What does being a liberal mean?

Because people don't know what a Molvi is, the title of Maulana, Molvi, Sheikh etc... is given to a person who has studied Islam and has great knowledge of Islam...but these days our desi liberals use these terms in a derogatory way.
Our Hindu and Christian friends never abuse their Pundits and Pastors to be called Liberals.
Sorry to claim you are wrong as we do when we come across similar kind of Pundits/Bramhins. I am my self Bhumihar Bramhin(not pure Bramhin LOL!!!).

Lol, criticizing religious scholars is one thing and that is fine if they are doing something wrong, but to openly abusing them just to degrade and disrespect them, that is wrong. They are also humans just like us, so they make mistakes too but that does not mean you must disrespect and abuse them to make yourself feel more intelligent or superior. If one doctor makes a mistake or commits a crime you can't blame all doctors of the world and start abusing them.

Fully agreed.

Because people don't know what a Molvi is, the title of Maulana, Molvi, Sheikh etc... is given to a person who has studied Islam and has great knowledge of Islam...but these days our desi liberals use these terms in a derogatory way.
well it work both ways .same is being done to the liberals too.i have explained what the term liberal actually means but desi liberal or desi gorey are used as derogatory terms.a liberal guy from south asia is always going to be desi but it doesn't mean he should be ridiculed for his race for holding liberal believes these believes are not race specific. don't you think it is unfair to him the same way it is unfair to mullahs .

i have fought enough on various forums regarding these stupid topics and have lost all energy...only thing i will say is , if being religious (conservative) is bad then plz leave religion and dont degrade religion by mixing liberalists iopen mindset values with other religion thinkings..this will destroy the concept of oislam and our next generations will get a taste of islam which has altered values (na mehra,m / mehram ka kuch farq nai waghera) ...whatevr u want to become liberal or moulana . remember ur life must be on the code of religion

have you even read the article bro there is no islam bashing in it.
(na mehra,m / mehram ka kuch farq nai waghera)
see mate thats the problem the moment someone mention the word liberal first thought that pops up in most people minds is that we are here to spread vulgarity. thats not the case bro its the insecurity talking. liberalism isn't about getting in someones pants or promoting some nudist agenda (i know some liberals disregards every Islamic value in the name liberalism but thats their own decision not a single liberal value is forcing them to do it).its main points are equality and liberty and have a very strong moral code attached with it.
what we are trying to promote is tolerance of religions, sects and gender different than yours.easing the tension and hate among people so we can live peacefully.if all that goes against the teaching of a mullah then i am happy he don't consider me his fellow Muslim.because it don't want to be classified with the group that has so much hate for humanity.

see mate thats the problem the moment someone mention the word liberal first thought that pops up in most people minds is that we are here to spread vulgarity. thats not the case bro its the insecurity talking. liberalism isn't about getting in someones pants or promoting some nudist agenda (i know some liberals disregards every Islamic value in the name liberalism but thats their own decision not a single liberal value is forcing them to do it).its main points are equality and liberty and have a very strong moral code attached with it.
what we are trying to promote is tolerance of religions, sects and gender different than yours.easing the tension and hate among people so we can live peacefully.if all that goes against the teaching of a mullah then i am happy he don't consider me his fellow Muslim.because it don't want to be classified with the group that has so much hate for humanity.
i agree with ur message now...now lets start a new talk , do u think shariah gives equal right to genders and liberty?

see mate thats the problem the moment someone mention the word liberal first thought that pops up in most people minds is that we are here to spread vulgarity. humanity.
see my friend , its not that vulgarity and all..its what comes after giving too much liberty according to western standards and that these vulgarity as well as many things automatically come afer some time as taqwa is not srrong in everyone,,,,our nation has a stupid habit of licking western values and lifestyle .
May Allah guide me and everyone

i agree with ur message now...now lets start a new talk , do u think shariah gives equal right to genders and liberty?
yes i do with most parts except one it's not I disagree with it I am just still trying to find the logic behind it.that point is considering female's testimony 1/2 to that of a male.

see my friend , its not that vulgarity and all..its what comes after giving too much liberty according to western standards and that these vulgarity as well as many things automatically come afer some time as taqwa is not srrong in everyone,,,,our nation has a stupid habit of licking western values and lifestyle .
May Allah guide me and everyone
see its not the issue with liberty its the issue with our society we tend to abuse every thing to the extent we can.it is still there weather you are a liberal or a conservative the solution to it is not to limit the liberty but it lies in uprooting this abusing mindset of ours.

