Why does the Pakistani elite(PDF included) lack empathy for fellow Pakistanis?

Winchester

Yesterday 20 people were killed in Quetta. The target of the attack was the Hazara community and those killed included Hazara, Pushtuns and Baloch.

Unlike after the Christchurch attack which happened in far away New Zealand and evoked a strong response from the Pakistani public, we don't see that happening when it comes to this attack, neither in the mainstream media nor on social media.

This isn't the first time too....In 2017, a blast ripped through 70 people in Sehwan Sharif. We had the usual condolences and one week into the attack.....naddaaaa.

No individual stories on the victims, about their families....nothing.

The sight of dead poor Pakistanis doesn't invoke the same empathy. The visuals of their poor relatives in torn clothes, in their dark skin and their broken Urdu, wailing after their dead ones is only tolerated for a day or two.

Pakiatanis hate their fellow Pakistanis based on class, money, then sectarian strife and religion... a bigot nation... I realized my own bigotry when I moved to the west ... terrible hypocrisy there... took me 10 years to change myself while realizing how Islam is implemented in the west in day to day dealings

I think people have been desensitized or less shocked when their is such a prevalence. The last 20-30 years of terror attacks is testament to this. Not because they do not feel for all minorities

Desensitized to violence when it targets fellow Pakistanis.

Not so much when it happens to someone in New Zealand.

Desensitized to violence when it targets fellow Pakistanis.

Not so much when it happens to someone in New Zealand.

Frequency, location and media coverage are important factors. We know it's Baluchistan so, if it happened in Islamabad it would have been projected differently. e.g; remember 911 Trade center, you don't see planes bombarding a tower every day. New Zealand being number one at peace ratings, you don't see shooting like that everyday. In US, in the hoods blacks kill each other every day, they don't even make the news.

Because we don’t matter!

97E58E0E-846D-460E-BA0E-84079FD3A468.jpeg
D4FBA39F-AED8-49A4-9AF0-83CE022E7D94.jpeg
3B0535F2-6C68-4E05-9A66-519303370F19.jpeg

The only thing that comes to mind is Shans dialogue from war:

Pakistani woh quom hai, jis kay marnay ka kisi ko koi afsoos nahi hota, khud unko bhi nahi:

Mate not too long ago blasts were happening in every corner of pakistan every next day. Compared to the horrors we have faced in the past such attacks seem like a reasonable compromise as pathetic as it sounds. We have gone numb and it will take decades for us to heal all the psychological scars on our society.

Pakiatanis hate their fellow Pakistanis based on class based, money then swat past, sectarian strife and religion... a bigot nation... I realized my own bigotry when I moved to the west ... terrible hypocrisy there
I see Hazaras in Karachi and pray for them.

They have faced terrorism much more than any other group solely based on their physical (facial) appearance.

@CHACHA"G" on the other thread you criticized me for mentioning Hazara community. Sir, your comments here are most awaited!

This Chacha 15yo kid is the biggest retard I've seen in my life. You can just get that idea the way he talks.

-----------------------------------------

Answer is simple.

Our awam is hypocrite and tends to move towards burgerism. Just because these fellas who died aren't really up to the level of their sophistication, no one cares.

If they protest or condemn the Quetta killings the way they did for NZ, they aren't gonna get the same coverage of being so k3wl and WOW! Angraiz isn't going to recognize them for that. That's what we care for.

@CHACHA"G" on the other thread you criticized me for mentioning Hazara community. Sir, your comments here are most awaited!
Hazara community has suffered a lot and I stand by them. In fact, I would suggest the sunni brothers should take up the responsibility of securing Hazara brothers .. Our society needs to show extra love & care towards each other.

FACT CHECK: Among 20 killed in the attack, 8 are from Hazara community while 12 are from other communities / sects

We are a nation that didn’t give a shit when people were being butchered by US drone strikes. Some were even cheerleading and justifying the carnage. Countless people lost their lives in so many attacks.

It is a monstrous attack against the Hazara community and we should all be mourning.

Because we don’t matter!

I think we will have to make sure that we matter. Nobody rises for you until you rise for yourself. It is only now under this leadership that Pakistan has started to raise its voice and call spade a spade and we have started to see some affects of that. Before that it was business as usual. I mean your leader is celebrating eid in UK rather than the country he is supposedly leading, what message does this send to the rest of the world.

Our Mullah/molvis don't mourns on the death of other section. Hate & ambiguity is so wide .But I must agree Extremism is not at same level as it was in 2008. It is decreasing . We have hope from new generation . We will win this war. Nation rejected mullah in 2018 election. It shows trend is changing slowly.