Rs40bn new taxes in ‘mini-budget’ [ Good governance by experienced team ]

G hoti hain :P

Media Mentioned...

Gosht to awam k poonch se phle hi door hai.... doesn't mean k poultry bhi mehngi hogai.. aaj ka rate Chicken ka 122 Rs hai :P yahan pe kal 120 tha

Issue yeh hai k MARS chocolare 65Rs se 75Rs ki hogai hai i love mars :cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:

100 RS is the new 1 RS note in Pakistan these days

Failure of PMLN economic plan is becoming more and more evident.

What the hell imran & dam PTI is doing about it ?
Nothing ?right ?

They are busy in finding out the ways of PML N doing rigging Every time
& that's a technical muk muka , which will enables PMLn five years in power ?
& with new election in 2018 , PTI will come in the power ?
All of them are fooling Pakistanis for their own power ?

& that's a technical muk muka , which will enables PMLn five years in power ?
& with new election in 2018 , PTI will come in the power ?
All of them are fooling Pakistanis for their own power ?

i don't think PTI will come in power in 2018 but we will see

What the hell imran & dam PTI is doing about it ?
Nothing ?right ?

They have stated that they will raise this issue in the National Assembly. In Lahore, PTI Punjab MPA's led a rally protesting against these tax hikes. IK has strongly condemned these taxes, and has urged the Government to withdraw these taxes. I am at a loss, what more can they do about these taxes?

What have other political parties done about these taxes? Its quite shameful that you're blaming PTI which is the only political party that has raised voiced against these taxes, but what about other political parties? PPP and MQM have largely became B and C Teams of PML-N. Disgusting.

i don't think PTI will come in power in 2018 but we will see

In Pakistan, never say never. 2018 is far away, and if PML-N cannot solve the basic issues of the country, they will suffer the same fate PPP suffered in 2013. They have failed to bridge the basic issues of the people, this is why they have been forced to borrow so heavily from the Private and Public Sector. Load shedding still persists, even the most optimistic assumptions state that power cuts will continue till 2020. Even a die hard supporter such as you is having a hard time defending their policies.

Unless Nawaz Sharif moves away from his family and starts appointing people on the basis of merit instead of loyalty, things will not got any better my friend. You cannot take the country forward unless you hire the right, competent people for the right job.

They have stated that they will raise this issue in the National Assembly. In Lahore, PTI Punjab MPA's led a rally protesting against these tax hikes. IK has strongly condemned these taxes, and has urged the Government to withdraw these taxes. I am at a loss, what more can they do about these taxes?

What have other political parties done about these taxes? Its quite shameful that you're blaming PTI which is the only political party that has raised voiced against these taxes, but what about other political parties? PPP and MQM have largely became B and C Teams of PML-N. Disgusting.

Raising the issue in the NA will not matter, for any government in power. Pakistan's debt hole is so deep that it must implement IMF's conditions to qualify for its support. There is no way around it, unfortunately.

Yes, and most of them are imported, if there is yogurt in the list that does not mean we don't import it. if you want to eat imported, pay tax or better support local goods and support local economy.

Have you bothered to read the List of Items section in original post?

Raising the issue in the NA will not matter, for any government in power. Pakistan's debt hole is so deep that it must implement IMF's conditions to qualify for its support. There is no way around it, unfortunately.

Pakistan does not need IMF support. It needs to initiate structural reforms to overcome its current challenges. Pakistan can generate far more resources internally, than what IMF can provide to Pakistan.

Like how? How many on this forum pay their income tax?

This two line statement sounds SOOO powerful. Care to elaborate a plan? That's where everyone fails who "talks" about reforms.

When people have hidden assets in a society for 70 years, with 2% tax paying population, and the country is behind around 20 years compared to any decent modern country and electronic records, this is bound to happen.

When the PEOPLE, want to lie, evade taxes, don't respect the legal system and the tax system, and would rather pay bribe than paying taxes, there isn't much you can do. This problem takes years to fix. In the West, majority of Rich families give charity to institutions for research and all. How many Rich people in Pakistan want to let go a part of their wealth? Not even 1%. Hell, in Pakistan, even having many millions or billions in some cases, people STILL don't want to pay their taxes!!!! Let alone be "socially responsible"!!

The only other avenue is to grow the economy at a faster pace and generate millions of new jobs every year. That would add new Tax paying consumers into the system and those can't be hidden as they'll be registered in employers and tax database. And while new tax base is being designed, the government will struggle to bring in the other 30% who've been evading taxes for decades. And that's a lengthy process and it will take time.

To write silly, negative posts and expect the current government to fix some royal fukkups of the past 70 years, is simply asking for too damn much. The process of fixing things has started. However, you couldn't fix every single issue existing for the past 70 years. You'll need about 20 years at the least, and hard work to get things to be where they need to be. That's when, Pakistan will become the top 12-14th economy. Indian started in 1995, and today, it took them 20 years to now claim the big boy regional status and all. And not everything has been fixed. Its the SAME story here too!!

This two line statement sounds SOOO powerful. Care to elaborate a plan? That's where everyone fails who "talks" about reforms.

When people have hidden assets in a society for 70 years, with 2% tax paying population, and the country is behind around 20 years compared to any decent modern country and electronic records, this is bound to happen.

When the PEOPLE, want to lie, evade taxes, don't respect the legal system and the tax system, and would rather pay bribe than paying taxes, there isn't much you can do. This problem takes years to fix. In the West, majority of Rich families give charity to institutions for research and all. How many Rich people in Pakistan want to let go a part of their wealth? Not even 1%. Hell, in Pakistan, even having many millions or billions in some cases, people STILL don't want to pay their taxes!!!! Let alone be "socially responsible"!!

The only other avenue is to grow the economy at a faster pace and generate millions of new jobs every year. That would add new Tax paying consumers into the system and those can't be hidden as they'll be registered in employers and tax database. And while new tax base is being designed, the government will struggle to bring in the other 30% who've been evading taxes for decades. And that's a lengthy process and it will take time.

To write silly, negative posts and expect the current government to fix some royal fukkups of the past 70 years, is simply asking for too damn much. The process of fixing things has started. However, you couldn't fix every single issue existing for the past 70 years. You'll need about 20 years at the least, and hard work to get things to be where they need to be. That's when, Pakistan will become the top 12-14th economy. Indian started in 1995, and today, it took them 20 years to now claim the big boy regional status and all. And not everything has been fixed. Its the SAME story here too!!
Yeah and you fill up the gap created by the 1% elite tax evaders by heavily taxing the middle class?

And the 20% middle class is paying taxes???? :victory::yahoo::rofl:!!!! Make an argument you can win. ONLY LESS than 2% of Pakistan tax eligible people pay taxes. The rest, are thieves as they hide their country's major source of revenue by evading tax, paying bribe to hide tax and do corruption. So in a country, where rich and the middle class, alike, don't pay taxes, how do you grow the remainder 70% of the poor people?

You put more taxes on the tax evaders. It would hurt the mostly consumers (again the rich and the middle class), and it would hurt the lower class too, but they already live off of budget. BUT, the future net effect would directly be on the 70% lower income poor people. As bigger projects end, these are the people who'll get better jobs and will move up the chain, creating a "tax paying" middle class.

You don't want taxes put onto things, you get to pay ACTUAL taxes you owe to your country. I think after ALL is said and done, people in the US, in middle to upper income class, pay about 50% taxes!!!! When 10% Pakistanis will start to pay 40% taxes, TRUST ME, you won't need the IMF. So clean your house instead of complaining. Respect your country and pay taxes, so it can grow and can create more opportunity for everyone, instead of begging for loans!!