South African Leg Spinner ‘humiliated’ By The Pakistan High Commission, Denied Visa

jaiind

South African leg spinner Imran Tahir has claimed that he and his family were humiliated by the Pakistan High Commission, when he attempted to apply for a visa for the upcoming T20 series between the World XI and Pakistan.

Tahir is a part of the Faf du Plessis led World Xi which is all set to take on Pakistan in a T20 series in Pakistan. Taking to Twitter, the 38-year-old spinner revealed that he had to initially wait for five long hours before he was humiliated and expelled by the staff, eventually leading to the conclusion of the office hours.

In a post revealing all the details, Tahir said that he and his family were humiliated and expelled by the Pakistan High Commission. “Me and my family were humiliated and expelled from the Pak High Commission earlier today when I went to get a visa to play the World XI in Pakistan,” Imran wrote in a post on Tuesday.

"It was only after the intervention of [Pakistan] High Commissioner Ibn-e-Abbas who instructed the staff that we were issued visas. It's an irony that a Pakistani-origin South African cricketer, intending to play in World XI was treated so miserably," he added.

South African leg spinner Imran Tahir has claimed that he and his family were humiliated by the Pakistan High Commission, when he attempted to apply for a visa for the upcoming T20 series between the World XI and Pakistan.

Tahir is a part of the Faf du Plessis led World Xi which is all set to take on Pakistan in a T20 series in Pakistan. Taking to Twitter, the 38-year-old spinner revealed that he had to initially wait for five long hours before he was humiliated and expelled by the staff, eventually leading to the conclusion of the office hours.

In a post revealing all the details, Tahir said that he and his family were humiliated and expelled by the Pakistan High Commission. “Me and my family were humiliated and expelled from the Pak High Commission earlier today when I went to get a visa to play the World XI in Pakistan,” Imran wrote in a post on Tuesday.

"It was only after the intervention of [Pakistan] High Commissioner Ibn-e-Abbas who instructed the staff that we were issued visas. It's an irony that a Pakistani-origin South African cricketer, intending to play in World XI was treated so miserably," he added.

Clarifying the allegations, the Pakistan High Commission in London revealed that Tahir was assisted by consulate staff and that the issue had occurred as the leg-spinner and his family members held South African passports which required "additional processes".

The High Commission further informed that the time was taken in issuing visas, because of non-filling out of four applications, non-availability of supporting documents and additional processing required in respect of visas for holders of a third country.

"The visa applications are handled by Gerry's but, as a special case, his applications were directly accepted by the consulate. It may be noted that the normal visa-processing time is five working days," Pakistan media quoted the Pakistan High Commission, as saying.

"When the High Commissioner came to know about the matter, he immediately intervened and gave a necessary approval after which the visas were issued the same day," it added. Later, Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal also responded to the Pakistan-born cricketer’s complaint before vowing that the action would be taken against those responsible.

"Imran sorry to read your post. We will have this investigated and action will be taken against those responsible." Iqbal tweeted.

The two sides are slated to play the three-match T-20 Independence Cup.The first two T-20Is will be played on September 12 and 13, and the final game will be played on September 15 at the Gaddafi Stadium.

The World XI includes five players from South Africa, three from Australia, two from the Windies, and one each from Bangladesh, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.
http://www.republicworld.com/s/6594...d-by-the-pakistan-high-commission-denied-visa

So he was humiliated because he had to wait 5 hours? And then denied a visa because the consulate didnt give a sh!t who he was due to him not having completely completed the visa forms?

Your majesty's chariot awaits for you Lord Imran.

I think it is called not filling your forms correctly so the staff moves to to side and works on other task

sarkari daftar mein aise hi kaam hota hai woh chahe hindustan mein ho ya pakistan ya kisi aur country mein. Tahir sahab has spent time in a better country to forget how things are in our khitta

on one hand he is criticizing Hight Commission as per the title and on the other he saying hats off to High Commissioner:undecided:

BTW its staff job in high commission to work as per policy no matter who you are......even Australians umpire or Coach forget his name was deported from Islamabad Airport due to incomplete documents.

Later, Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal also responded to the Pakistan-born cricketer’s complaint before vowing that the action would be taken against those responsible.

What the duck. A minister should keep himself restricted to policy matters and not go after every staff doing his duty properly. Paindu baygairat mentality.

what a tool.
embassy needs forms correctly filled and everyone to wait for their turn.