Status of Drone Strikes in FATA after Merger

Sine Nomine

Since June 18 2004,US has used Drone Strikes against Targets in FATA, which usually have highest Target to collateral damage ratio.Till date these strikes have killed 67 Known Terrorists out of almost 3000 total deaths.
The 2 worst strikes in 13 years were Damadola airstrike & 2011 Jirga Drone Attack.
These strikes did put disastrous implications on
security scenario in Pakistan.
I haven't gone deeper into topic because it has been in discussion since 2004 on different forums,but after merger we have to view it from total different angles.

New Angles......
What would be status of these Drone Strikes after,merger of FATA with KPK?
Would they continue?
As status of FATA is changed now
Wouldn't these strikes be an act of war?
What would be the response of Pakistani Politicans?
What would be the response of Pakistani State?

good question looks like we will just have to wait and then find out. BTW I havn't heard of any recent drone strikes

Since June 18 2004,US has used Drone Strikes against Targets in FATA, which usually have highest Target to collateral damage ratio.Till date these strikes have killed 67 Known Terrorists out of almost 3000 total deaths.
The 2 worst strikes in 13 years were Damadola airstrike & 2011 Jirga Drone Attack.
I haven't gone deeper into topic because it has been in discussion since 2004 on different forums,but after merger that is a total different angel.
Now New Angle......
Would they continue?

Don't worry if there is a new Drone strike in KPK as it is now officially FATA+KPK = KPK Next PTI Dharna will be in front of White house. I want to see how Trump handles that.

@El Sidd @Areesh @waz @Signalian @DESERT FIGHTER
Few to name,
Tag karoo aur karey khair mai hisa daloo
@Imran Khan
@Devil Soul @django @FuturePAF @Ulla
@dsr478 @Kabira
good question looks like we will just have to wait and then find out. BTW I havn't heard of any recent drone strikes
They do happen,but Govt says the UAV was in Afghanistan and fired missile did hit a target close to border.

Don't worry if there is a new Drone strike in KPK as it is now officially FATA+KPK = KPK Next PTI Dharna will be in front of White house. I want to see how Trump handles that.
Something that can't be take lightly this time.

It will be interesting when the laws are rolled out.

Right now there is little Information on the written word.

The legal aftershocks will be very very interesting.

They do happen,but Govt says the UAV was in Afghanistan and fired missile did hit a target close to border.
Look USA got a habit of using drones in Pakistan and they try to push one or two strikes a year to check our response. Under the current diplomatic rift between Pakistan and USA I think there will be no UAV strikes but only time can tell what USA does and how Pakistan reacts. One thing is for sure previously it was semi administered area so it was considered partially under Pakistani control but now it is totally under control so it will be tough decision for both USA and Pakistan. USA has respected previously the other boundaries of provinces by not violating their air space. There is just one incident of OBL assassination but that was too much tempting for USA to let go. I think If enough infrastructure is developed in the area USA will resist any such move.

Mullah Mansoor, a taliban leader was killed in an airstrike by US in Balochistan.

US has already conducted an airstrike in some province besides FATA.

So, after merger of FATA and KPK, it's safe to assume that nothing is gonna change especially when it comes to high value targets.

As for politicians and state, again, it's safe to assume that nothing is gonna change.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akhtar_Mansour

Careful what you wish for? Should KPK decide to join hands with their Pushtoon brothers then Pakistan loses both KPK & FATA.

if your not familiar with the ground realities then its better to keep your mouth shut than to talk through your arse and make a fool out of yourself. your pashteen's ptm movement has lost its steam...no pakthoons are supporting it anymore and the Pakistani pakhtoons (especially the tribal ones) want the afghan pashtoons kicked out of Pakistan far FAR more than the nonpakhtoon Pakistanis. Almost every pakhtoon family has some family member in either the armed forces or the paramilitary forces and as such, they are die-hard loyal to Pakistan since fathers, brothers and sons are serving in uniform. 15% of Pakistan is pukhtoon while the armed forces and the paramilitary forces are nearly 30% pakhtoon; that should show you how loyal they are to Pakistan.

and worry about your own india which is on the verge of both an economic abyss and a civil war! 8-)

I haven't gone deeper into topic because it has been in discussion since 2004 on different forums,but after merger we have to view it from total different angles.

New Angles......
Would they continue?
As status of FATA is changed now

Drone strike is one of the factors, being part of a bigger scenario in this region. Drone strikes will continue as long as GOP allows it, due to any reason; US/international pressure, shared intelligence etc. The day GOP asks PAF/AD to shoot them down, they will be shot down. If Pakistan can fire artillery shells inside Afghanistan and LOC in retaliation for enemy cross border firing, PAF has shot down Indian and Iranian UAV's then PAF can also intercept drones when they take off inside Afghanistan air space, vectoring towards Pakistan.
Pakistani Military is not asked to engage USA, however its intently asked to counter Indian and Afghanistani aggression.

US and Pakistan will reach a new understanding to continue drone strikes. You simply cannot stop drone strikes now..

That's a test for the caretaker government.

USA attacked KPK and Baluchistan too so why worry ? hamari air force to wohi murdaar hai na :D

FATA was always the territory of Pakistan in international terms, whatever has changed is an internal thing. We dont have to go & tell UN or anyone to tell them that FATA is now a Pakistani territory.

FATA = Federally Administered Territorial Area, i.e., it was administered directly from Islamabad under some Pakistani laws which has changed now.

Drone attacks were always inside the territory of Pakistan & if they do it again it will be against the sovereign state of Pakistan.

About what will be our reaction? Guess the same as before as we cannot militarily challenge them.

Also the Trump administration is deadly against us & they are looking for any pretext to bully or attack us.