The Encroachment Dilemma & Debacle

Windjammer

366166_5858460_updates.jpg

As much as we applaud the PTI government's countrywide anti-encroachment drive, I'm somewhat dismayed by some of the harsh decisions taken by carrying out this exercise.
Knocking down some walls and shops is one thing but demolishing Plazas, Marriage halls, restaurants and other multi storey buildings is certainly open to questions. For the same effort, the authorities could have taken over these businesses and place it's own administration thus preserving the livelihood of hundred and thousands of workers employed on these premises. The income or profits could have either ended up in the treasury or diverted to other projects.

Or the authorities could have made some deal with the occupiers by taking away their ownership and rent out the premises to those willing to remain. Not considering the future of the poor workers employed by these establishments and other consequences, i feel PTI has blundered in going after the encroachments with a single mind track.

366166_5858460_updates.jpg

As much as we applaud the PTI government's countrywide anti-encroachment drive, I'm somewhat dismayed by some of the harsh decisions taken by carrying out this exercise.
Knocking down some walls and shops is one thing but demolishing Plazas, Marriage halls, restaurants and other multi storey buildings is certainly open to questions. For the same effort, the authorities could have taken over these businesses and place it's own administration thus preserving the livelihood of hundred and thousands of workers employed on these premises. The income or profits could have either ended up in the treasury or diverted to other projects.

Or the authorities could have made some deal with the occupiers by taking away their ownership and rent out the premises to those willing to remain. Not considering the future of the poor workers employed by these establishments and other consequences, i feel PTI has blundered in going after the encroachments with a single mind track.

You do know that the Supreme Court is supervising this?

Yes obviously it's not PTI workers doing this hence the SC could have considered other options.

There are no other options for land grabbing cases. The government is only following the courts orders.
The whole concept of city planning was destroyed by political moles in the bureaucracy

hope they also arrest, Punish, heavily fine the people involved in encroachments so it work as good deterrence for sometime. otherwise its waste of time.

as per Tazeerat e Pakistan

straight up arrest, hefty fine among other things

but they are not interested in giving out punishments as of now i guess

There are no other options for land grabbing cases. The government is only following the courts orders.
The whole concept of city planning was destroyed by political moles in the bureaucracy
Bhai..Railway ki ek zameen ha jaha par koi club ha...If they bulldoze that also.....to implement court orders..
I am bit sad watching kachi basti to get destroyed Instead they should be given on lease

Bhai..Railway ki ek zameen ha jaha par koi club ha...If they bulldoze that also.....to implement court orders..
I am bit sad watching kachi basti to get destroyed Instead they should be given on lease

destroying kuchi bastis is zulm. Gharib logon per bas chalta hai sirf inka?, Malik Riaz ko jail main kyon nahi band karte encrouchment k ilzam main?

They should otherwise they will be fired by the SC under contempt of Court.

The new government should encourage internal migration and bring work to people rather than bringing people to work. This will solve more issues than you can imagine.

If today the buildings are allowed to remain, then people will make it a custom to blatantly encroach and install very poor people on the premises, thus ensuring that the government property cannot be used for other purposes.

The other solution is to shift the poor people to alternate locations and then demolish. Unfortunately, the humanity in this country has fallen to such a level, that even poverty and disability is used by mafias for nefarious purposes. We have all seen little children with their arms and legs twisted, begging on the streets. If we make excuses for the poor, someone will use the poor for their own advantage.

The solution is to uphold the law. And at the same time go for the very roots of poverty and education. The situation of people should be uplifted through free and accessible education/training and job opportunities. The education should install a civic sense, whereas job opportunities should keep them away from breaking the law. Additionally, for the very needy, and system of welfare needs to be established.

They should otherwise they will be fired by the SC under contempt of Court.

The new government should encourage internal migration and bring work to people rather than bringing people to work. This will solve more issues than you can imagine.
Ap hichki Film daikhain

destroying kuchi bastis is zulm. Gharib logon per bas chalta hai sirf inka?, Malik Riaz ko jail main kyon nahi band karte encrouchment k ilzam main?
Ameer logo ko "options" diya jatay hain...Our chief sahb is famous for that...He could not touch Rao anwar let alone Mlaik riaz who belongs to all together a different category

. . . . .