Real estate can drive Pakistan’s economy

As far as for real estate, I am really disappointed by lack of yet again innovative ideas and method of house constructions. Their are only handful of modern houses and rest of just F-ed up pandu designs.
How hard is it to copy modern designs or ideas from internet?

Export driven industries comes from domestic talent which pakistan LACKS! The reason why Pakistan exports peanuts worth of goods to China is because China domestic industries offer much better solution for same goods. Unfortunately Pakistani society lags far behind from innovative ideas which even country like Vietnam is far ahead of Pakistan.
The only way forward is step by step and Pakistan should first fix its agriculture sector which seems to be stuck in 1800s.

Pakistan don't have industry because it's deliberately destroyed by Zardari and tribe.
You clearly have no clue, how China or India support it's local manufacturing and exports.

Real estate can drive Pakistan’s economy
Stakeholder stress updating laws, easing taxation to boost sector
Shahram HaqJuly 05, 2020
housing21593747791-0.jpg

A Reuters file image.
KARACHI:
Real estate stakeholders have voiced unanimous hope that the realty segment could uplift Pakistan’s economy and assist in enhancing foreign direct investment if it receives due importance from the government.

Pakistan is one of the few countries in the world whose real estate sector has ample room to drive its economy because only 0.5% of the country’s area falls under planned land, said Graana.com Chief Executive Officer Shafiq Akbar.

Talking to The Express Tribune, he stated that at present, roughly 4,000 square kilometres of Pakistan’s land is classified as planned area out of a total 881,913 square kilometres occupied by the country.

“The total value of this planned land stands at roughly $2 trillion with the potential to further grow to $4 trillion if the country markets it properly,” Akbar said. He added that the demand for housing units over the next 10 years would stand at around 20 million units.

“Over five million jobs will be created in the realty sector and allied industries if the investment required to fulfil this demand comes from locals and abroad,” he said.

Citing World Bank’s research, Akbar said three out of every 10 jobs created in the construction sector are in allied industries hence there was a need for efficient policy-making and proper town planning because urban areas of Pakistan will grow as much as 68% by 2050.

Real estate sector has been the best investment hub for local and overseas Pakistanis for the past many decades as the country possesses massive amount of land. Currently, Pakistan ranks as the 33rd largest country by area, Akbar pointed out.

However following imposition of different taxes, this sector is tumbling. The incumbent government wants to promote the construction sector instead of real estate to lower housing unit shortages in Pakistan.

“Realty sector possess massive potential however countless challenges are hindering its growth,” he lamented. “Outdated laws, lack of regulations, complicated taxation, scarcity of entrepreneurship ecosystem, lack of public private partnerships, abundance of real estate related court cases and difficulties in real estate transactions discourage investors.”

According to industry experts, realty sector has gone from one of the best performing sector to being almost dormant in Pakistan.

He highlighted that people do not have proper information due to which they end up making dead investments most of the time.

As investments are dead and money changes hands frequently for profits, there is little job generation and the allied industries remain dormant or partly active.

Imarat Group of Companies Chief Development Officer Atif Masood was of the view that transformation of real estate sector through technology utilisation was the need of the hour. He further mentioned that laws on real estate are five to six decades old but the market has undergone rapid transformation therefore, there is dire need to update or amend the laws. Estate Agency 21 Director Sharjeel Ahmed said that in order to survive in an ever changing world of opportunities with the modern tech-hungry investor as your target, the only way forward is to keep evolving and growing to compete with global market trends.

“This sector is lucrative but corrupt practices at different levels starting from estate agents to government authorities have turned its market to doldrums.”

He said that strict implementation of laws and proper checks and balances can help get rid of people who loot investors by fear mongering.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 5th, 2020.

Like Business on Facebook, follow @TribuneBiz on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

It will have zero impact. We need strong rule of law in the country otherwise people won't invest in real estate. We have kabza group and mafia like Malik Raiz who are protected by establishment.

Export driven industries comes from domestic talent which pakistan LACKS! The reason why Pakistan exports peanuts worth of goods to China is because China domestic industries offer much better solution for same goods. Unfortunately Pakistani society lags far behind from innovative ideas which even country like Vietnam is far ahead of Pakistan.
The only way forward is step by step and Pakistan should first fix its agriculture sector which seems to be stuck in 1800s.
Bhai world textile export trade is close to $500b iirc and Pakistan has a miniscule chunk of $15b. Even if we just start exporting low tech textile to our potential we can earn $50-75b.