yes i do with most parts except one it's not I disagree with it I am just still trying to find the logic behind it.that point is considering female's testimony 1/2 to that of a male.
Ok now accprding to ur thinking , somewhere female is disregarded in shariah , i m not telling u anything bad but explaining u something . Look women are given higher status than men in islam , during time of Prophet Muhammad S.A , women also worked but islam brought a code for muslims to work and walk outside , male and female had divided roads and both didnt walk at same path...Khadija r.a left work and handed over to Prophet S.A after marriage , nowadays working women are mostly not allowed to wear traditional clothes which bring in islamic code , if that is implemented then i dont think women r not allowed to work...9/10 working women u will see without complete hijab .. its not that they r bad or something rather companies dont want hijabic things..Islam appointed different roles for men and women and gave them superiority in these roles...men cant handle kids as better as women . we male tend to get angry too quickly at children but women has different approach ...same is that we man arent subject to abuses from other gender when in office or outside but when a women is abused , she will not be able to save herself . men has very dirty eyes and thoughts and even a pious men will have an urge to stare at the forthcoming women ...women are too emotinaol and can be easily played on by playboys who act as romeo aashiq and then use and dump thejm thus destroying the women's live...now u see there r several reasons why women are appointed different roles..if both men and women do full time work then they wont give time to their chikdren ..children can get bad company very very very easily then , there "parwarish" will be affected and later on child will complain that parents didnt gave them time

i know the above issues and most of these can be easily resolved with some controls and regulation more on it later.
don't want to be rude but sorry mate my query was about the reason behind the 2 females counting equal to 1 male in the court you still haven't touched that topic .

very good and based on practical analysis..
there are a few scholars in Pakistan that i can say they are moderate people and believe in ijtehaad اجتہاد power in current circumstances they believe that Islam is a deen دین which is near to human nature so when the whole world is moving towards a direction why a Muslim can not move with the world by making some changes where دین Islam allows to do so... (not fundamentals )
i study their profile as well as their practice about what they say, and amazingly i am surprised but as you said they are being hated by society
liberals were always the most hated bunch of society throughout the history and many of were even send to gallows and lost their most valuable possession.why?because they were the first one to challenge the deeply rooted social norms or religious believes of their societies.the believes like the flat earth or geocentrism.But had they or no one else challenged such believes in their time we would still be living in medieval era.No matter how much they were hated in their time It was always the liberals who challenged and changed their societies who brought forward the new ideas like democracy in front of people living in a monarchy or gender equality in a patriarchal culture.conservatives of that time hated them but now the whole world is reaping the benefit of the forward thinking of few minds.

the liberalism we are having in this country is not... liberalism my friend ... i my opinion .. its complex

"so called Islamic scholars like fazul rehman feel threaten by an idea which can loosen their grip on the masses. they use their fatwa power to turn the people against the idea.even if it is totally in accordance to Islam i.e tolerating other sects and minorities or women working outside the house ."

i agree with you here as these guys are having double standards .. one for stupid common people that blindly follow them and the other stander for themselves.. to enjoy the life as they want to :chilli:

very good and based on practical analysis..
thanks
the liberalism we are having in this country is not... liberalism my friend ... i my opinion .. its complex
the liberalism here is hijacked by elites to justify their drinking and extramarital activities.who are doing no real liberal work.
i agree with you here as these guys are having double standards .. one for stupid common people that blindly follow them and the other stander for themselves.. to enjoy the life as they want to :chilli:
i have seen this problem with liberal elite too the waderas are very open minded when they are with their family but as soon as the enter their village you won't find a bigger hypocrite than him there.

this is very sensible approach and yes .. when a woman go out without proper dress code ... she gets bad eyes as well as man feels the right to say anything

thanks

the liberalism here is hijacked by elites to justify their drinking and extramarital activities.who are doing no real liberal work.

i have seen this problem with liberal elite too the waderas are very open minded when they are with their family but as soon as the enter their village you won't find a bigger hypocrite than him there.

man ! here elite is mostly or i wud say almost all elite of country is corrupt and when theres the haram maal is making the blood of their body.. how can they do halal thing..?

i know the above issues and most of these can be easily resolved with some controls and regulation more on it later.
don't want to be rude but sorry mate my query was about the reason behind the 2 females counting equal to 1 male in the court you still haven't touched that topic .
could u kindly give me reference to this as i would love to research thnx

this is very sensible approach and yes .. when a woman go out without proper dress code ... she gets bad eyes as well as man feels the right to say anything

man ! here elite is mostly or i wud say almost all elite of country is corrupt and when theres the haram maal is making the blood of their body.. how can they do halal thing..?
thnx

could u kindly give me reference to this as i would love to research thnx
And bring to witness two witnesses from among your men. And if there are not two men [available], then a man and two women from those whom you accept as witnesses - so that if one of the women errs, then the other can remind her
surah baqarah 2: ayat 282