protects the right of minorities to practice their religion and against forced conversions.

You dont need to hide your bigoted overtones under the cover European neo fascism retaliation. You should revisit your fargile muslmaniyat which is broken by just seeing a church or mandir, if Islam really is the one true religion and protected by divinity why are you scared of 1 mandir as if it will convert the whole country.

I don't want my money forcefully taken from me by the government under the guise of running a bankrupt country spent on building non-Muslims places of worship.

Aaahhh. Nothings like a good gimmick! Sad to see regressive policies implemented in Pakistan too.

Why not spend the money on feeding the poor?

Are there Hindus in Islamabad? There must be something in the Indian/Nepalese or West Indies High Commissions...

There are no Hindus in Islamabad. Those who are can visit the Indian/Nepalese/Guyana High Commissions on special occasions. This will only promote erosion of your value systems.

O Bhai, these facilities are for our own Pakistani Hindus. They are not build of Indian Hindus. We don't want them to have any thoughts that we will do to them , what India is doing to its minorities, specially to its Muslims. There are very few of them anyway, we have to take care of them with cotton wools, some of them have done really well for themselves.

Deepak_Perwani-PBCW2013-55.jpg

It is a Muslim majority country with Muslim majority taxpayers. I want the government to make mosques with my tax money, it will be sadqa jariya for me. Don't use non-Muslims taxmoney for building mosques, that's fine. But ideally, it should be spent on wellfare of people.

I have a problem with my tax money used on building non-Muslim places of worship.

Taxmoney is an amanat and should only be spent on wellfare of the people. It doesn't matter those people are Muslims or non-Muslims. But when it comes to matters of religion then we will have a problem.

Feel free to make Pakistan Templistan but don't use my money to do it.
This is what I am asking Sidd to clarify - does the constitution prevent or put limits on the government constructing non-Muslim places of worship?

If the constitution does not prevent the government from such endeavors, then you can petition and lobby (peacefully) for elected law makers to amend the constitution in favor of your position.

Yes, it would matter.

And you're conflating two distinct issues:

1. My right to disagree with the constitution/parts of the constitution and advocate, petition and lobby for change through constitutionally defined mechanisms. This right does not absolve me of the responsibility to follow the constitution and the laws of the country, regardless of whether I agree or disagree with them.

2. Following from the above, even if I disagree with what the constitution states, I would have to agree with the position that the government should not fund the construction of the temple, if the constitution in fact clearly states that.

20 Freedom to profess religion and to manage religious institutions.
Subject to law, public order and morality:-
(a) every citizen shall have the right to profess, practice and propagate his religion; and
(b) every religious denomination and every sect thereof shall have the right to establish, maintain and manage its religious institutions.

21 Safeguard against taxation for purposes of any particular religion.
No person shall be compelled to pay any special tax the proceeds of which are to be spent on the propagation or maintenance of any religion other than his own.

22 Safeguards as to educational institutions in respect of religion, etc.
(1) No person attending any educational institution shall be required to receive religious instruction, or take part in any religious ceremony, or attend religious worship, if such instruction, ceremony or worship relates to a religion other than his own.

(2) In respect of any religious institution, there shall be no discrimination against any community in the granting of exemption or concession in relation to taxation.

(3) Subject to law:
(a) no religious community or denomination shall be prevented from providing religious instruction for pupils of that community or denomination in any educational institution maintained wholly by that community or denomination; and
(b) no citizen shall be denied admission to any educational institution receiving aid from public revenues on the ground only of race, religion, caste or place of birth.

(4) Nothing in this Article shall prevent any public authority from making provision for the advancement of any socially or educationally backward class of citizens.

Noon league government granted land to Hindus for construction of mandir in 2017. Now Hindus are building mandir on it and they have also requested government for help. And MNA and MPAs apnay area main koi road waghera ki grant main interested hongay unhain aysay kamon main koi interest nhi ha. Though there are some exceptions Shireen type

BRT Peshawar me Buddha statues nikle they... wo kahan gaye?

Federal government isn't free of blame. I remember when IK used to blame federal government when he was in KPK.

PPP isn't stopping them from spending money on Thar. If they do then they will get the curse of people which is a plus point for PTI.
Federal government barely has the funds to cover its existing expenses, let alone new projects.

That's the whole point behind the recent discussions on the 18th amendment and NFC award and the resulting controversies.

first he should restore pia,steel mills ,railway,health and education and other institutions of economic importance then think about temples which come much later when national interest and economic progress is concerned otherwise these temples will only lead to spread of covid19 like pandemic like shia pilgrims from iran spread covid19 in Pakistan and destroyed our economy
IK talked about restoring temples, some of them ancient. That is a government responsibility because the ancient ones are part of our history & have historical/archaeological value and those that aren't classified as historical were occupied and damaged because the government wasn't able to protect them.

first he should restore pia,steel mills ,railway,health and education and other institutions of economic importance then think about temples which come much later when national interest and economic progress is concerned

Temples are essential service.

Government should not politicise this and just let citizens be.

No one wants a government sanctioned temples versus non government sanctioned temples debate.

The things you mentioned are government duty and it is already failing at that so it is now in appeasement mode of everyone as early elections become more and more a possibility.

Ignore the propagandist. They are using old fashioned tactics of bullying Muslims and their narrative.