Pakistan don't have industry because it's deliberately destroyed by Zardari and tribe.
You clearly have no clue, how China or India support it's local manufacturing and exports.
I hate PPP as much as the next guy but they raised exports from $20b to $25b in their 5 years and then the competent and business minded government of PML-N took the exports from $25 to $23b in their 5 years. Alhumdulilah

Bhai world textile export trade is close to $500b iirc and Pakistan has a miniscule chunk of $15b. Even if we just start exporting low tech textile to our potential we can earn $50-75b.

Its not about what we want its about what the importers want. If other countries can offer same good at cheaper rate with quality then Pakistan has no chance. Tell me why should West import merchandise from Pakistan when China and Bangladesh have established sustainable supply line to their top line companies? You have to admit it, Pakistani awam are hardaram qoom who put more effort in dhoka baazi then hard work.
Its not politicians its awaam who have destroyed this nation. They are the one who support these useless leaders and they are they one who put less effort in their work what ever they do.
Tell me one good thing Pakistan local industry is good at? Except for maybe footballs.

And what industry did Pakistan have in first place before zardari?

It will have zero impact. We need strong rule of law in the country otherwise people won't invest in real estate. We have kabza group and mafia like Malik Raiz who are protected by establishment.

Malik raiz has at least contributed in development of Pakistan. I am with him even if 20-30% of is wealth was from theft, while rest of Pakistanis makhe maar rahain hai.
If Pakistan has a better solution only then he should be arrested or whatever.

U dont need to be creative for basic items. Main issue is branding, quality and reach. We have none. For example we mostly import raw meat chicken and milk.

If we move towards processed goods then export of same volume can increase manyfold in terms value.

Exporting cheese, butter cream will not only generate revenue but also create jobs.

U dont need to be creative for basic items. Main issue is branding, quality and reach. We have none. For example we mostly import raw meat chicken and milk.

If we move towards processed goods then export of same volume can increase manyfold in terms value.

Exporting cheese, butter cream will not only generate revenue but also create jobs.

by creative I mean, people coming up with new solutions for daily problems they face. no body seems to learn from mistakes and nobody wants to come up with new solutions to problems and no body wants to improves quality of anything. they seem to go with same methods just because their "great great great great grand parents" use to do it like that... u know what i mean? Like take furniture for example. why is this nation still stuck with Victorian style furniture when rest of the world has moved towards modern style? why is this nation still producing bikes, cars, trucks that are 30-60 year old design? heck majority of Pakistanis still use cycles that were designed during WWI! This nation has become an embarrassment!

Bro, all is good in theory but practically i dont think so because for example..... finding pure 100% milk in market is almost close to impossible. haar cheez may to milawat hoti hai! People are not sincere with each other so how are leaders going to be sincere with the people? What happens when bunch of thugs are given the right to pick their leader? ofcourse NS and AZ type mfs are going to be elected.
Even before we think about industrializing this nation, the society needs to be fixed first.

by creative I mean, people coming up with new solutions for daily problems they face. no body seems to learn from mistakes and nobody wants to come up with new solutions to problems and no body wants to improves quality of anything. they seem to go with same methods just because their "great great great great grand parents" use to do it like that... u know what i mean? Like take furniture for example. why is this nation still stuck with Victorian style furniture when rest of the world has moved towards modern style? why is this nation still producing bikes, cars, trucks that are 30-60 year old design? heck majority of Pakistanis still use cycles that were designed during WWI! This nation has become an embarrassment!

Bro, all is good in theory but practically i dont think so because for example..... finding pure 100% milk in market is almost close to impossible. haar cheez may to milawat hoti hai! People are not sincere with each other so how are leaders going to be sincere with the people? What happens when bunch of thugs are given the right to pick their leader? ofcourse NS and AZ type mfs are going to be elected.
Even before we think about industrializing this nation, the society needs to be fixed first.
Agreed, but how? I am clueless

mai to soch soch kay pagal ho gaya hooonnn!!! :hitwall:
Exactly you can safe the nation from external threats but how you caan save them from themselves.

The m**** who still cant see that our roots were destroyed from within by PMLN, PPP, MQM and Generals you cant help those. For a nation like us democracy specially in parliamentarian system is like a cancer.

At minimum there should a presidential system where ministers can be technocrats and outside the parliament.

Bas kardo this real estste business made karachi garbage

. I am with him even if 20-30% of is wealth was from theft, while rest of Pakistanis makhe maar rahain hai.

you also support the sugar wheat mafia king Niazi with this khata hai lagata hai slogan.

Murghi and kattay baich kar Ghar laina ha?

payt bharnay kay lalay lage hain aur tussi kothi ki truck ki batti vich lagya

wah re south punjab intellectual