Saudi Arabia Will Invest $4 Billion In Solar Projects In Balochistan

Shahzaz ud din

Saudi Arabia Will Invest $4 Billion In Solar Projects In Balochistan
After $5 billion Khalifa Point oil refinery, Saudi Arabia is also likely to invest $4 billion in solar projects in Balochistan.
By Mishal Ali Last updated Jun 12, 2019
zzzz-29.jpg

• Minister for Power and Petroleum Omar Ayub Khan announced the news regarding solar projects in Balochistan.
  • He said the $5 billion Khalifa Point oil refinery with a potential of producing of 250,000 barrels oil per day would hit the ground in collaboration with Saudi Arabia as well.
  • he added that the government was also negotiating with Saudi Arabia to attract investment worth around $4 billion in solar energy in Balochistan.
Minister for Power and Petroleum Omar Ayub Khan announced that by the end of the current fiscal year, $5 billion Khalifa Point oil refinery with the potential of producing of 250,000 barrels oil per day would hit the ground. It is being built in collaboration with the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

He made the announcement speaking at the launching ceremony of Economic Survey (2018-19). He informed the government was also negotiating with Saudi Arabia to attract investment worth around $4 billion in solar energy in Balochistan. It is to ensure the provision of an economical and reliable energy source to the masses.

Government plans to reduce the burden of expensive and imported energy:
Omar Ayub Khan said that the government had a plan to reduce the burden of expensive and imported energy. He said the country’s power sector had the investment potential of over $80 billion huge investment in the power sector. He added that it would not only help the country reducing import bill but also reduce unemployment in the country.

That would be Amazing, seeing Balochistan to prosper along with whole Pakistan, is what I always Wish for, Balochistan suffered a lot its time we give them what they deserve . electricity , modern cities , roads , high ways , hospitals , schools , dams , Business opportunities etc .

Too much of a security risk there along with other issues.

Quaid e azam solar did not properly take off back then because the panels were not being cleaned resulting in lower efficiency among other mistakes.

You can be sure that we will face similar maintenance issues in Balochistan as well.

Now couple it up with security issues and this project is sure to go down hill. A few rockets & mortar rounds and the whole solar panel field will become useless because of shrapnel.

The below damage was due to hailstorm/weather. Imaging the damage by BLA types.

Even solar power towers will be affected in similar method as they use mirrors.

It is better to provide a Tesla Powerwall type solution. Either that or focus on some other types of generating methods that are not that much affected by weather/terrorism attacks.

Hail-3-credit-KENS5-500x237.jpg

0Bwj2b69x1pLBc0RRbllVcDRGc0E.jpg

WylieHail1.jpg
IMG-20181008-WA0001.jpg.f2a88519ea2c479132998b3b7acf5e71.jpg

IMG-20181008-WA0003.jpg.c74900405e08ed4a0c0cb48d94a81f9f.jpg

Oh wow this is hilarious story! Leading oil exporter wants to invest billions in solar power plant in terrorism racked province of Pakistan!

If you weren't a dumb patwari you would have known that Saudi is investing heavily in solar even at home because they realize that sooner or later oil will run out.

Khotay kha kha ke tum log khotay hi hogaye ho.

Too much of a security risk there along with other issues.

Quaid e azam solar did not properly take off back then because the panels were not being cleaned resulting in lower efficiency among other mistakes.

You can be sure that we will face similar maintenance issues in Balochistan as well.

Now couple it up with security issues and this project is sure to go down hill. A few rockets & mortar rounds and the whole solar panel field will become useless because of shrapnel.

The below damage was due to hailstorm/weather. Imaging the damage by BLA types.

Even solar power towers will be affected in similar method as they use mirrors.

It is better to provide a Tesla Powerwall type solution. Either that or focus on some other types of generating methods that are not that much affected by weather/terrorism attacks.

Hail-3-credit-KENS5-500x237.jpg

0Bwj2b69x1pLBc0RRbllVcDRGc0E.jpg

WylieHail1.jpg
IMG-20181008-WA0001.jpg.f2a88519ea2c479132998b3b7acf5e71.jpg

IMG-20181008-WA0003.jpg.c74900405e08ed4a0c0cb48d94a81f9f.jpg
Bro quid e azam solar project was a scam.
Chinese company looted Pakistan there..
So expensive electricity and no protection from the elements.
But this is the future and saudis are expert in it and wanted to invest.

