'Take full advantage': Prime Minister Imran calls on citizens to declare assets by June 30

313ghazi

Prime Minister Imran Khan, in a televised addressed on Monday morning, called on citizens to declare their assets by June 30.

"I am appealing to all of you to take part in the Asset Declaration Scheme that we have brought, because if we don't pay taxes, we will not be able to raise our country up," the premier said, ahead of the federal budget for fiscal year 2019-20, which is scheduled to be announced tomorrow.

"We will need to change ourselves if we want to become a great country," Prime Minister Imran said.

The premier said that people had until June 30 declare their benami assets, benami bank accounts and money that was kept abroad.

"After June 30, you will not get this opportunity," he said.

"Remember our government today has that information which no government before had."

He added that they had made agreements and were receiving information from abroad about properties and bank accounts of Pakistanis.

"Our agencies have information about who has benami accounts and benami properties," the premier said, adding that: "This was never available to us before therefore take advantage of this scheme. Give Pakistan the benefit. Fix your children's future. [Give us] the chance that we get this country to stand on its own two feet and take people out of poverty."

"Take full advantage of this scheme," he said.

This is the second time that the premier has appealed to the people to declare their benami assets and bank accounts under the government's Assets Declaration Scheme by June 30.

Read: PM Imran urges people to declare assets by June 30, become part of tax net

At the start of his address today, Prime Minister Imran said: "My Pakistanis, in the past ten years Pakistan's debt went from Rs6,000 billion to Rs30,000 billion."

He said that the damage that this had caused to the country was that the annual tax collected was approximately Rs4,000 billion, half of which went towards repaying loans "they" had taken.

"This country cannot cover its expenses on the money that is left behind," he added.

"Pakistan is the country that unfortunately gives the least tax in the world but is among the few countries that give the most charity."

"This is the country that has [the] capability and if passion comes in, we can at the very least gather Rs10,000 billion every year," the premier said before appealing to the Pakistani people to take part in the Asset Declaration Scheme.

In May, the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf government had announced its first tax amnesty scheme — Asset Declaration Scheme — for whitening of undisclosed expenditures, sales and assets, including foreign assets, at nominal tax rates.

The scheme came into effect through a presidential ordinance, which will offer a period of 45 days to people for declaration of their undeclared assets, expenditures, and sales along with payment of taxes until June 30 this year.

The scheme, approved by the federal cabinet during a meeting presided over by the premier, has five main pillars — scope, default surcharge, exclusions, tax rates and conditions.

Unlike past schemes no revenue realisation projection was made on the plea that it is meant for allowing the grey economy’s inclusion in the tax net.

The government plans to present an austerity-oriented budget tomorrow providing a ‘slight’ relief to middle and low grade government employees, including military personnel, with no increase in the salaries of army officials of higher ranks.

This was said by Special Assistant to the Prime Minister (SAPM) on Information Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan at a joint news conference with SAPM on Accountability Shahzad Akbar on Sunday.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1487282/t...alls-on-citizens-to-declare-assets-by-june-30

What a brilliant idea khan sahab,aap sai pehle aesa kisi nai nahi kiya.

Whats the point of having FBR and other tax collecting agencies when every year govs are running same old Scheme
Until Gov makes a example of those people who are not following the law nothing will really change

First practical step by IK to control the economy. I appreciate. Next should be the recovery of the money from the corrupt politicians, bureaucrats, judges, media personalities, business men.
Also, control the flow money and our treasures. Stop raw mineral smuggling and export. Iran has been smuggling oil and goods in Baluchistan since decades......Improve operations at ports...our container clearance is too slow... on Dubai port, they clear a container within hours while at Pakistani ports, it takes days. Also, install container scanners to stop smuggling.... There is so much to do if the govt has a vision and will to do so... and Unfortunately, I have not seen much from any govt including the current.

i dont know what to think.. all our previous taxes have been stolen. what is the credibility of khan sahab?
i dont feel like helping him here.. he should bring millions from big theives ..
we cant be always the fodder

Whats the point of having FBR and other tax collecting agencies when every year govs are running same old Scheme
Until Gov makes a example of those people who are not following the law nothing will really change

It all comes down to implentation. Other governments only made bold claims, but never followed through. It remains to be seen if the new government has the will and drive to follow through.

""Take this last opportunity or we will...............announced another one next year like did before and before and before """""""" Empty words i expect much better from IK unlike other govts.1)no reform announced for FBR structure 2)no big fish get caught or prosecuted 3)Money exchanger still operating which according to SBP itself siphon 10 billion dollar annually 4)SBP blatantly denied FBR access to all bank accounts over 5 lakh on pressure of commercial banks .Without any fear for future why they bother to avail such schemes ??

""Take this last opportunity or we will...............announced another one next year like did before and before and before """""""" Empty words i expect much better from IK unlike other govts.

Surely you can only make that judgement next year? If he does announce yet another amnesty.

i dont know what to think.. all our previous taxes have been stolen. what is the credibility of khan sahab?
i dont feel like helping him here.. he should bring millions from big theives ..

This is the attitude all of us take and it's wrong. The tax due to the state is the haq others have upon us. It pays for everything, from the daily bread of yateem to the haram nasha of government officials. As a citizen it is our duty to pay, it is the duty of the state to utilise it properly, and it is the duty of law enforcement to hold to account anyone who doesn't.

I post related to institutes of State of Pakistan those politicians are just for term buts its their job and without any reform don't expect any miracle.FBR said that same in last scheme and u know how much they collected??just 1 billion dollar.Reason?such schemes proves useful when there is fear for future and with this one see my point?
Surely you can only make that judgment next year? If he does announce yet another amnesty.

@war&peace check this post

For c pieces like you...there should be bullets and prisons...you won't be doing any favour to anyone except yourself if your declare your assets and pay taxes.

Surely you can only make that judgement next year? If he does announce yet another amnesty.

This is the attitude all of us take and it's wrong. The tax due to the state is the haq others have upon us. It pays for everything, from the daily bread of yateem to the haram nasha of government officials. As a citizen it is our duty to pay, it is the duty of the state to utilise it properly, and it is the duty of law enforcement to hold to account anyone who doesn't.
i understand our DUTY but we have been paying our duty for years.. politicians keep taking it away ..

""Take this last opportunity or we will...............announced another one next year like did before and before and before """""""" Empty words i expect much better from IK unlike other govts.1)no reform announced for FBR structure 2)no big fish get caught or prosecuted 3)Money exchanger still operating which according to SBP itself siphon 10 billion dollar annually 4)SBP blatantly denied FBR access to all bank accounts over 5 lakh on pressure of commercial banks .Without any fear for future why they bother to avail such schemes ??
When did he announce such an amnesty scheme before?

For c piece like you...there should be bullets and prisons...you won't be doing any favour to anyone except yourself if your declare your assets and pay taxes.
mr chief marshal , keep thinking with your gun bullet and bombs and it will not get you anywhere

Danda nahi they need full bamboo.IK is just an party who won last election goona change but those corrupt looting for many years and many more to come as design their own system.In last scheme main collection come from single party who declare 165 billion rupees (1.2 billion dollar ) and paid around just 3 or 4 billion rupee to clear it.Those 165 billion ruppes they dont collect in in year means there is whole system working for many many years
laatun k bhoot batun se nahn manty