do you like to mix english words in urdu/hindi

• yes i do

Votes: 18 64.3%
  • no i dont

Votes: 7 25.0%
  • not often

Votes: 3 10.7%

• Total voters
Sir i know what my roots are, i don't need anyone's certificate. I am proud of who my ancestors were and what they accomplished, sure they were tribal Afghans etc etc.. But i was born in Rawalpindi, Pakistan and regardless of what my genes are i am a Proud Pakistani..

:D

I meant no offense. But our family considers itself Muhajir since they moved from Lucknow with some from Hyderabad and other places. Our links are more to Lucknow. However since we moved our family has adopted a separate identity and attacks other ethnic groups even though we may or may not have Pashtun background. Its very silly when they insult Pashtuns because among Muhajirs are many ethnic groups including Pashtuns. Muhajir really is no ethnic identity. The real identity is Lucknowi, Bihari, Marathi and other.

I was talking to a family that is of 100% Pashtun background, spoke urdu though but since they moved they became "Urdu-speakers". If you look at it its all very stupid, how can a Pashtun family that has just lost Pashto become muhajirs just because of some movement from one place to another? I wouldn't even have minded if this identity was given up in favor of Pakistan and migrant families developed no other ethnic identity but this did not happen mostly because of the huge influx in Karachi.

All it does is confuses you. I have been to Lucknow and other parts of what are now India dozens of times, one visit being for 6 months. I am attached to my ancestral place (Lucknow was supposed to be part of Pakistan-our Firangi Mahal house voted for Quaid E Azam's Muslim League and Hasrat Mohani lived and died there) defended those guys vociferously but now looking back and seeing things in Karachi and how our family has become racists... well u know.

My conclusion is families of mixed heritage and migrant families are eternally confused especially in the prevailing environment where ethnicity is taken to seriously. Muhajir identity is a culmination of that confusion and failure to understand the complexities of our country and how it was important to act as the glue that binds the nation rather than the fissure that divides it. Its breakdown is a solution, not an issue. We should have merged with other ethnic groups long ago. This happened successfully in Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and to a lesser extent Punjab. In Sindh is the real issue.

Perhaps I could be a vanguard for change in migrants by adopting Pashtun identity (bearing in mind our past links are not proven properly despite a number of people believing them), perhaps not. But I guess it isn't wrong to love the Pashtuns-it would be impossible after studying our Pashtun culture, history and poetry. Me too am a proud Pakistani. Ultimately it comes first but the approach of the average nationalist to the ethnic identity has been wrong... (I include myself in that statement.)

My Bhabi is a Pashtun & she once gave me a book which had selected verses from Pashto translated into English; I can't remember where I put it but I did read it a couple of times & liked what I read !

But then again I've always appreciated Farsi a lot...lot more than I can ever appreciate any other language ! I just love that language so much & I wish to learn it so badly.

Yeah, that language figures among those that suffered a lot. The history of Persia is just amazing. It should be among Greek and Roman and this was stated about poets like Rumi and even Rehman Baba (though his was Pashto poetry.). I read a great article about Rehman Baba and another about Rumi. Then there was one about the Arabian nights. What is happening today is that we are reading foreign history and the scholars of people we have nothing to do with. Shakespeare and Voltaire can go to hell for all I care. I want the history of my land, of each one of my people whatever their culture to reign supreme.

But I was never a big fan of Ghani Khan - any issue of Bacha Khan never interested me that much ! Call me bigoted but I didn't like that fellow.

By the way my Grandpa once met Bacha Khan because my Grandpa was a Congress supporter & worker in his youth before the Congress Ministries Era made him a die-hard fan of the Quaid. He (Grandpa) was 33 at the time of the Partition.

His poetry is good though and I don't remember him saying anything anti-Pakistani. It was his father that was an issue. However ghani was known to have had a hit squad that was involved in the pathrao at nehru and some violence against Muslim League as well. I researched this a little and it seems that it is true.

But maybe I shouldn't say anything since I rejected Bollywood out of Nationalism-I even missed a big chance with the girl I liked because I refused to watch a bollywood movie with her.

About the letter Z in America they say Zee but in UK they say zed, its American english and British English difference only.

Yes very true, you can learn a lot by someones educational background just by observe their choice of words when they speak English. For example, someone educated in the states will use the word pants, whilst someone who studied in the UK or under the British system will use trousers.

Similar words such as Elevator (US) and Lift(UK English), another example is the term A$$ which is usually thought of as referring to the backside of a person, is actually the old English name for a donkey, in British English the correct spelling for backside would be ar$e.

The come the spellings such as Colour(UK) and Color (US), Centre (UK), Center (US)... I can go on, but yes it is very easy to observe and know which schooling system someone from.

Bhai tum Urdu Speakers tou rehneii hiii dooo tum loggg tou bohat serious leiteii hoo Urdu koo !

I remember when I went to Karachi the last time out & when I was in an apartment complex searching for a relative's apartment I asked a guy who lived there where such & such an address was & he replied something to the effect of 'zaraaa zeeeneiii teiii kar ke jayeiiii' & I'm like 'the fOok does that mean' it was only after bumping into my relative fortuitously was I able to understand that the guy asked me to 'go upstairs' in prim & proper Urdu ! :blink:

BTW karaci ka ascent lahore se thoda mukhtalif he na, bhai me to lahore gya nahi, ap btado, mere khyal me lahore ka ascent punjabi ascent he! :)

bhai aap kuch arsa karachi me raho, aap ke urdu thek ho jye ge ;)

i met one punjabi and when he was talking i thought he was urdu speaker, then he told me, his wife was an urdu speaker so he got his ascent corrected by her :)

BTW how many Punjabis on this forum? :drag: I know @RazPaK is a Punjabi (I mean Pakistani Punjabi).

BTW karaci ka ascent lahore se thoda mukhtalif he na, bhai me to lahore gya nahi, ap btado, mere khyal me lahore ka ascent punjabi ascent he! :)

bhai aap kuch arsa karachi me raho, aap ke urdu thek ho jye ge ;)

i met one punjabi and when he was talking i thought he was urdu speaker, then he told me, his wife was an urdu speaker so he got his ascent corrected by her :)

Alhmaduliiah hamariii Urdu theeek thaak hai aur hamaraa haq hiii ke apnii Urdu aur Punjabi ka milaaap karvaa kar eik naiii zubaaan kiii tashkeeel deiiin ! :D

. . . . . . . .
I miss @RazPaK its sad he is banned. Im sindhi btw. Punjabi and seraiki are also beautiful languages.

You are Sindhi, I did not know there were any Sindhi here. You speak Sindhi also?? Yeah I miss him too no homo that's the brother. :D

bholro lol

I am glad you no longer support MQM!!!

I miss @RazPaK its sad he is banned. Im sindhi btw. Punjabi and seraiki are also beautiful languages.

I have a Sindhi relative who married into our family & she & her family have been settled here in the Punjab for the past 40 or so years !

I also have a Sindhi friend from Ghotkiii !