[emoji1787]
If you weren't a dumb patwari you would have known that Saudi is investing heavily in solar even at home because they realize that sooner or later oil will run out.

Khotay kha kha ke tum log khotay hi hogaye ho.
Last line [emoji108][emoji108]

Bro quid e azam solar project was a scam.
Chinese company looted Pakistan there..
So expensive electricity and no protection from the elements.
But this is the future and saudis are expert in it and wanted to invest.

They are investing in renewables but Balochistan is not yet much investment friendly considering attacks by proxies.

Repairing a blown pipeline is one thing but it is way too easier for proxies to pepper the panels/mirrors with shrapnel every now and then and that much difficult to replace them as the panels would have to imported.

It is better to postpone it for a few years till things calm down and work on some alternative energy source for now.

Besides this is all talk for now by the government. They would have to secure a significant area in order to make this project feasible.

They are investing in renewables but Balochistan is not yet much investment friendly considering attacks by proxies.

Repairing a blown pipeline is one thing but it is way too easier for proxies to pepper the panels/mirrors with shrapnel every now and then and that much difficult to replace them as the panels would have to imported.

It is better to postpone it for a few years till things calm down and work on some alternative energy source for now.

Besides this is all talk for now by the government. They would have to secure a significant area in order to make this project feasible.
Or if you look from other perspective
The more opertunities or job creation the more peace its creates ...

Or if you look from other perspective
The more opertunities or job creation the more peace its creates ...

Solar power plants usually have low man power requirement once constructed.

Any plant would most probably have an engineering, procurement and construction contractor. He will give you the plant on turnkey basis and use own trained labor for construction and may also run the plant for a year after construction. During that time he will train the local workforce but the number of employees would not be that high.

The investors will be expecting a ROI. These projects are not going to be run on loss by overstaffing.

The benefit from this project is the final product i.e energy and not the inputs like manpower.

I am just being realistic as I work in finance and have experience in such projects and have interactions with people from that area.

There are plenty of other projects such as construction that are human capital intensive and can be used to woo the local population.

First we need to clean BLA rags
These $4 billion used be used in acquiring weapons .....

Solar power plants usually have low man power requirement once constructed.

Any plant would most probably have an engineering, procurement and construction contractor. He will give you the plant on turnkey basis and use own trained labor for construction and may also run the plant for a year after construction. During that time he will train the local workforce but the number of employees would not be that high.

The investors will be expecting a ROI. These projects are not going to be run on loss by overstaffing.

The benefit from this project is the final product i.e energy and not the inputs like manpower.

I am just being realistic as I work in finance and have experience in such projects and have interactions with people from that area.

There are plenty of other projects such as construction that are human capital intensive and can be used to woo the local population.
I know that but the situation is not that dire.
Surely those who initiate would make sure about the security arrangements otherwise the investor would not invest..
And even projects with low job creation is better then something.
And now look at this that the cheap. Electricity produced would be given to far fetched areas who do not have access to electricity.. Rural balochistan is not even connected to electricity .

F
How electricity can be provided in the middle of a no-where desert ?
Friend you are going into too much detail..
Whem project gets installed surely then grid would be installed and rural balochistan would be connected through it .
It is a chain . You cannot be in an ideal Senerio where you need electric project and grid and everything.. It was like ' laad da lada da aur ladne wala bhi saat da'
Yar electricity is required in balochistan ..... Yes .
While in lahore I don't suffer from electricity shortage those in balochistan still do..
Do balochistan has capability ..... Yes
Do investor has interest ..... Yes
Do you have security ..... Yes because army has raised a lot of units for security
Do it improves life of people better .... Yes
And all of our discussions is based on a big IF
Surely the investor would see everything before investing and those seeking investment would make sure to provide everything if they need investment..

I know that but the situation is not that dire.
Surely those who initiate would make sure about the security arrangements otherwise the investor would not invest..
And even projects with low job creation is better then something.
And now look at this that the cheap. Electricity produced would be given to far fetched areas who do not have access to electricity.. Rural balochistan is not even connected to electricity .

Cheap production-may be, cheap selling- no. Otherwise we are looking at further addition to circular debt for no reason. We are already above 1400 B plus in circular debt.

Offtake would require connection with grid which means additional financing.

For now no use discussing it as no money is being committed in actuality.