Thanks to india Rs.2.84-lakh cancer drug will soon cost just Rs. 8,880

read the wsj version, not the BS Indian press. BAYER offered charity under its charity program. india would rather steal.

theft is theft. There is no nobility in it. People need potatoes too, doesnt make stealing it noble.

Potato costs some few rupees in Indian context and people will not die if you do not eat potato.

But if the patient does not get the drug Rs 282000 per month, then he will surely die.

why do Ambulances and firefighters are given a freeway on roads and not somebody going to purchase a potato and a car?

Bayer is offering to reduce the price to Rs. 30,000 for patients certified by Oncologist. Having stated that, there is a question of ethically right vs legally right - Especially with Bayer's history in manufacturing of poisonous gas for concentration camps in Germany during the 2nd world war - I would say s***w you Bayer.

"The mandate of the law is not just to supply the drug in the market but to make it available in a manner such that a substantial portion of the public is able to reap the benefits of the invention," the patent authority wrote, lambasting Bayer for not bringing the drug to market in India until 2009, when it was available three years earlier elsewhere. Even after 2009, Bayer provided only "an insignificant proportion" of the medicine required for at least 8,842 cancer patients in need of the treatment, the patent authority said, granting Natco the compulsory license until 2021.

Bayer Loses Drug Ruling in India - WSJ.com

Can someone explain what this compulsary license is? How can it be used to by-pass patents of drugs?

this is theft, pure and simple. A thief who steals cannot afford too. It is not an excuse. Cancer is not a commutable disease like HIV.

What's next?? theft of viagra and propecia??
its not copy.. its generics and every country makes generics.
The end product may be the same but the process of making it is diferent. Its a bit like hinduism. There is one god but we can choose whatever route we want to reach him.
btw, indian generic of viagra (sildenaphil citrate) exists from most of the companies. try ranbaxy's Caverta. its 44cents compared to $10. its got great quality and more effective than the original and doesnt give you the bad headache that the original gives. and its damn cheap every pop. Its upto you.

Can someone explain what this compulsary license is? How can it be used to by-pass patents of drugs?
india follows process patents not product patents.

A potato thief can sell me a truck full of potatoes for $5, but he wont brag about it.

if you ever have cancer and cant affor to buy drugs, eat potatoes.

Under Section 84, a compulsory licence to manufacture a drug can be issued after three years of the grant of patent on the product, which is not available at an affordable price. Under the World Trade Organisation TRIPS Agreement, compulsory licences are legally-recognized means to overcome barriers in accessing affordable medicines. This is the first time in the history of the Indian Patents Act, 1970, that the provision under Section 84 has been invoked.

The patent office acted on the basis that not only had Bayer failed to price the drug at a level that made it accessible and affordable, it also was unable to ensure that the medicine was available in sufficient quantities within India. Controller general of patents, P H Kurian, based his decision on Bayer's admission that only 2% of kidney and liver cancer patients were able to access the drug, and its pricing (Rs 2.8 lakh for a month) did not constitute a "reasonably affordable" price.

Govt uses special powers to slash cancer drug price by 97% - The Times of India

Bayer is the maker of Levitra, anyone knows what is the name of generic in india?

Natco Pharma will also have to pay a royalty to Bayer at the rate of six per cent of the net sales on a quarterly basis, and the licence shall be valid till the entire balance period of the patent — it was granted in 2008 and will expire in 2020.
@Aramsogo
dude...dont u know the difference b/w an Agreement and Theft..
we'll call it an Agreement b/w Nacto and Bayer
when the concerned parties do not have any problem with that..why this Aramsogo guy is crying a river here!!!
u can call it theft, stealing or whatsoever u want..the thing is..now people of south Asia can afford this fantastic drug!!

you dont understand, Bayer offered charity to India. India said no, we will go with theft instead.

you are stealing from the German pocket for a non-commutable disease. It is no different than stealing German potatoes or a German car.

bhaiyo ispe dhyan mat do.... ye hai ek CH****iya aadmi ...... india ne bhot acha kam kiya hai... aur ab ise pure world mai launch kar dena chahiye